Compare · Last checked October 20, 2026
Kittl vs Recraft for print, merch and brand design
Kittl is a design platform with templates, fonts, mockups and an image generator that offers many outside models, including Recraft V4 Pro. Recraft is an AI studio that runs its own models directly, edits images from typed instructions, makes vectors and builds custom styles, on web and mobile. Choose Kittl when the image goes into a layout with type and mockups. Choose Recraft when you want to edit the image itself by describing changes.
We make ImageQuarry, which is not one of these two products. We compared Kittl and Recraft using their own public pages, checked October 20, 2026.
Last updated October 20, 2026
At a glance
| Kittl | Recraft | |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | A design platform with templates, fonts, mockups and an AI image generator | An AI studio for images, vectors and mockups |
| Image models | Outside models including ChatGPT Image 2, Nano Banana Pro 4K, Ideogram 3 and Recraft V4 Pro | Recraft V4 line, plus outside models on paid plans |
| Editing with words | Remix makes a new version; instruction editing is not described | Plain language editor on the canvas |
| Export size | Free capped at 800 px; Pro and above up to 10,800 px at 300 DPI | Upscale up to 4K; custom DPI and CMYK on Pro |
| Monthly entry plan | Pro $15 per editor | Basic $12 |
Kittl and Recraft: the differences that matter
Recraft models through Kittl
Kittl's generator lists Recraft V4 Pro among its outside models, next to ChatGPT Image 2, Nano Banana and Ideogram. Recraft runs its own V4 line directly and adds outside models on paid plans.
Editing an image by describing it
Recraft describes a natural language editor that applies a typed change on the same canvas. Kittl's help center describes Remix for a new version based on an image, without saying it takes a written instruction.
Commercial license limits
Kittl Pro and Expert carry a commercial license covering up to 500,000 copies, with an Enhanced License on business plans. Recraft grants full ownership and commercial rights on any paid plan.
Templates and live collaboration
Kittl is a full design platform with templates, fonts, text effects, mockups and real-time collaboration, where viewers are free and extra editors are charged. Recraft's Teams plan adds a shared workspace and shared custom styles.
Export formats
Kittl exports PNG, JPEG, SVG, PDF and MP4. Recraft converts among JPG, PNG, WebP, PDF and TIFF and makes SVG vectors.
Kittl vs Recraft, side by side
Checked against each vendor's public pages on October 20, 2026. "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it is not a claim that the feature is missing.
| Topic | Kittl | Recraft |
|---|---|---|
| Templates and fonts | Yes | Not stated |
| Vectorizer | Yes | Yes |
| Background removal | Yes | Yes, with replace |
| Free plan rights | Personal use only | Owned by Recraft, public, no commercial use |
| Annual pricing | Pro $144 a year, Expert $312, Max $576 | Basic $120 a year, Pro $192 |
| Mobile app | Not found on Kittl's pages | iOS and Android |
As of 2026-10-20
Sources: Kittl homepage; Kittl image generator; Kittl ai image generation; Kittl download settings; Kittl pricing; Recraft homepage; Recraft ai photo editor; Recraft pricing
Pricing
Prices as of October 2026, from each vendor's own pages. Credits are not comparable across products, because each vendor defines its own credit. Check the vendor for current pricing.
| Product | Plan | Price | Includes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Kittl | Free | $0 per month | Personal use only, exports capped at 800 px |
| Kittl | Pro | $15.00 per month per editor | Commercial license up to 500,000 copies |
| Kittl | Expert | $35.00 per month per editor | Commercial license, 200 extra AI tokens a day |
| Kittl | Max | $65.00 per month per editor | 600 extra AI tokens a day |
| Kittl | Pro, Expert, Max | $144, $312, $576 per year per editor | Billed annually ($12, $26 and $48 a month) |
| Recraft | Free | $0 | Limited credits, public images, no commercial use |
| Recraft | Basic | $12 per month, billed monthly | 1,000 credits a month, commercial rights |
| Recraft | Basic (annual) | $10 per month, billed annually ($120) | 1,000 credits a month |
| Recraft | Pro | $20 per month, billed monthly | 2,000 credits a month |
| Recraft | Pro (annual) | $16 per month, billed annually ($192) | 2,000 credits a month |
| Recraft | Teams | $22 per seat per month, billed monthly | 2,000 credits per seat a month |
Prices as of 2026-10
About each product
Kittl
Kittl is a design platform for brands, with templates, fonts, mockups, text effects, vectorization, a Brand Studio and a Creative Agent that builds assets in a chat. Its AI image generator offers many outside models, including ChatGPT Image 2, Nano Banana Pro 4K, Seedream, Ideogram 3 and Recraft V4 Pro, with image references in the editor. As of October 2026, Pro is $15 a month per editor, Expert $35 and Max $65, with a commercial license on Pro and Expert.
Recraft
Recraft Studio generates and edits images, vectors and mockups with its own models, adding outside models from the Basic plan. Typed edits are applied on the canvas, and the toolset covers background replacement, erasing, outpainting, upscaling and custom styles built from your images. As of October 2026, Basic is $12 a month and Pro $20, on web, iOS and Android.
Which one fits your work
Choose Kittl when
- You need templates, fonts and mockups around your images
- You design merch or print-on-demand layouts
- Several people edit the same design in real time
Choose Recraft when
- You want to change an image by typing the change
- You want Recraft models directly, with private paid images
- You want iOS and Android apps
- You work in Figma or Framer
Where ImageQuarry fits
ImageQuarry is narrower than either design platform: it is a place to make and refine the image itself. You can begin from a description or your own upload, request changes in plain words, attach references to steer color or texture, and download the version you pick.
Questions about Kittl vs Recraft
Can I use Recraft models in Kittl?
Yes. Kittl's AI image generator lists Recraft V4 Pro among its models, as of October 2026.
Which one suits print files?
Kittl Pro and higher export up to 10,800 pixels at 300 DPI, and Recraft Pro lists custom DPI and CMYK. Check the exact output your printer needs in each.
Can free plan designs be sold?
Kittl says Free is for personal use only. Recraft says Free plan images belong to Recraft and are not licensed for commercial use.
Do they work on phones?
Recraft links iOS and Android apps. The Kittl pages read for this comparison describe a browser editor, with mobile browser exports capped at 4,096 pixels.
Sources
Every competitor fact on this page comes from the vendor's own pages, checked on the date shown. Recheck them before you buy.
Checked October 20, 2026
Create an image. Edit it with words. Keep refining.
Choose by what surrounds the image
If you need layouts, type and mockups, one platform does more; if you need the image and its vectors, the other is closer.
Start creatingAlready have an account? Sign in