Skip to content

Compare · Last checked October 20, 2026

Kling AI vs Runway: the image side of two video platforms

Kling AI and Runway are best known for video, and both now make and edit stills. Kling IMAGE 3.0 supports "local re-editing with natural-language instructions", up to 10 reference images and native 4K output on its Omni model. Runway prices Gen-4 Image and Nano Banana Pro per image and edits by describing what you want. Kling's paid plans start lower, at $6.99 for the first month and $8.80 after, but its free tier is not for commercial use; Runway starts at $15 a month, or $12 billed yearly. Choose on terms, apps and editing style.

We make ImageQuarry, which is not one of these two products. We compared Kling AI and Runway using their own public pages, checked October 20, 2026.

Last updated October 20, 2026

At a glance

Kling AIRunway
Image modelKling IMAGE 3.0 and IMAGE 3.0 OmniGen-4 Image, Gen-4 Image Turbo, Nano Banana Pro and others
Editing in wordsLocal re-editing with natural-language instructionsDescribe the change (shown for video); Agent edits in plain language
ReferencesUp to 10 reference imagesBrand Kits with style references (Pro and up)
Entry paid plan$6.99 first month, then $8.80 a month$15 a month, or $12 billed yearly
Free tierNo monthly credits; output not for commercial use125 one-time credits

Kling AI and Runway: the differences that matter

Instruction editing is spelled out for Kling stills

Kling's AI Photo Editor page says to "Enter a clear text prompt, explaining what should change and what should stay the same", and IMAGE 3.0 supports re-editing with natural-language instructions. Runway shows the same idea for video ("All just by telling the model what you're looking for") and offers image apps such as Reshoot Product.

Commercial use is stated per plan at Kling

Kling's blog says content from its free Basic plan "is not for commercial use", while Standard and above are "for commercial use" with the brand watermark removed. The Runway pages read do not state commercial use terms.

Runway has clearer yearly billing

Runway lists every plan monthly and yearly, with up to 20% off yearly. Kling shows first-month and renewal prices, and the official pages read state no annual prices.

Desktop apps versus editing plugins

Kling lists web, iOS, Android, macOS and Windows, plus a separate API platform. Runway lists web, iPhone and Android apps, an API, an MCP server and plugins for Premiere Pro and After Effects.

Workflows and projects

Runway chains models in node-based Workflows and caps projects by plan. Kling offers Canvas, a node-based space with an agent, named on its homepage.

Kling AI vs Runway, side by side

Checked against each vendor's public pages on October 20, 2026. "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it is not a claim that the feature is missing.

TopicKling AIRunway
Text to imageYes, IMAGE 3.0 and OmniYes, priced per image
Region or mask toolNone named; reframing is the closestNot stated for images
ResolutionNative 2K and 4K on Omni4K upscaling from Standard
Image seriesSingle and multi-image series mode on OmniNot stated
Credits$1 = 66 credits; membership credits last 1 monthStandard and Pro monthly credits do not roll over
PlatformsWeb, iOS, Android, macOS, Windows; APIWeb, iPhone, Android, API, MCP, Premiere Pro and After Effects

As of 2026-10-20

Sources: Kling AI homepage; Kling AI kling image 3 vs omni; Kling AI ai photo editor; Kling AI kling video 3 0 credit cost guide; Kling AI point policy; Kling AI payment policy; Runway homepage; Runway product; Runway pricing; Runway agent

Pricing

Prices as of October 2026, from each vendor's own pages. Credits are not comparable across products, because each vendor defines its own credit. Check the vendor for current pricing.

ProductPlanPriceIncludes
Kling AIBasic$0 per monthNo monthly credits; content not for commercial use
Kling AIStandard$6.99 first month, then $8.8 per month660 credits per month
Kling AIPro$25.99 first month, then $32.56 per month3000 credits per month
Kling AIPremier$64.99 first month, then $80.96 per month8000 credits per month
Kling AIUltra$127.99 first month, then $159.99 per month26000 credits per month
RunwayFree$0125 one-time credits
RunwayStandard$15 per month, billed monthly625 credits a month
RunwayPro$35 per month, billed monthly2,250 credits a month
RunwayMax$95 per month, billed monthly9,500 credits a month
RunwayStandard, Pro, Max (yearly)$12, $28, $76 per month, billed yearlyYearly 20% off

Prices as of 2026-10

About each product

Kling AI

Kling AI, now at kling.ai, sells video and image generation under the line "You call the shots". Kling IMAGE 3.0 handles text to image, reference images and style transfer, and supports re-editing parts of an image with natural-language instructions. Its AI Photo Editor replaces backgrounds, removes objects and swaps people from a typed request. Plans run from a free Basic tier to Ultra, with first-month discounts, and paid plans allow commercial use.

Runway

Runway is a video-first creative platform whose Creative workspace also generates and edits images and audio. Image models such as Gen-4 Image and Nano Banana Pro are priced per image, and image apps restyle a picture or reshoot a product from an upload. It publishes monthly and yearly prices for Standard, Pro and Max, a free plan with 125 one-time credits, and apps for phones and editing software.

Which one fits your work

Choose Kling AI when

  • You want to edit a still by typing what changes and what stays
  • You want commercial terms spelled out for each plan
  • You want desktop apps for macOS or Windows
  • You want a lower first-month price

Choose Runway when

  • You want yearly billing with published prices
  • You work in Premiere Pro or After Effects
  • You want a free plan with credits that do not expire
  • You want node-based workflows across models

Where ImageQuarry fits

For still images, ImageQuarry is built around one loop: describe or upload, ask for a change, get a new version, keep the earlier ones. A request can name what to keep as well as what to change, and you review each new version. You can choose between four image models, with Nano Banana 2.1 as the default.

Questions about Kling AI vs Runway

Can Kling AI edit photos with text?

Yes. Kling's AI Photo Editor asks for a clear text prompt explaining what should change and what should stay, and IMAGE 3.0 supports local re-editing with natural-language instructions.

Does Runway make still images?

Yes. Runway's pricing page lists Gen-4 Image, Gen-4 Image Turbo and Nano Banana Pro priced per image, and its image apps restyle a picture or reshoot a product.

Can I use free-tier images commercially?

Kling says content from its free Basic plan is not for commercial use. The Runway pages read do not state commercial terms, so check its terms before using free output.

Which is cheaper per month?

Kling Standard is $6.99 for the first month and $8.80 after. Runway Standard is $15 a month, or $12 billed yearly. Their credits are different units.

Which has desktop apps?

Kling lists macOS and Windows alongside web, iOS and Android. Runway lists web, iPhone and Android, plus Premiere Pro and After Effects plugins.

Sources

Every competitor fact on this page comes from the vendor's own pages, checked on the date shown. Recheck them before you buy.

Checked October 20, 2026

Create an image. Edit it with words. Keep refining.

Focused on stills, not clips?

In ImageQuarry you create or upload an image, describe each change and keep every version you made. Choose a plan and start creating.

Start creatingAlready have an account? Sign in