Skip to content

Compare · Last checked October 20, 2026

ImageQuarry vs Runway: still images first, or video first

Runway is video first: its creative platform generates and edits video, images and audio, with image models such as Gen-4 Image and Nano Banana Pro, an Agent you direct in plain language, Workflows, Brand Kits, apps for every platform and an API. ImageQuarry is for still images: describe or upload, ask for changes in words, and keep every version with its references so you can branch. Choose Runway if video is the main deliverable and images are part of it. Choose ImageQuarry if the deliverable is the image itself.

We make ImageQuarry. We compared it with Runway using Runway's own public pages, checked October 20, 2026, and say where Runway does more.

Last updated October 20, 2026

At a glance

ImageQuarryRunway
Main jobStill images created and edited in conversationVideo generation and editing, with images and audio in the same workspace
Editing in wordsAsk for a change on a selected image version; earlier versions stayChange lighting, restyle or remove elements "just by telling the model", shown for video
Image modelsNano Banana 2.1 (default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare, GPT Image 2.5 SunburstGen-4 Image, Gen-4 Image Turbo, Nano Banana Pro and others, priced in credits per image
ProjectsProjects and a persistent libraryUp to 3, 5 or 10 projects by plan; node-based Workflows
Entry priceStarter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a monthFree with 125 one-time credits; Standard $15 a month billed monthly

ImageQuarry and Runway: the differences that matter

Video is the core

Runway's product page is about video generation, and it adds HDR, ProRes and image sequences on Max. ImageQuarry does not make video.

An Agent that makes assets

Runway's Agent takes plain language direction and makes social posts and image ads, and you can ask it for changes. ImageQuarry keeps you in the loop on each image: you ask for a change, see the new version, and decide the next request.

Image editing apps

Runway lists image apps such as Change Image Style and Reshoot Product, where you upload and describe the change. ImageQuarry handles those requests in one conversation and keeps every version, so you can branch from any earlier one.

Project limits

Runway caps projects at 3 on Standard, 5 on Pro and 10 on Max. ImageQuarry organizes work in projects and a persistent library.

Free credits, apps and an API

Runway gives 125 one-time free credits, and offers iPhone and Android apps, an API, an MCP and plugins for Premiere Pro and After Effects. ImageQuarry plans are paid only.

ImageQuarry vs Runway, side by side

Checked against Runway's public pages on October 20, 2026. "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it is not a claim that the feature is missing. "Not published" means ImageQuarry has not published that detail.

TopicImageQuarryRunway
Starting pointDescribe the image in plain language, or upload an image and describe how you want it changedPrompts, uploads, or the Runway Agent directed in plain language
Editing with wordsSelect a version and ask for a change in words: lighting, background, an added object, composition or colorChange lighting, restyle, add or remove elements by telling the model (shown for video); image apps such as Reshoot Product
Reference imagesAdd one or more source and reference images to guide material, color, light or shapeBrand Kits with logos, colors and style references
Versions, variations and branchingEach change makes a new version and earlier versions are kept; make variations and branch from any versionNot stated on the pages read
Projects and libraryProjects and a persistent library that keep prompts, references and versions togetherProjects (3, 5 or 10 by plan) and node-based Workflows
Image modelsNano Banana 2.1 (default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 SunburstGen-4 Image, Gen-4 Image Turbo, Nano Banana Pro, Nano Banana 2.1, Seedream 5.0, FLUX.3
Output resolution and formatsNot publishedGen-4 Image 1080p, Nano Banana Pro 2K; 4K upscaling on paid plans
Commercial use termsNot publishedNot stated on the pages read
PriceStarter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month; Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month; optional metered overage, off unless you turn it on; every plan is paidFree 125 one-time credits; Standard $15, Pro $35, Max $95 a month billed monthly

As of 2026-10-20

Sources: Runway homepage; Runway product; Runway pricing; Runway agent

Pricing

ImageQuarry plans come from its pricing. Runway prices are as of October 2026, from runwayml.com (now runway.com). Credits are not comparable across products, because each vendor defines its own credit. Check the vendor for current pricing.

ImageQuarry planPriceIncludes
Starter$9 per month100 image credits a month; optional metered overage at $0.12 per extra credit, off unless you turn it on
Pro$29 per month300 image credits a month; optional metered overage at $0.09 per extra credit, off unless you turn it on
ProductPlanPriceIncludes
RunwayFree$0125 one-time credits
RunwayStandard$15 per month, billed monthly625 credits a month
RunwayPro$35 per month, billed monthly2,250 credits a month
RunwayMax$95 per month, billed monthly9,500 credits a month
RunwayStandard, Pro, Max (yearly)$12, $28, $76 per month, billed yearlyYearly 20% off

Prices as of 2026-10

About each product

ImageQuarry

ImageQuarry is a conversational AI image workspace. You describe an image or upload one, then ask for specific changes in words, such as new lighting, a different background or an added object. Each change makes a new version and earlier versions are kept, so you can make variations, branch from any version, add reference images and organize the work in projects and a library. You can choose between four image models: Nano Banana 2.1 (the default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst. Plans: Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month, and Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month, with optional metered overage that is off unless you turn it on. Every plan is paid. ImageQuarry has not published output specifications or rights terms yet, and it is not a headshot or background removal tool.

Runway

Runway, now at runway.com, offers Runway Creative, a cloud platform for generating and editing video, images and audio in one workspace, and frames itself around video generation. It prices image models per image in credits, including Gen-4 Image and Nano Banana Pro, and adds an Agent, image apps such as Reshoot Product, Brand Kits and node-based Workflows. A free plan gives 125 one-time credits; Standard is $15 a month and Pro $35 a month on monthly billing, with 4K upscaling and no watermarks on paid plans. Runway has web, iPhone and Android apps, an API and editing plugins.

Which one fits your work

Choose ImageQuarry when

  • Your deliverable is a still image, refined over several requests
  • You want every version kept and branches to compare
  • You want projects without a per-plan cap stated

Choose Runway when

  • Video is your main output
  • You want an Agent to produce sets of assets from a brief
  • You need apps, an API or Premiere Pro and After Effects plugins
  • You want free credits to start

How to try both on the same image

  1. Choose an image you also might animate later, such as a product scene
  2. In Runway, generate the image with Gen-4 Image or Nano Banana Pro and try Reshoot Product
  3. In ImageQuarry, describe the scene, ask for lighting and background changes in words and keep the versions
  4. Use the image you prefer, and take it to Runway if you need motion

Questions about ImageQuarry vs Runway

Is Runway good for still images?

Runway prices image models such as Gen-4 Image and Nano Banana Pro and offers image apps, but its product framing is video first.

Can ImageQuarry make video?

No. ImageQuarry creates and edits still images.

Does Runway have a free plan?

Yes. Runway lists a free plan with 125 one-time credits as of October 2026.

Can I edit in plain language in Runway?

Runway says you can change lighting, restyle or remove elements by telling the model, shown for video, and its Agent takes plain language direction.

What does ImageQuarry cost?

ImageQuarry has Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month, and Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month, with optional metered overage that is off unless you turn it on.

Sources

Every competitor fact on this page comes from the vendor's own pages, checked on the date shown. Recheck them before you buy.

Checked October 20, 2026

Create an image. Edit it with words. Keep refining.

Get the still image right first

Describe it or upload it, refine it in plain words, and keep every version until one is ready to download.

Start creatingAlready have an account? Sign in