Skip to content

Compare · Last checked October 20, 2026

Adobe Firefly vs Midjourney: Adobe's creative app or an independent generator

Adobe Firefly is Adobe's AI creative app for images, video, audio and vectors, with its own Firefly Image 5 model, partner models from Google, OpenAI and others, Prompt to Edit, Generative Fill and Expand, and free daily generations. Adobe says outputs from its own Firefly models are safe for commercial use. Midjourney is a subscription generator with its own models, an Edit model and Discord access. Pick Firefly if you live in Adobe tools; pick Midjourney for its own models and documented sizes.

We make ImageQuarry, which is not one of these two products. We compared Adobe Firefly and Midjourney using their own public pages, checked October 20, 2026.

Last updated October 20, 2026

At a glance

Adobe FireflyMidjourney
ModelsFirefly Image 5 plus partner models such as GPT Image 1.5, Nano Banana 2 and FLUX.2 [pro]Midjourney V6 to V8.2 and Niji
Editing with wordsPrompt to Edit: add, remove or replace objects and backgrounds by typingEdit model: written instructions with up to 4 references
Free use, October 2026Free daily generations with popular modelsNo free trial on the website or Discord
Paid entryFirefly Standard $9.99 a monthBasic $10 a month
Commercial useAdobe says Firefly model outputs are safe for commercial useGeneral Commercial Terms; Pro or Mega above $1M revenue

Adobe Firefly and Midjourney: the differences that matter

Commercial use and indemnity

Adobe says outputs from its own Firefly models are safe for commercial use, offers IP indemnification for select outputs to eligible enterprise customers, and says you are responsible for partner model outputs. Midjourney gives subscribers broad use of their images, with Pro or Mega required for companies above $1,000,000 in yearly revenue.

Editing tools around the generator

Firefly bundles Prompt to Edit with Generative Fill, Recolor, Expand, Upscale and background removal, and accepts your own JPEG, PNG or WebP files up to 100MB. Midjourney's Editor offers Vary Region, Pan, Zoom Out, Move and Resize, and erase brushes on its own and uploaded images.

Starting free

Firefly includes free daily generations that refresh every day. Midjourney has no free trial on its website or in Discord.

One price list, monthly or yearly

Midjourney publishes yearly prices at 20% off, $8 to $96 a month paid upfront. Adobe's individual Firefly plans are monthly only, and its higher tiers showed a first year promotion until October 21, 2026.

Discord and batches

Midjourney works in Discord as well as on its website, and Draft mode explores 24 images at once. Firefly runs on web and mobile apps and adds Firefly Boards for mood boards and storyboards.

Adobe Firefly vs Midjourney, side by side

Checked against each vendor's public pages on October 20, 2026. "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it is not a claim that the feature is missing.

TopicAdobe FireflyMidjourney
Own uploadsEdit tab: JPEG, PNG or WebP up to 100MBEdit tab for external images
Boards and organizingFirefly Boards for mood boards and storyboardsOrganize page with filters and likes
Credits or timeGenerative credits: 2,000 on Standard, 4,000 on ProFast GPU hours: 3.3 on Basic to 60 on Mega
BundlesSome plans add Photoshop, Adobe Express Premium and Adobe FontsNot stated
ProvenanceContent Credentials attached automaticallyNot stated
MobileiOS and Android appsniji journey app on iOS and Android

As of 2026-10-20

Sources: Adobe Firefly firefly; Adobe Firefly ai photo editor; Adobe Firefly plans; Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture)

Pricing

Prices as of October 2026, from each vendor's own pages. Credits are not comparable across products, because each vendor defines its own credit. Check the vendor for current pricing.

ProductPlanPriceIncludes
Adobe FireflyFree$0Free daily generations with selected models
Adobe FireflyFirefly StandardUS$9.99 per month2,000 generative credits a month
Adobe FireflyFirefly ProUS$19.99 per month4,000 generative credits a month
Adobe FireflyFirefly Pro PlusUS$49.99 per month (regular price)10,000 generative credits a month
Adobe FireflyFirefly PremiumUS$199.99 per month (regular price)50,000 generative credits a month
MidjourneyBasic$10 per month, billed monthly3.3 hours of fast GPU time a month
MidjourneyStandard$30 per month, billed monthly15 hours fast GPU time, relax mode
MidjourneyPro$60 per month, billed monthly30 hours fast GPU time, Stealth Mode
MidjourneyMega$120 per month, billed monthly60 hours fast GPU time, Stealth Mode
MidjourneyBasic, Standard, Pro, Mega (annual)$96, $288, $576, $1,152 per year, paid upfront20% discount

Prices as of 2026-10

About each product

Adobe Firefly

Adobe Firefly is an AI creative space for images, video, audio and vector graphics with more than 30 models, including Adobe's Firefly Image 5 and partner models. Prompt to Edit changes images from typed descriptions, alongside Generative Fill, Expand, Upscale and background removal. Free daily generations refresh each day; Firefly Standard is $9.99 and Pro $19.99 a month. Adobe says its own model outputs are safe for commercial use and attaches Content Credentials.

Midjourney

Midjourney is a subscription image and video generator with its own models, used on midjourney.com and in Discord. The Edit model takes written instructions, the Editor handles inpainting and outpainting, and Draft mode creates 24 images to explore. Plans run from $10 to $120 a month with General Commercial Terms.

Which one fits your work

Choose Adobe Firefly when

  • You already use Photoshop, Express or other Adobe apps
  • You want Adobe's commercial use statement for its own model outputs
  • You want free daily generations to start
  • You want Generative Fill, Expand and Upscale in one app

Choose Midjourney when

  • You want Midjourney's own model family and versions
  • You want yearly pricing at 20% off
  • You work in Discord
  • You like exploring 24 drafts at once

Where ImageQuarry fits

ImageQuarry focuses on the conversation after the first image: select a version, ask for a different background or a warmer light in words, and get a new version while the earlier ones stay. It offers four image models by name, with Nano Banana 2.1 as the default, and organizes work in projects and a library.

Questions about Adobe Firefly vs Midjourney

Is Adobe Firefly safe for commercial use?

Adobe says outputs from its own Firefly models are safe for commercial use, and that you are responsible for deciding whether partner model outputs suit your project. Eligible enterprise customers can get IP indemnification for select outputs.

Can I use Midjourney images commercially?

Midjourney says subscribers can use their images in just about any way, but companies above $1,000,000 in yearly gross revenue must buy Pro or Mega.

Does Firefly have yearly pricing?

Adobe labels its individual Firefly plans as monthly and shows no yearly price. Its team plans are annual, billed monthly.

Which one can I try without a subscription?

Firefly includes free daily generations that refresh each day, as of October 2026. Midjourney offers no free trial on its website or in Discord.

Create an image. Edit it with words. Keep refining.

Edit with words, then branch

ImageQuarry keeps the prompt, references and every version together, so you can branch from any point instead of starting over.

Start creatingAlready have an account? Sign in