Skip to content

Compare · Last checked October 20, 2026

Canva vs Recraft for AI images and brand graphics

Canva is a design platform where AI image tools sit inside the editor: Magic Edit, an expander, an upscaler and Canva AI 2.0, a chat workspace for refining designs on paid plans. Recraft is an AI studio for images, vectors and mockups, with its own models, outside models on paid plans and custom styles. Choose Canva when the image is one part of a larger design. Choose Recraft when the image, the vector or the brand style is the deliverable.

We make ImageQuarry, which is not one of these two products. We compared Canva and Recraft using their own public pages, checked October 20, 2026.

Last updated October 20, 2026

At a glance

CanvaRecraft
What it isA design platform with Canva AI and AI photo tools inside the editorAn AI studio for images, vectors and mockups
Editing with wordsMagic Edit: brush an area and describe the change; Canva AI chat on paid plansPlain language editor on the same canvas
Free planUp to 20 uses of AI tools a monthLimited credits; public images, not for commercial use
Paid entryPro US$18 month to month, or US$12 a month billed yearlyBasic $12 a month, or $10 billed annually
AppsWeb, iOS and AndroidWeb, iOS, Android and an API

Canva and Recraft: the differences that matter

Layouts and templates around the image

Canva is a full design editor, and its AI tools sit inside it: Magic Edit, Magic Eraser, an image expander, an upscaler, Generative Fill and Magic Grab, according to Canva's pages as indexed by search in October 2026. Recraft centers on generating and editing images and vectors, with mockups and custom styles.

Vector graphics

Recraft creates editable vector graphics and converts raster images into SVG paths. The Canva pages read for this comparison describe AI photo tools, not vector generation.

The model behind the edits

Canva's AI photo editor page says Magic Edit uses Google's Nano Banana model. Recraft lists Nano Banana among outside models on paid plans, next to its own Recraft V4 line.

How AI use is counted

Canva counts AI uses: 20 a month on Free, up to 200 Premium uses on Pro and 400 on Business, with an AI Pass add-on. Recraft gives monthly credits, 1,000 on Basic and 2,000 on Pro, that reset each cycle.

Rights on the free plan

Recraft says Free plan images belong to Recraft and are not licensed for commercial use. The indexed Canva pricing text read here does not set out rights for AI images.

Canva vs Recraft, side by side

Checked against each vendor's public pages on October 20, 2026. "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it is not a claim that the feature is missing.

TopicCanvaRecraft
AI image generationYes, in the editor and on a standalone pageYes, Recraft and outside models
Region editingMagic Edit: brush, then describeEraser, recolor, background replace
Expand and upscaleImage expander and upscalerOutpaint and upscale to 4K
Business planUS$25 month to month or US$20.83 billed yearlyTeams $22 per seat or $18 billed annually
MobileiOS and AndroidiOS and Android
APINot statedYes

As of 2026-10-20

Sources: Canva canva design assistant; Canva using magic edit; Canva ai photo editing; Canva generate images ai; Canva pricing; Canva ai pass; Canva version history; Canva download file types cn; Recraft homepage; Recraft ai photo editor; Recraft pricing

Pricing

Prices as of October 2026, from each vendor's own pages. Credits are not comparable across products, because each vendor defines its own credit. Check the vendor for current pricing.

ProductPlanPriceIncludes
CanvaFreeUS$0Up to 20 uses of Standard or Premium AI tools a month (search indexed text)
CanvaProUS$12 per person per month, billed yearly (US$144 a year)US$18 month to month; up to 200 Premium AI uses a month (search indexed text)
CanvaBusinessUS$20.83 per person per month, billed yearly (US$250 a year)US$25 month to month; up to 400 Premium AI uses a month (search indexed text)
CanvaAI Pass add-onUS$100 per person per monthAdd-on AI usage (search indexed text)
RecraftFree$0Limited credits, public images, no commercial use
RecraftBasic$12 per month, billed monthly1,000 credits a month, commercial rights
RecraftBasic (annual)$10 per month, billed annually ($120)1,000 credits a month
RecraftPro$20 per month, billed monthly2,000 credits a month
RecraftPro (annual)$16 per month, billed annually ($192)2,000 credits a month
RecraftTeams$22 per seat per month, billed monthly2,000 credits per seat a month

Prices as of 2026-10

About each product

Canva

Canva is a design platform, and its AI features live inside the editor. Its help pages, as indexed by search in October 2026, describe Canva AI 2.0, a chat workspace for refining a design by typing the change on paid plans, Magic Edit for brushing an area and describing a replacement, and tools such as Magic Eraser and an upscaler. Pro was listed at US$18 month to month or US$144 a year, and one indexed copy of the pricing page shows lower, probably older prices.

Recraft

Recraft is an AI studio for images, vectors and mockups. It pairs its own Recraft models with outside ones on paid plans, edits from plain language on a canvas, and can vectorize raster images or convert files to PDF and TIFF. As of October 2026 Basic is $12 a month with 1,000 credits, and paid images stay private with commercial rights.

Which one fits your work

Choose Canva when

  • You make whole designs, not only images: decks, social posts, documents
  • Your team already shares a Canva workspace
  • You want AI edits inside the same editor as your layouts

Choose Recraft when

  • You need vector output or SVG conversion
  • You want a choice of image models
  • You want an API for image generation
  • You want private generation on the entry paid plan

Where ImageQuarry fits

When the job is refining a single image through many small requests, ImageQuarry keeps that history for you: every change becomes a new version, earlier ones stay, and you can branch to try a second idea. Work is grouped into projects and a library, and every plan is paid.

Questions about Canva vs Recraft

Does Canva use Nano Banana?

Canva's AI photo editor page says Magic Edit is powered by Google's Nano Banana model, according to search indexed text in October 2026.

Can Canva make vectors like Recraft?

The Canva pages read for this comparison describe AI photo editing and image generation and do not describe vector generation. Recraft makes editable vectors and converts PNG or JPG to SVG.

Which costs less for one person?

As of October 2026, Canva Pro is US$18 month to month or US$12 a month billed yearly, and Recraft Basic is $12 a month or $10 billed annually. The two count AI use differently.

Can I edit by typing in both?

Yes. Canva AI 2.0 lets paid users type the change they want, and Recraft's natural language editor applies typed changes on its canvas.

Sources

Every competitor fact on this page comes from the vendor's own pages, checked on the date shown. Recheck them before you buy.

Checked October 20, 2026

Create an image. Edit it with words. Keep refining.

Pick the editor your work lives in

Layouts and team templates point one way; generated assets, vectors and styles point the other. Try your next asset in both.

Start creatingAlready have an account? Sign in