Skip to content

Compare · Last checked October 20, 2026

ImageQuarry vs Canva: AI image tools in a design suite or an image workspace

Canva is a design suite whose AI tools include text to image, Magic Edit, where you brush an area and describe what to add or replace, and Canva AI, a chat panel for refining designs. Canva has a $0 plan with a monthly allowance of AI uses, and Pro at US$12 a month billed yearly or US$18 month to month, per indexed copies of its pricing page in October 2026. ImageQuarry is a workspace for the image itself: describe or upload a picture, ask for changes in words, keep each version and branch from any of them. Choose Canva when the image is going into a layout with text and templates. Choose ImageQuarry when the picture needs many rounds of change on its own.

We make ImageQuarry. We compared it with Canva using Canva's own public pages, checked October 20, 2026, and say where Canva does more.

Last updated October 20, 2026

At a glance

ImageQuarryCanva
Main jobCreating and refining images through conversationDesigning with templates, plus AI image and photo tools
Editing with wordsAsk for a change on a selected version, and say what to keepMagic Edit: brush over an area and describe what to add or replace
Other image toolsVariations and branches from any versionMagic Eraser, AI Image Expander, Image Upscaler, Generative Fill and Magic Grab
PlatformsThe ImageQuarry appWeb, Android and iOS
Price, as of October 2026Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month$0 plan; Pro US$12 a month billed yearly or US$18 month to month

ImageQuarry and Canva: the differences that matter

A design suite or an image workspace

Canva's AI tools sit inside a design editor, so a generated or edited picture can go straight into a social post, a presentation or a print layout. ImageQuarry keeps the focus on the picture: its prompt, sources, references and every version stay together until you download the one you choose.

Brushing an area or asking for the whole change

Canva's help centre says Magic Edit works by brushing over the part of the photo to change and describing what to add or replace there; indexed text of its AI Photo Editor page says Magic Edit is powered by Google's Nano Banana model. ImageQuarry takes the request in words on a selected version, such as warmer light or a new background, and returns a new version.

More image tools in one place

Canva also names Magic Eraser, AI Image Expander, Image Upscaler, Generative Fill and Magic Grab among its AI photo tools, which covers expanding, upscaling and removing in one editor.

A $0 plan with an AI allowance

Indexed copies of Canva's pricing page show a $0 plan with up to 20 uses of Standard or Premium AI tools a month, and Pro at US$12 a month billed yearly or US$18 month to month, as of October 2026. ImageQuarry plans are paid: Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month, or Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month.

Versions and branches

ImageQuarry keeps each change as a new version and lets you branch from any earlier one, so two directions for the same picture can live side by side. The Canva pages indexed for this comparison describe refining a design through Canva AI but not a version history for an image.

A choice of models

ImageQuarry offers four image models, Nano Banana 2.1 by default plus Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst, and you can choose another when you want a different result. The indexed Canva pages do not name the models behind its image generator.

ImageQuarry vs Canva, side by side

Checked against Canva's public pages on October 20, 2026. "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it is not a claim that the feature is missing. "Not published" means ImageQuarry has not published that detail.

TopicImageQuarryCanva
Starting pointDescribe the image in plain language, or upload an image and describe how you want it changedA prompt in the AI image generator, or a photo in the editor
Editing with wordsSelect a version and ask for a change in words: lighting, background, an added object, composition or colorMagic Edit: brush an area and describe the change; Canva AI chat for designs (Pro and above)
Reference imagesAdd one or more source and reference images to guide material, color, light or shapeNot stated
Versions, variations and branchingEach change makes a new version and earlier versions are kept; make variations and branch from any versionNot stated
Projects and libraryProjects and a persistent library that keep prompts, references and versions togetherDesigns in the Canva editor
Image modelsNano Banana 2.1 (default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 SunburstMagic Edit powered by Google's Nano Banana (indexed text); generator models not named
Output resolution and formatsNot publishedAI Image Expander and Image Upscaler available
Commercial use termsNot publishedNot stated
PriceStarter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month; Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month; optional metered overage, off unless you turn it on; every plan is paid$0 plan; Pro US$12 a month billed yearly or US$18 month to month; Business US$20.83 or US$25

As of 2026-10-20

Sources: Canva canva design assistant; Canva using magic edit; Canva ai photo editing; Canva generate images ai; Canva pricing; Canva ai pass; Canva version history; Canva download file types cn

Pricing

ImageQuarry plans come from its pricing. Canva prices are as of October 2026, from canva.com. Credits are not comparable across products, because each vendor defines its own credit. Check the vendor for current pricing.

