Compare · Last checked October 20, 2026
FLUX vs Midjourney: model API by the image, or a subscription app
FLUX is Black Forest Labs' family of image models, sold pay per image through an API and a browser Playground, with open weights for self hosting; FLUX 3 Image edits from written instructions and combines up to ten references. Midjourney is a subscription app on its website and Discord with its own models and an Edit model. FLUX suits developers and teams who pay by usage; Midjourney suits people who want an app and a flat monthly price.
We make ImageQuarry, which is not one of these two products. We compared FLUX and Midjourney using their own public pages, checked October 20, 2026.
Last updated October 20, 2026
At a glance
| FLUX | Midjourney | |
|---|---|---|
| How you pay | Credits at $0.01 each; no subscriptions or seat fees | Monthly or yearly subscription, $10 to $120 a month |
| Editing with words | FLUX 3 Image: write the change as an instruction | Edit model: written instructions |
| References | Up to ten references | Up to 4 references |
| Where you use it | Browser Playground, REST API, MCP server, open weights | midjourney.com, Discord, niji journey app |
| Ownership | You own all right, title and interest in API outputs | Broad use; Pro or Mega above $1M revenue |
FLUX and Midjourney: the differences that matter
Usage pricing or a flat plan
FLUX charges per image or per second of video, with one credit costing $0.01 and the same prices in the API and Playground; FLUX 3 Image runs from $0.041 at 768 by 768 to $0.607 at 4K. Midjourney charges a flat subscription with Fast GPU hours and, on Standard and up, Relax mode.
Building it into your own product
FLUX has a REST API, an MCP server and open weights licenses for self hosting. Midjourney's pages read show no public API.
An app for everyday creating
Midjourney gives you a website with an Organize page, an Editor, Draft batches and a mobile app through niji journey. FLUX's browser Playground is for testing ideas and iterating on prompts, and BFL lists no iOS or Android app.
More references per request
FLUX 3 Image can combine up to ten references, and FLUX.2 offers multi-reference support up to 10 images. Midjourney's Edit model takes up to 4 reference images.
FLUX vs Midjourney, side by side
Checked against each vendor's public pages on October 20, 2026. "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it is not a claim that the feature is missing.
| Topic | FLUX | Midjourney |
|---|---|---|
| Models | FLUX 3 Image, FLUX 3 Image Klein, FLUX.2 [max], [pro], [flex], [klein], Kontext | V6, V7, V8.1, V8.2 and Niji |
| Editing one element | Bounding boxes to recolor, move, replace or remove one element | Vary Region, Move and Resize, Erase |
| Maximum size | Prices listed up to 4K; FLUX.2 up to 4MP | 2048 x 2048 |
| Video | FLUX 3 Video with native audio, clips up to 20 seconds (vendor claim) | Video alongside images |
| Provenance | May embed Content Credentials, which users may not remove | Not stated |
| Subscriptions | None: pay for what you generate | Basic, Standard, Pro, Mega |
As of 2026-10-20
Sources: FLUX homepage; FLUX llms.txt; FLUX flux3_image_overview.md; FLUX kontext_overview.md; FLUX pricing.md; FLUX pricing; FLUX developer terms of service; Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture)
Pricing
Prices as of October 2026, from each vendor's own pages. Credits are not comparable across products, because each vendor defines its own credit. Check the vendor for current pricing.
| Product | Plan | Price | Includes |
|---|---|---|---|
| FLUX | API and Playground | 1 credit = $0.01 per pay per image | Same price for API and Playground; no subscriptions |
| FLUX | FLUX 3 Image | $0.048 at 1K, $0.10 at 2K, $0.607 at 4K per image | FLUX 3 Image Klein from $0.008 |
| FLUX | FLUX.2 [pro] | $0.03 first megapixel, $0.015 each additional per image | FLUX.1 Kontext [pro] $0.04 per image |
| FLUX | Self hosted licenses | Purchase or Contact Sales | Builder: 10K images a month |
| Midjourney | Basic | $10 per month, billed monthly | 3.3 hours of fast GPU time a month |
| Midjourney | Standard | $30 per month, billed monthly | 15 hours fast GPU time, relax mode |
| Midjourney | Pro | $60 per month, billed monthly | 30 hours fast GPU time, Stealth Mode |
| Midjourney | Mega | $120 per month, billed monthly | 60 hours fast GPU time, Stealth Mode |
| Midjourney | Basic, Standard, Pro, Mega (annual) | $96, $288, $576, $1,152 per year, paid upfront | 20% discount |
Prices as of 2026-10
About each product
FLUX
FLUX is a family of foundation models from Black Forest Labs. FLUX 3 Image edits from a written instruction and can combine up to ten references; bounding boxes target one element. You pay $0.01 per credit, per image or per second of video, through the API or the browser Playground, or license open weights to self host. API outputs include full commercial rights.
Midjourney
Midjourney is a subscription image and video generator from $10 to $120 a month, used on its website, in Discord and in the niji journey app. Its Edit model takes written instructions with up to 4 references, and its Editor, Organize page and Draft mode support everyday creating.
Which one fits your work
Choose FLUX when
- You are building an app or workflow and need an API or self hosting
- You want to pay per image instead of a subscription
- You need up to ten references in one request
- You want ownership of outputs written into the terms
Choose Midjourney when
- You want a ready app with an editor and a library
- You want a predictable monthly price
- You work in Discord or on mobile through niji journey
- You like Draft batches to explore
Where ImageQuarry fits
ImageQuarry is a workspace you open and create in: you describe an image or upload one, ask for changes in words, and keep every version in projects and a library. It offers four image models by name, with Nano Banana 2.1 as the default, on monthly plans with 100 or 300 image credits a month and optional metered overage that is off unless you turn it on.
Questions about FLUX vs Midjourney
Is FLUX a subscription?
No. Black Forest Labs says there are no subscriptions or seat fees: you pay $0.01 per credit, per image or per second of video, in the API or the Playground.
Can I use FLUX in an app like Midjourney's?
BFL offers a browser Playground for testing and iterating on prompts, an MCP server and an API. Its official pages list no iOS or Android app.
Which handles more reference images?
FLUX 3 Image can combine up to ten references. Midjourney's Edit model takes up to 4.
Who owns FLUX outputs?
BFL's Developer Terms say you own all right, title and interest in API outputs and may use them for personal or commercial purposes.
Sources
Every competitor fact on this page comes from the vendor's own pages, checked on the date shown. Recheck them before you buy.
Checked October 20, 2026
- FLUX homepage
- FLUX llms.txt
- FLUX flux3_image_overview.md
- FLUX kontext_overview.md
- FLUX pricing.md
- FLUX pricing
- FLUX developer terms of service
- Midjourney page (Wayback capture)
- Midjourney page (Wayback capture)
- Midjourney page (Wayback capture)
- Midjourney page (Wayback capture)
- Midjourney page (Wayback capture)
- Midjourney page (Wayback capture)
- Midjourney page (Wayback capture)
- Midjourney page (Wayback capture)
Create an image. Edit it with words. Keep refining.
An image app built around asking for changes
In ImageQuarry, each change you describe becomes a new version, and you can branch from any earlier one.
Start creatingAlready have an account? Sign in