Skip to content

Compare · Last checked October 20, 2026

ChatGPT vs Midjourney: an assistant that makes images, or a dedicated image tool

ChatGPT makes and edits images inside a general assistant: you ask in the chat, attach a reference, select an area and describe the change, and comment on images in a Canvas view. Midjourney is a dedicated image and video generator with its own models, a written-instruction Edit model, an Editor with inpainting and documented output sizes. ChatGPT has a Free plan with limited image creation; Midjourney is subscription only from $10 a month, as of October 2026. Pick ChatGPT if images are one part of your chat work; pick Midjourney if images are the work.

We make ImageQuarry, which is not one of these two products. We compared ChatGPT and Midjourney using their own public pages, checked October 20, 2026.

Last updated October 20, 2026

At a glance

ChatGPTMidjourney
How you workAsk in a chat to generate or edit; attach a reference to guide or editPrompt on midjourney.com or in Discord; the Edit model takes written instructions
Editing one areaSelect an area of the image and describe the change for that areaEditor with Vary Region inpainting, Pan, Zoom Out and erase brushes
Starting price, October 2026Free plan with limited image creation; Plus $20 a monthBasic $10 a month; no free trial on the website or Discord
Output sizeNot stated on the pages readV8.2 starts at 1024 x 1024; HD and upscales reach 2048 x 2048
Where it runsWeb, iOS, Android and the desktop appmidjourney.com, Discord and the niji journey mobile app

ChatGPT and Midjourney: the differences that matter

A general assistant or an image specialist

ChatGPT generates and edits images in the same conversation you use for everything else, and its docs say image limits depend on your plan and workspace settings. Midjourney is built around images and video, with its own model versions (V8.2 is the default since July 24, 2026) and Niji models.

Giving feedback on several images at once

In ChatGPT's Canvas view you see the images from one chat together and use Comment to add precise feedback to one or more of them. Midjourney's Conversational Mode instead helps you write prompts in normal language, by text or voice.

Sizes, upscaling and batch drafts

Midjourney documents its sizes: SD images start at 1024 x 1024, its Subtle and Creative upscalers double them, and Draft mode produces a batch of 24 images to explore. The ChatGPT image pages read for this comparison do not state an output resolution.

Starting without a subscription

ChatGPT's Free plan includes limited image creation and Go costs $8 a month. Midjourney says no free trial is currently available on its website or in Discord, though its niji journey app has a limited trial.

Written commercial terms and private images

Midjourney lists General Commercial Terms on every plan, requires Pro or Mega for companies above $1,000,000 in yearly gross revenue, and keeps images private with Stealth Mode on Pro and Mega. The ChatGPT pages read do not state image commercial terms or gallery privacy.

ChatGPT vs Midjourney, side by side

Checked against each vendor's public pages on October 20, 2026. "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it is not a claim that the feature is missing.

TopicChatGPTMidjourney
Editing with wordsAsk ChatGPT to edit an image, or select an area and describe the changeEdit model: changes to an image from written instructions (V8.1 and V8.2)
Reference imagesA small set: one for content, another for style or layoutUp to 4 references in the Edit model; Style References and Moodboards
Reviewing resultsFocused view and Canvas view with commentsOrganize page with filters, likes, variations and Remix
Output sizeNot stated1024 x 1024 SD; 2048 x 2048 HD or upscaled
Commercial useNot stated on the pages readGeneral Commercial Terms; Pro or Mega above $1M revenue
Private imagesNot statedStealth Mode on Pro and Mega
APIOpenAI Image generation API, sold separatelyNo public API found on the pages read

As of 2026-10-20

Sources: ChatGPT page (Wayback capture); ChatGPT image generation.md; ChatGPT 6825453 chatgpt release notes; ChatGPT page (Wayback capture); ChatGPT pricing; ChatGPT space.md; Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture)

Pricing

Prices as of October 2026, from each vendor's own pages. Credits are not comparable across products, because each vendor defines its own credit. Check the vendor for current pricing.

