Compare · Last checked October 20, 2026
Adobe Firefly vs Canva: AI image generation and editing
Firefly is Adobe's AI creative space, built for generating and editing images with its own Firefly Image 5 model and partner models, plus Boards for mood boards. Canva is a design platform whose AI tools, including Magic Edit and a chat-based Canva AI 2.0, live inside a template editor for social posts, slides and print. Both have free tiers; Firefly Standard is $9.99 a month, and Canva Pro is $18 month to month or $144 a year. Choose Firefly for image work with commercial use wording, Canva when the image goes straight into a design.
We make ImageQuarry, which is not one of these two products. We compared Adobe Firefly and Canva using their own public pages, checked October 20, 2026.
Last updated October 20, 2026
At a glance
| Adobe Firefly | Canva | |
|---|---|---|
| Main job | AI creative space for images, video, audio and vectors | Design platform with AI image tools inside the editor |
| Editing in words | Prompt to Edit adds, removes or replaces from a typed prompt | Magic Edit: brush an area and describe the change; Canva AI chat on paid plans |
| Free tier | Free daily generations | Up to 20 AI uses a month |
| Entry paid plan | Firefly Standard $9.99 a month | Pro $18 month to month, or $144 a year |
| Commercial use | Firefly model outputs "safe for commercial use" | Not stated in the pages read |
Adobe Firefly and Canva: the differences that matter
Canva puts the image straight into a design
Canva's AI image tools, including Magic Eraser, AI Image Expander, Image Upscaler and Magic Grab, sit inside an editor used for designs, and Canva AI 2.0 refines a design from a typed prompt. Firefly is centred on the image itself and adds Boards for planning.
Commercial use wording is explicit at Adobe
Firefly's plans page says outputs from Firefly models are "safe for commercial use" and offers IP indemnification to eligible enterprises. The Canva pages read, available only as search indexed text, do not state commercial terms for AI images.
Typed edits without brushing
Firefly's Prompt to Edit takes a typed description of what to add, remove or replace. Canva's Magic Edit asks you to brush the area first, then describe the change, and its page says Magic Edit is powered by Google's Nano Banana model.
Price for a year
Canva Pro is $144 a year billed yearly, shown as $12 a month, and Business is $250 a year. Firefly's individual plans are sold monthly, from $9.99, with no annual price shown.
Model choice
Firefly lists Firefly Image 5 plus GPT Image 1.5, Nano Banana 2 and FLUX.2 [pro]. Canva's indexed pages do not name the models behind its image generator, apart from Nano Banana for Magic Edit.
Adobe Firefly vs Canva, side by side
Checked against each vendor's public pages on October 20, 2026. "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it is not a claim that the feature is missing.
| Topic | Adobe Firefly | Canva |
|---|---|---|
| Text to image | Yes, Firefly Image 5 and partner models | Yes, AI image generation page and in the editor |
| Expand and upscale | Generative Expand and Upscale | AI Image Expander and Image Upscaler |
| Remove background | Yes | Magic Eraser and Magic Grab named |
| AI allowance | 2,000 to 50,000 credits a month by plan | Up to 200 Premium AI uses on Pro, 400 on Business |
| Heavy AI add-on | Higher tiers; a first-year promotion was shown until October 21, 2026 | AI Pass at $100 per person a month |
| Platforms | Web, iOS, Android | Web, iOS, Android |
As of 2026-10-20
Sources: Adobe Firefly firefly; Adobe Firefly ai photo editor; Adobe Firefly plans; Canva canva design assistant; Canva using magic edit; Canva ai photo editing; Canva generate images ai; Canva pricing; Canva ai pass; Canva version history; Canva download file types cn
Pricing
Prices as of October 2026, from each vendor's own pages. Credits are not comparable across products, because each vendor defines its own credit. Check the vendor for current pricing.
| Product | Plan | Price | Includes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Adobe Firefly | Free | $0 | Free daily generations with selected models |
| Adobe Firefly | Firefly Standard | US$9.99 per month | 2,000 generative credits a month |
| Adobe Firefly | Firefly Pro | US$19.99 per month | 4,000 generative credits a month |
| Adobe Firefly | Firefly Pro Plus | US$49.99 per month (regular price) | 10,000 generative credits a month |
| Adobe Firefly | Firefly Premium | US$199.99 per month (regular price) | 50,000 generative credits a month |
| Canva | Free | US$0 | Up to 20 uses of Standard or Premium AI tools a month (search indexed text) |
| Canva | Pro | US$12 per person per month, billed yearly (US$144 a year) | US$18 month to month; up to 200 Premium AI uses a month (search indexed text) |
| Canva | Business | US$20.83 per person per month, billed yearly (US$250 a year) | US$25 month to month; up to 400 Premium AI uses a month (search indexed text) |
| Canva | AI Pass add-on | US$100 per person per month | Add-on AI usage (search indexed text) |
Prices as of 2026-10
About each product
Adobe Firefly
Adobe Firefly is Adobe's AI creative space for images, video, audio and vector graphics, offering more than 30 models from Adobe and partners. Its image editor covers Prompt to Edit, Generative Fill, Expand, Recolor, Upscale and background removal, and accepts your own JPEG, PNG or WebP up to 100MB. Plans run from free daily generations to Premium, and Adobe says Firefly model outputs are safe for commercial use.
Canva
Canva is an online design platform. Its AI tools include an image generator, Magic Edit for brushing and describing a change, Magic Eraser, Magic Grab, an expander and an upscaler, and Canva AI 2.0 is a chat-based workspace inside the editor on paid plans. The free plan includes up to 20 AI uses a month, and Pro and Business add more. Canva blocked our reader, so these facts come from search indexed text of canva.com, and two different price sets appeared.
Which one fits your work
Choose Adobe Firefly when
- Your main output is the image, not a layout
- You want commercial use wording for model outputs
- You want to choose between Adobe and partner models
- You want to edit by typing without brushing first
Choose Canva when
- The image goes into a social post, slide or print design
- You want a yearly plan
- You already design in Canva templates
- You want AI uses counted per tool
Where ImageQuarry fits
ImageQuarry is a workspace for the image itself, like Firefly, but it is organized as an ongoing conversation. You can start from a description or an upload, ask for a change such as "Put the bottle on folded fabric. Warmer light.", and compare the versions before you download one. Projects and a library hold the work.
Questions about Adobe Firefly vs Canva
Is Canva or Firefly better for AI images?
Neither vendor makes that claim. Firefly is centred on generating and editing images with several models; Canva places AI images into designs and refines them with Magic Edit and Canva AI.
Can I edit an image by typing what I want in Canva?
Canva's Magic Edit works by brushing over an area and describing what to add or replace. Canva AI 2.0 refines a design from a typed prompt on paid plans.
Which one has a free plan?
Both. Firefly gives free daily generations, and Canva's free plan includes up to 20 AI uses a month.
Are Firefly images safe for commercial use?
Adobe says outputs from Firefly models are safe for commercial use; for partner models, it says you decide whether the output suits your project.
Which is cheaper for a year?
Canva Pro is $144 a year billed yearly. Firefly's individual plans are monthly, starting at $9.99, and no annual individual price is shown.
Sources
Every competitor fact on this page comes from the vendor's own pages, checked on the date shown. Recheck them before you buy.
Checked October 20, 2026
Create an image. Edit it with words. Keep refining.
Working on the image before the layout?
ImageQuarry lets you describe or upload an image, ask for changes in words and compare every version. Choose a plan and start creating.
Start creatingAlready have an account? Sign in