Compare · Last checked October 20, 2026
ImageQuarry vs Gemini: two ways to change a picture by asking
Gemini is Google's assistant app, and its image feature generates and edits pictures with Google's Nano Banana models. You can tell it to change a background, replace an object or add an element, upload a photo to edit, and combine two pictures into one. Gemini includes image generation on its $0 plan, and Google AI plans run from $4.99 to $99.99 or more a month in the US, as of October 2026. ImageQuarry is a separate workspace for images where Nano Banana 2.1 is the default of four models, every change becomes a kept version, and work lives in projects. Choose Gemini for edits inside an assistant you already use; choose ImageQuarry to manage a long run of versions.
We make ImageQuarry. We compared it with Gemini using Gemini's own public pages, checked October 20, 2026, and say where Gemini does more.
Last updated October 20, 2026
At a glance
| ImageQuarry | Gemini | |
|---|---|---|
| Edit by asking | Select a version and ask for a change in words | Tell Gemini to change the background, replace an object or add an element |
| Models | Nano Banana 2.1 (default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst | Nano Banana 2 on the $0 plan; Google's overview says a Google AI plan unlocks Nano Banana 2.1, with Redo with Pro for Nano Banana Pro |
| Where pictures are kept | Projects and a persistent library, with each version and its history | Generated images appear in Library in the Gemini sidebar |
| Download size | Not published | 2K with a Google AI plan and 1K without one, per Gemini's help page |
| Entry price, as of October 2026 | Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month | $0 plan; Google AI Plus $4.99 and Pro $19.99 a month |
ImageQuarry and Gemini: the differences that matter
Same model family, different setting
Both products use Google's Nano Banana models. Google's Gemini overview says the $0 plan uses Nano Banana 2, a Google AI plan unlocks Nano Banana 2.1, and paid users can regenerate with Nano Banana Pro; its help page lists Nano Banana 2 as the default instead. ImageQuarry offers Nano Banana 2.1 as its default and Nano Banana Pro next to two GPT Image models, and you can choose a different one when you want a different result.
A $0 plan and paid tiers
Gemini includes image generation and editing on its $0 plan, and Google AI Plus costs $4.99, Pro $19.99 and Ultra from $99.99 a month in the US, as of October 2026. Every ImageQuarry plan is paid: Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month, or Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month.
Published download size and visible marks
Gemini's help page says pictures download at 2K with a Google AI plan or 1K without one, and Google adds an invisible SynthID watermark as well as a visible one. ImageQuarry has not published output specifications, so check the size you need in the workspace before you choose a plan.
A history you can branch from
In Gemini, generated pictures land in Library, and you change one by opening it, choosing Chat and entering a new prompt. ImageQuarry treats each change as a new version, keeps the earlier ones with the prompts and references that made them, and lets you branch from any of them.
Combining pictures and borrowing a look
Gemini lets you upload two pictures and combine them into one, and take the texture, color or style from a reference photo for your subject. ImageQuarry accepts one or more source and reference images as well. They guide the result; review each version to see how closely it follows them.
Apps and age
Gemini runs on the web, on Android phones and tablets, on iPhone and iPad and in a desktop app, and Google requires you to be 18 or over to generate and edit images there.
ImageQuarry vs Gemini, side by side
Checked against Gemini's public pages on October 20, 2026. "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it is not a claim that the feature is missing. "Not published" means ImageQuarry has not published that detail.
| Topic | ImageQuarry | Gemini |
|---|---|---|
| Starting point | Describe the image in plain language, or upload an image and describe how you want it changed | A prompt in Gemini, or an uploaded image to edit |
| Editing with words | Select a version and ask for a change in words: lighting, background, an added object, composition or color | Tell Gemini to change the background, replace an object or add an element |
| Reference images | Add one or more source and reference images to guide material, color, light or shape | Reference photos for texture, color or style; combine two uploaded pictures |
| Versions, variations and branching | Each change makes a new version and earlier versions are kept; make variations and branch from any version | Not stated; you change a picture by opening it from Library and chatting |
| Projects and library | Projects and a persistent library that keep prompts, references and versions together | Library in the Gemini sidebar; Export to Docs |
| Image models | Nano Banana 2.1 (default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst | Nano Banana 2, Nano Banana 2.1 with a Google AI plan (per the overview) and Nano Banana Pro through Redo with Pro |
| Output resolution and formats | Not published | 2K with a Google AI plan, 1K without; visible and SynthID watermarks |
| Commercial use terms | Not published | Not stated |
| Price | Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month; Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month; optional metered overage, off unless you turn it on; every plan is paid | $0 plan; Google AI Plus $4.99, Pro $19.99, Ultra from $99.99 a month (US) |
As of 2026-10-20
Sources: Gemini image generation; Gemini 14286560?hl=en; Gemini subscriptions
Pricing
ImageQuarry plans come from its pricing. Gemini prices are as of October 2026, from gemini.google, gemini.google.com. Credits are not comparable across products, because each vendor defines its own credit. Check the vendor for current pricing.
