Skip to content

Compare · Last checked October 20, 2026

Adobe Firefly vs ChatGPT: a creative app or an assistant for images

Adobe Firefly is Adobe's creative app with Firefly Image 5 and partner models, Prompt to Edit, Generative Fill, Expand, Upscale and background removal, and a commercial use statement for its own model outputs. ChatGPT generates and edits images inside a general assistant, with area selection and Canvas comments. Both have a free way in; Firefly Standard costs $9.99 a month and ChatGPT Plus $20, as of October 2026. Pick Firefly for production edits in Adobe's ecosystem; pick ChatGPT if images sit inside your chat work.

We make ImageQuarry, which is not one of these two products. We compared Adobe Firefly and ChatGPT using their own public pages, checked October 20, 2026.

Last updated October 20, 2026

At a glance

Adobe FireflyChatGPT
Editing with wordsPrompt to Edit: add, remove or replace objects and backgroundsAsk ChatGPT to edit; select an area and describe the change
Other editing toolsGenerative Fill, Recolor, Expand, Upscale, background removalCanvas view comments on one or more images
Commercial termsAdobe says Firefly model outputs are safe for commercial useNot stated on the pages read
Free use, October 2026Free daily generationsFree plan with limited image creation
Paid entryFirefly Standard $9.99 a monthGo $8 a month

Adobe Firefly and ChatGPT: the differences that matter

Commercial use statement

Adobe says outputs from its own Firefly models are safe for commercial use and offers IP indemnification for select outputs to eligible enterprise customers. The ChatGPT image pages read do not state commercial use terms.

A toolbox or a conversation

Firefly gives each edit its own tool: Generative Fill, Recolor, Expand to new aspect ratios, Upscale and background removal, beside Prompt to Edit. ChatGPT keeps editing in the conversation: you ask, attach references, select an area or comment on images in Canvas view.

Using the same tool for writing and planning

ChatGPT is a general assistant, so image work sits next to your writing, research and planning, on web, iOS, Android and desktop. Firefly is focused on creative media: images, video, audio and vectors.

Lowest paid tier

ChatGPT Go costs $8 a month. Firefly Standard costs $9.99 a month with 2,000 generative credits, as of October 2026.

Adobe Firefly vs ChatGPT, side by side

Checked against each vendor's public pages on October 20, 2026. "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it is not a claim that the feature is missing.

TopicAdobe FireflyChatGPT
Image modelsFirefly Image 5 plus GPT Image 1.5, Gemini 3.1 with Nano Banana 2, FLUX.2 [pro]gpt-image-2 per the docs; Images 2.5 per release notes
Upload limitsJPEG, PNG or WebP up to 100MBNot stated
BoardsFirefly Boards for mood boards and storyboardsCanvas view for a chat's images
ProvenanceContent Credentials attached automaticallyNot stated
BundlesSome plans add Photoshop, Express Premium, Adobe FontsNot stated
APINot stated on the pages readOpenAI Image generation API, sold separately

As of 2026-10-20

Sources: Adobe Firefly firefly; Adobe Firefly ai photo editor; Adobe Firefly plans; ChatGPT page (Wayback capture); ChatGPT image generation.md; ChatGPT 6825453 chatgpt release notes; ChatGPT page (Wayback capture); ChatGPT pricing; ChatGPT space.md

Pricing

Prices as of October 2026, from each vendor's own pages. Credits are not comparable across products, because each vendor defines its own credit. Check the vendor for current pricing.

ProductPlanPriceIncludes
Adobe FireflyFree$0Free daily generations with selected models
Adobe FireflyFirefly StandardUS$9.99 per month2,000 generative credits a month
Adobe FireflyFirefly ProUS$19.99 per month4,000 generative credits a month
Adobe FireflyFirefly Pro PlusUS$49.99 per month (regular price)10,000 generative credits a month
Adobe FireflyFirefly PremiumUS$199.99 per month (regular price)50,000 generative credits a month
ChatGPTFree$0 per monthLimited image creation
ChatGPTGo$8 per monthMore image creation
ChatGPTPlus$20 per monthMore complex and accurate image creation; image generation with Thinking
ChatGPTProFrom $100 per monthPlans at $100, $200 or $500 a month; image generation with Thinking
ChatGPTBusiness$20 per user per month, billed annually$25 per user per month when billed monthly; 2+ users

Prices as of 2026-10

About each product

Adobe Firefly

Adobe Firefly is an AI creative space for images, video, audio and vector graphics. It combines Adobe's Firefly Image 5 with partner models, Prompt to Edit for typed changes, and tools such as Generative Fill, Expand and Upscale. Free daily generations refresh each day; Standard is $9.99 and Pro $19.99 a month. Adobe says its own model outputs are safe for commercial use.

ChatGPT

ChatGPT generates and edits images in a conversation: attach a reference to edit or guide, select an area and describe the change, and comment on several images in Canvas view. Image creation depends on plan, from limited on Free to more on Go ($8) and Plus ($20) a month, on web, iOS, Android and desktop.

Which one fits your work

Choose Adobe Firefly when

  • You need Adobe's commercial use statement and Content Credentials
  • You want dedicated tools like Generative Fill, Expand and Upscale
  • You already work in Photoshop or Express
  • You want mood boards in Firefly Boards

Choose ChatGPT when

  • You want image edits inside the assistant you already use
  • You want the cheapest paid tier of the two, Go at $8
  • You want to comment on several images at once in Canvas view
  • You need an image API

Where ImageQuarry fits

ImageQuarry is built only for images and keeps the whole path visible: the prompt, the uploaded source, references, each requested change and every version. You can branch from any earlier version and choose between four image models, Nano Banana 2.1 by default.

Questions about Adobe Firefly vs ChatGPT

Can ChatGPT replace Photoshop style edits?

ChatGPT edits images when you ask, and lets you select an area and describe the change for it. Firefly offers named tools such as Generative Fill, Expand and Upscale, and some Firefly plans include Photoshop.

Which is cheaper?

ChatGPT Go is $8 a month and Plus $20. Firefly Standard is $9.99 and Pro $19.99, as of October 2026. Both have a free way in.

Does Adobe Firefly use OpenAI models?

Adobe lists GPT Image 1.5 among Firefly's partner image models, next to Gemini 3.1 with Nano Banana 2 and FLUX.2 [pro], plus its own Firefly Image 5.

Which one marks images as AI made?

Adobe automatically attaches Content Credentials to Firefly outputs. The ChatGPT pages read do not mention a watermark.

Sources

Every competitor fact on this page comes from the vendor's own pages, checked on the date shown. Recheck them before you buy.

Checked October 20, 2026

Create an image. Edit it with words. Keep refining.

See how each image became yours

ImageQuarry keeps every prompt, reference and version together, so you can trace a result and branch from any step.

Start creatingAlready have an account? Sign in