Skip to content

Compare · Last checked October 20, 2026

ImageQuarry vs Adobe Firefly: two ways to edit an image in words

Adobe Firefly is Adobe's creative space for images, video, audio and vectors, with its own Firefly Image 5 model, partner models, Prompt to Edit, Generative Fill and Expand, Firefly Boards, mobile apps and plans that bundle Photoshop and Express. Adobe says Firefly model outputs are safe for commercial use. ImageQuarry is a focused image workspace: describe or upload, ask for changes in words, and every version is kept so you can branch. Choose Firefly inside the Adobe ecosystem; choose ImageQuarry for an image conversation that keeps its history.

We make ImageQuarry. We compared it with Adobe Firefly using Adobe Firefly's own public pages, checked October 20, 2026, and say where Adobe Firefly does more.

Last updated October 20, 2026

At a glance

ImageQuarryAdobe Firefly
Editing in wordsSelect a version and ask for a change; earlier versions stayPrompt to Edit: add, remove or replace objects and backgrounds by typing
ModelsNano Banana 2.1 (default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare, GPT Image 2.5 SunburstFirefly Image 5 plus partner models such as GPT Image 1.5, Gemini with Nano Banana 2 and FLUX.2
WorkspaceProjects and a library with every versionFirefly Boards for mood boards and storyboards
Commercial useNot publishedAdobe says Firefly model outputs are safe for commercial use; partner model outputs are your responsibility
Entry priceStarter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a monthFree daily generations; Firefly Standard US$9.99 a month

ImageQuarry and Adobe Firefly: the differences that matter

Commercial use stated by Adobe

Adobe states that outputs from Adobe Firefly models are safe for commercial use, offers IP indemnification to eligible enterprise customers, and attaches Content Credentials. ImageQuarry has not published rights terms yet.

The Adobe toolset

Firefly adds Generative Fill, Recolor, Expand and Upscale, background removal and Firefly Boards, and some plans bundle Photoshop and Adobe Express. ImageQuarry is a single workspace for creating and editing images in conversation.

A prompt field or a version chain

Firefly's Prompt to Edit asks you to type a clear description of the change in the prompt field. ImageQuarry builds each request on the version you selected and keeps the earlier ones, so you can branch from any point in the chain.

Mobile and web

Firefly runs on the web on desktop and mobile, with iOS and Android apps. ImageQuarry is used in the ImageQuarry app, where you create an account and choose a plan.

Price structure

Firefly individual plans run from Standard at US$9.99 a month to Premium at US$199.99 a month, with a free tier of daily generations, as of October 2026. ImageQuarry has Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month, and Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month.

ImageQuarry vs Adobe Firefly, side by side

Checked against Adobe Firefly's public pages on October 20, 2026. "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it is not a claim that the feature is missing. "Not published" means ImageQuarry has not published that detail.

TopicImageQuarryAdobe Firefly
Starting pointDescribe the image in plain language, or upload an image and describe how you want it changedText prompts, or upload your own JPEG, PNG or WebP up to 100MB in the Edit tab
Editing with wordsSelect a version and ask for a change in words: lighting, background, an added object, composition or colorPrompt to Edit, Generative Fill, Generative Recolor, Generative Expand
Reference imagesAdd one or more source and reference images to guide material, color, light or shapeNot stated on the pages read
Versions, variations and branchingEach change makes a new version and earlier versions are kept; make variations and branch from any versionNot stated on the pages read
Projects and libraryProjects and a persistent library that keep prompts, references and versions togetherFirefly Boards for mood boards and storyboards
Image modelsNano Banana 2.1 (default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 SunburstFirefly Image 5 plus partner models from Google, OpenAI, Black Forest Labs and others
Output resolution and formatsNot publishedGenerative Upscale; 1K, 2K and 4K labels in plan offers shown until October 21, 2026
Commercial use termsNot publishedFirefly model outputs "safe for commercial use"; partner model outputs your responsibility
PriceStarter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month; Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month; optional metered overage, off unless you turn it on; every plan is paidFree daily generations; Standard US$9.99, Pro US$19.99, Pro Plus US$49.99 a month

As of 2026-10-20

Sources: Adobe Firefly firefly; Adobe Firefly ai photo editor; Adobe Firefly plans

Pricing

ImageQuarry plans come from its pricing. Adobe Firefly prices are as of October 2026, from firefly.adobe.com. Credits are not comparable across products, because each vendor defines its own credit. Check the vendor for current pricing.