ImageQuarry planPriceIncludes
Starter$9 per month100 image credits a month; optional metered overage at $0.12 per extra credit, off unless you turn it on
Pro$29 per month300 image credits a month; optional metered overage at $0.09 per extra credit, off unless you turn it on
ProductPlanPriceIncludes
CanvaFreeUS$0Up to 20 uses of Standard or Premium AI tools a month (search indexed text)
CanvaProUS$12 per person per month, billed yearly (US$144 a year)US$18 month to month; up to 200 Premium AI uses a month (search indexed text)
CanvaBusinessUS$20.83 per person per month, billed yearly (US$250 a year)US$25 month to month; up to 400 Premium AI uses a month (search indexed text)
CanvaAI Pass add-onUS$100 per person per monthAdd-on AI usage (search indexed text)

Prices as of 2026-10

About each product

ImageQuarry

ImageQuarry is a conversational AI image workspace. You describe an image or upload one, then ask for specific changes in words, such as new lighting, a different background or an added object. Each change makes a new version and earlier versions are kept, so you can make variations, branch from any version, add reference images and organize the work in projects and a library. You can choose between four image models: Nano Banana 2.1 (the default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst. Plans: Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month, and Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month, with optional metered overage that is off unless you turn it on. Every plan is paid. ImageQuarry has not published output specifications or rights terms yet, and it is not a headshot or background removal tool.

Canva

Canva is an online design suite with web, Android and iOS apps. Its AI image features, read from search indexed copies of canva.com because the site returned 403 to direct fetches, include a text to image generator, Magic Edit for brushing over an area and describing the change, Canva AI 2.0 as a chat workspace inside the editor on paid plans, and tools such as Magic Eraser, AI Image Expander, Image Upscaler, Generative Fill and Magic Grab. Pricing copies show a $0 plan with up to 20 AI uses a month, Pro at US$12 a month billed yearly or US$18 month to month, Business at US$20.83 billed yearly or US$25, and an AI Pass add-on at US$100. Another copy shows older Pro and Business prices.

Which one fits your work

Choose ImageQuarry when

  • The picture itself is the work, revised over many requests
  • You want every version kept and the option to branch from an earlier one
  • You want to choose between four named image models

Choose Canva when

  • The image is going into a layout with text, templates and brand assets
  • You want expand, upscale, erase and fill tools in the same editor
  • You want to start on a $0 plan with a monthly AI allowance
  • You work on Android or iOS as well as the web

How to try both on the same image

  1. Upload one product photo to both.
  2. In Canva, brush the background with Magic Edit and describe a new one; in ImageQuarry, ask for the same background in words.
  3. In ImageQuarry, ask for warmer light next, then branch from the first version for a different setting.
  4. Place the result you prefer into your Canva layout if you need text around it.

Questions about ImageQuarry vs Canva

Does Canva have an AI image editor?

Yes. Canva's Magic Edit lets you brush over part of a photo and describe what to add or replace, and Canva AI is a chat workspace for refining designs on paid plans.

Which model powers Canva Magic Edit?

Indexed text of Canva's AI Photo Editor page says Magic Edit is powered by Google's Nano Banana model.

How much is Canva Pro?

Indexed copies of Canva's pricing page show US$12 a month billed yearly (US$144 a year) or US$18 month to month, as of October 2026; another copy shows US$120 a year.

Can I use ImageQuarry and Canva together?

Yes. Refine the picture in ImageQuarry, download the version you choose, and place it in a Canva design.

Sources

Every competitor fact on this page comes from the vendor's own pages, checked on the date shown. Recheck them before you buy.

Checked October 20, 2026

Create an image. Edit it with words. Keep refining.

Get the picture right first

Ask for each change in words, compare the versions, and download the one you want to use in your layout.

Start creatingAlready have an account? Sign in