Skip to content

Compare · Last checked October 20, 2026

Midjourney vs Stable Diffusion: a hosted app or models you run yourself

Midjourney is a subscription app for making and editing images, with its own models, a website, Discord and an Edit model for written instructions. Stable Diffusion is Stability AI's model family, sold through a pay per credit Platform API and self hosted licenses; its consumer app, Stable Assistant, now redirects away. Pick Midjourney if you want an app; pick Stable Diffusion if you want to build with the models or run them on your own hardware.

We make ImageQuarry, which is not one of these two products. We compared Midjourney and Stable Diffusion using their own public pages, checked October 20, 2026.

Last updated October 20, 2026

At a glance

MidjourneyStable Diffusion
What you getA subscription app on the web, Discord and mobileModels through an API or self hosted weights
Consumer appmidjourney.com and the niji journey appStable Assistant now redirects; no current image app found
Price, October 2026$10 to $120 a month$0.01 per credit; Stable Image Ultra 8 credits per image
Self hostingNot offeredCommunity License for under $1M revenue; Enterprise License above
Editing with wordsEdit model: written instructionsAPI: Search and Replace with a text prompt

Midjourney and Stable Diffusion: the differences that matter

Ready to use or ready to build on

Midjourney is a finished app: you sign up, prompt and edit on its website or in Discord. Stability AI sells Stable Diffusion 3.5, SDXL and Stable Image models through its Platform API and self hosted licenses, and links no consumer image app from its homepage.

Running models on your own hardware

Stability AI's Community License lets researchers, developers, small businesses and creators under $1M in annual revenue self host its models. Midjourney's models are available only through Midjourney.

Paying by the image

Stability's API charges per credit at $0.01, from 0.9 credits for SDXL to 8 credits for Stable Image Ultra, with editing operations priced separately. Midjourney charges a monthly subscription with Fast GPU hours.

Editing in an interface

Midjourney's Editor gives you Vary Region, Pan, Zoom Out and brushes in the browser. Stability's Search and Replace and Search and Recolor are API endpoints that take a text prompt naming what to change.

Midjourney vs Stable Diffusion, side by side

Checked against each vendor's public pages on October 20, 2026. "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it is not a claim that the feature is missing.

TopicMidjourneyStable Diffusion
ModelsV6, V7, V8.1, V8.2 and NijiStable Diffusion 3.5 Large, Turbo and Medium, SDXL, Stable Image Ultra and Core
Edit operationsEdit model, Vary Region, Pan, Zoom OutErase, Inpaint, Outpaint, Remove Background, Replace Background and Relight
UpscalingSubtle and Creative upscalers to 2048 x 2048Creative, Conservative and Fast upscalers
OwnershipBroad use; Pro or Mega above $1M revenueYou own outputs from the Core Models
Free startNo free trial on the website or Discord25 free API credits
DiscordYesNot stated

As of 2026-10-20

Sources: Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Stable Diffusion homepage; Stable Diffusion stable assistant; Stable Diffusion page (Wayback capture); Stable Diffusion stable image; Stable Diffusion pricing; Stable Diffusion api reference; Stable Diffusion license; Stable Diffusion faq; Stable Diffusion api reference; Stable Diffusion conservative

Pricing

Prices as of October 2026, from each vendor's own pages. Credits are not comparable across products, because each vendor defines its own credit. Check the vendor for current pricing.

ProductPlanPriceIncludes
MidjourneyBasic$10 per month, billed monthly3.3 hours of fast GPU time a month
MidjourneyStandard$30 per month, billed monthly15 hours fast GPU time, relax mode
MidjourneyPro$60 per month, billed monthly30 hours fast GPU time, Stealth Mode
MidjourneyMega$120 per month, billed monthly60 hours fast GPU time, Stealth Mode
MidjourneyBasic, Standard, Pro, Mega (annual)$96, $288, $576, $1,152 per year, paid upfront20% discount
Stable DiffusionPlatform API1 credit = $0.01 per pay per creditStable Image Ultra 8 credits per image, SD 3.5 Large 6.5, SDXL 1.0 from 0.9
Stable DiffusionCommunity License (self hosted)FreeUnder $1M annual revenue
Stable DiffusionEnterprise LicenseCustom PricingOver $1M annual revenue

Prices as of 2026-10

About each product

Midjourney

Midjourney is a subscription image and video generator with its own models, V8.2 by default. Its Edit model changes images from written instructions, its Editor works on uploads, and plans cost $10 to $120 a month with General Commercial Terms. It runs on midjourney.com, in Discord and in the niji journey app.

Stable Diffusion

Stability AI makes the Stable Diffusion models and sells them through a pay per credit Platform API, at $0.01 per credit, and through self hosted licenses: a Community License for those under $1M in annual revenue and an Enterprise License above it. Its consumer chatbot app, Stable Assistant, now redirects away from its old address. Users own outputs from the Core Models under its license.

Which one fits your work

Choose Midjourney when

  • You want an app you can use today without setup
  • You want an editor in the browser
  • You want a flat monthly price
  • You like Discord

Choose Stable Diffusion when

  • You want to self host image models under a license
  • You are building with an image API and paying per call
  • You want separate endpoints for erase, inpaint, outpaint and relight
  • Your business is under $1M in revenue and wants the Community License

Where ImageQuarry fits

ImageQuarry is an app rather than a model you host: describe an image or upload one, ask for a change in words, and keep the version history, with variations and branches. It offers four image models by name, Nano Banana 2.1 by default, inside one workspace with projects and a library, on paid monthly plans.

Questions about Midjourney vs Stable Diffusion

Is there still a Stable Diffusion app from Stability AI?

Stability AI's Stable Assistant page now redirects to its strategic partnerships page, and assistant.stability.ai redirects to its homepage. No official shutdown notice was found, and no current consumer image app is linked from stability.ai.

Can I run Stable Diffusion myself?

Yes, under a license. Stability's Community License covers researchers, developers, small businesses and creators under $1M in annual revenue; above that an Enterprise License applies.

How much does Stable Diffusion cost by API?

One credit is $0.01. Stable Image Ultra costs 8 credits per image and Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large 6.5, as of October 2026, and Stability says pricing may change.

Can Midjourney be self hosted?

No self hosting appears on Midjourney's pages; it runs on midjourney.com, in Discord and in the niji journey app.

Create an image. Edit it with words. Keep refining.

Skip the setup, keep the iteration

ImageQuarry keeps each requested change as a version, so you can compare, branch and download the one you choose.

Start creatingAlready have an account? Sign in