ProductPlanPriceIncludes
ChatGPTFree$0 per monthLimited image creation
ChatGPTGo$8 per monthMore image creation
ChatGPTPlus$20 per monthMore complex and accurate image creation; image generation with Thinking
ChatGPTProFrom $100 per monthPlans at $100, $200 or $500 a month; image generation with Thinking
ChatGPTBusiness$20 per user per month, billed annually$25 per user per month when billed monthly; 2+ users
MidjourneyBasic$10 per month, billed monthly3.3 hours of fast GPU time a month
MidjourneyStandard$30 per month, billed monthly15 hours fast GPU time, relax mode
MidjourneyPro$60 per month, billed monthly30 hours fast GPU time, Stealth Mode
MidjourneyMega$120 per month, billed monthly60 hours fast GPU time, Stealth Mode
MidjourneyBasic, Standard, Pro, Mega (annual)$96, $288, $576, $1,152 per year, paid upfront20% discount

Prices as of 2026-10

About each product

ChatGPT

ChatGPT's image feature lets you ask the assistant to generate or edit images, attach a reference image to edit or to use as guidance, and select a specific area and describe the change for it. In Canvas view you see a chat's images together and comment on one or more of them. OpenAI's September 8, 2026 release notes describe ChatGPT Images 2.5 with more precise editing. Plans run from Free (limited image creation) through Go at $8, Plus at $20 and Pro from $100 a month, on web, iOS, Android and desktop, with the image API sold separately.

Midjourney

Midjourney is a subscription image and video generator with four tiers (Basic, Standard, Pro, Mega) and its own models, V8.2 being the default. Its Edit model makes changes to an existing image using written instructions and up to 4 references, and its Editor adds Vary Region, Pan, Zoom Out and brushes for your own uploads. Prices run from $10 to $120 a month, or $8 to $96 a month paid yearly. Commercial terms appear on every plan, and Stealth Mode keeps images private on Pro and Mega.

Which one fits your work

Choose ChatGPT when

  • You already plan and write in ChatGPT and want images in the same conversation
  • You want to start without paying: the Free plan includes limited image creation
  • You like editing by selecting an area and describing the change, or commenting on several images
  • You need an image API, which OpenAI sells separately

Choose Midjourney when

  • Images are your main work and you want a dedicated tool with documented model versions
  • You need known output sizes and upscalers up to 2048 x 2048
  • You want commercial terms written on every plan and private images on Pro or Mega
  • You work in Discord or like exploring 24 drafts at once

Where ImageQuarry fits

If what you want from ChatGPT is the conversation and what you want from Midjourney is a place built only for images, ImageQuarry combines those two habits: describe an image or upload one, ask for a change in words, and keep each version, branching from any earlier one. It offers Nano Banana 2.1 by default plus three other image models by name, keeps work in projects and a library, and every plan is paid.

Questions about ChatGPT vs Midjourney

Is ChatGPT or Midjourney better for editing an existing photo?

Both edit with words. ChatGPT lets you attach the photo, select an area and describe the change for that area. Midjourney's Edit model changes an existing image from written instructions, and its Editor adds Vary Region, Pan and Zoom Out. Neither vendor publishes an accuracy comparison, so run the same edit in both.

Can I use ChatGPT or Midjourney without paying?

ChatGPT's Free plan includes limited image creation, as of October 2026. Midjourney says no free trial is currently available on its website or in Discord; its niji journey mobile app has a limited trial.

Which one documents larger images?

Midjourney does: V8.2 images start at 1024 x 1024, and HD images or upscales reach 2048 x 2048. The ChatGPT pages read for this page do not state an output resolution.

Does either have an API?

OpenAI points developers to its Image generation API, sold separately from ChatGPT plans. Midjourney's pages list the website, Discord and the niji journey app, and no public API was found on them.

Can my images stay private?

Midjourney's Stealth Mode keeps images and videos private, on the Pro and Mega plans only. The ChatGPT pages read do not describe gallery privacy for images.

Create an image. Edit it with words. Keep refining.

Keep every version while you edit with words

ImageQuarry saves each change as a new version, so you can branch from any earlier one and compare before you download.

Start creatingAlready have an account? Sign in