ImageQuarry planPriceIncludes
Starter$9 per month100 image credits a month; optional metered overage at $0.12 per extra credit, off unless you turn it on
Pro$29 per month300 image credits a month; optional metered overage at $0.09 per extra credit, off unless you turn it on
ProductPlanPriceIncludes
Adobe FireflyFree$0Free daily generations with selected models
Adobe FireflyFirefly StandardUS$9.99 per month2,000 generative credits a month
Adobe FireflyFirefly ProUS$19.99 per month4,000 generative credits a month
Adobe FireflyFirefly Pro PlusUS$49.99 per month (regular price)10,000 generative credits a month
Adobe FireflyFirefly PremiumUS$199.99 per month (regular price)50,000 generative credits a month

Prices as of 2026-10

About each product

ImageQuarry

ImageQuarry is a conversational AI image workspace. You describe an image or upload one, then ask for specific changes in words, such as new lighting, a different background or an added object. Each change makes a new version and earlier versions are kept, so you can make variations, branch from any version, add reference images and organize the work in projects and a library. You can choose between four image models: Nano Banana 2.1 (the default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst. Plans: Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month, and Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month, with optional metered overage that is off unless you turn it on. Every plan is paid. ImageQuarry has not published output specifications or rights terms yet, and it is not a headshot or background removal tool.

Adobe Firefly

Adobe describes Firefly as an AI-powered creative space for creating and editing images, videos, audio and vector graphics, with more than 30 models in one place. It includes Adobe's Firefly Image 5 and partner models, Prompt to Edit, Generative Fill, Recolor, Expand and Upscale, background removal and Firefly Boards. Adobe says Firefly model outputs are safe for commercial use. A free tier offers daily generations, and individual plans run from Firefly Standard at US$9.99 a month, with team plans billed annually. Firefly runs on the web and in iOS and Android apps.

Which one fits your work

Choose ImageQuarry when

  • You want each requested change kept as a version you can branch from
  • You want one workspace for still images without an Adobe subscription
  • You want to pick among four named models per request

Choose Adobe Firefly when

  • You already work in Photoshop or Adobe Express
  • You need Adobe's commercial use statement or enterprise indemnification
  • You want Generative Fill and Expand, Firefly Boards or mobile apps
  • You want a free daily allowance before paying

How to try both on the same image

  1. Pick a photo that needs a new background and warmer light
  2. In Firefly, upload it and use Prompt to Edit to replace the background
  3. In ImageQuarry, upload the same photo, ask for the background, then ask for warmer light as a second step and compare versions
  4. Decide which fits your review process and tools

Questions about ImageQuarry vs Adobe Firefly

Does Adobe Firefly edit images with text?

Yes. Adobe's Prompt to Edit lets you add, remove or replace objects and backgrounds by typing what you want to change.

Is Adobe Firefly safe for commercial use?

Adobe says outputs from Adobe Firefly models are safe for commercial use, and that you are responsible for checking content made with partner models.

Does ImageQuarry work with Photoshop?

You can compare versions in ImageQuarry, download the one you choose and continue in any editor you like.

Which is cheaper, Firefly or ImageQuarry?

Firefly Standard is US$9.99 a month as of October 2026. ImageQuarry Starter is $9 a month. Credits are defined differently, so compare by your monthly volume.

Can I choose the model in ImageQuarry?

Yes. You can choose Nano Banana 2.1 (the default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare or GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst.

Sources

Every competitor fact on this page comes from the vendor's own pages, checked on the date shown. Recheck them before you buy.

Checked October 20, 2026

Create an image. Edit it with words. Keep refining.

Edit in words, keep the history

Ask for each change in plain language and keep every version, ready to compare and download.

Start creatingAlready have an account? Sign in