| ImageQuarry plan | Price | Includes |
|---|---|---|
| Starter | $9 per month | 100 image credits a month; optional metered overage at $0.12 per extra credit, off unless you turn it on |
| Pro | $29 per month | 300 image credits a month; optional metered overage at $0.09 per extra credit, off unless you turn it on |
| Product | Plan | Price | Includes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Gemini | Free | $0 per month | Image generation and editing |
| Gemini | Google AI Plus | $4.99 per month | Google AI plan (US price) |
| Gemini | Google AI Pro | $19.99 per month | Google AI plan (US price) |
| Gemini | Google AI Ultra | From $99.99 per month | $99.99 (5x) or $199.99 (20x) a month |
Prices as of 2026-10
About each product
ImageQuarry
ImageQuarry is a conversational AI image workspace. You describe an image or upload one, then ask for specific changes in words, such as new lighting, a different background or an added object. Each change makes a new version and earlier versions are kept, so you can make variations, branch from any version, add reference images and organize the work in projects and a library. You can choose between four image models: Nano Banana 2.1 (the default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst. Plans: Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month, and Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month, with optional metered overage that is off unless you turn it on. Every plan is paid. ImageQuarry has not published output specifications or rights terms yet, and it is not a headshot or background removal tool.
Gemini
Gemini is Google's assistant app, and its image page is titled "Nano Banana 2 - Gemini AI image generator & photo editor". You can describe a picture, upload one and ask for edits, tell Gemini to change the background, replace an object or add an element, take the texture or color from a reference photo, and combine two pictures into one. Google's overview says Nano Banana 2.1 needs a Google AI plan and that paid users can redo a picture with Nano Banana Pro, while the help page lists Nano Banana 2 as the default. Pictures go to Library, download at 2K with a plan or 1K without, and carry SynthID and visible watermarks. Gemini runs on web, Android, iPhone and desktop.
Which one fits your work
Choose ImageQuarry when
- You want a dedicated place where each picture keeps its versions and branches
- You want to pick among four models per request, including two GPT Image models
- You organize ongoing image work into projects rather than a single Library
Choose Gemini when
- You want to start on a $0 plan
- You already use Gemini and want picture edits in the same chat
- You need a published download size: 2K with a Google AI plan
- You work across Android, iPhone and desktop apps
How to try both on the same image
- Upload the same photo to both and ask for one change, for example a new background.
- Follow with a second change that names what should stay the same, and compare how each handles it.
- In ImageQuarry, branch from the first version and try a different color direction; in Gemini, reopen the picture from Library and continue in chat.
- Note which record of the edits you can follow more easily.
Questions about ImageQuarry vs Gemini
Do ImageQuarry and Gemini use the same models?
They share a family. Gemini uses Google's Nano Banana models. ImageQuarry offers Nano Banana 2.1, its default, and Nano Banana Pro, plus GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst.
Can I edit an uploaded photo in Gemini?
Yes. Google's help page says you can upload an image and ask Gemini to make edits. ImageQuarry also starts from an upload: describe how you want it changed and each change becomes a new version.
What size do Gemini downloads come in?
Google's help page says 2K with a Google AI plan or 1K without one. ImageQuarry has not published output specifications.
Does Gemini add a watermark?
Yes. Google says Gemini uses an invisible SynthID watermark as well as a visible one to show that pictures are AI generated.
How do the prices compare?
Gemini has a $0 plan and Google AI plans from $4.99 a month in the US, as of October 2026. ImageQuarry has two paid plans: Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month, and Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month.
Sources
Every competitor fact on this page comes from the vendor's own pages, checked on the date shown. Recheck them before you buy.
Checked October 20, 2026
Create an image. Edit it with words. Keep refining.
Edit in words, keep every version
Upload a photo or describe one, ask for the change you want, and branch from any earlier version when an idea needs another path.
Start creatingAlready have an account? Sign in