Skip to content

Compare · Last checked October 20, 2026

FLUX vs Stable Diffusion: two image model families compared

FLUX, from Black Forest Labs, and Stable Diffusion, from Stability AI, are image model families you reach through an API, a browser playground or self hosted weights, not consumer apps with plans. FLUX 3 Image edits from written instructions and combines up to ten references; Stability's API offers Search and Replace, inpainting and relighting per credit. Both price per use at 1 credit = $0.01, and both say you own outputs. Stability's Community License is free under $1M in revenue; FLUX self hosting licenses are sold through purchase or sales.

We make ImageQuarry, which is not one of these two products. We compared FLUX and Stable Diffusion using their own public pages, checked October 20, 2026.

Last updated October 20, 2026

At a glance

FLUXStable Diffusion
Current modelsFLUX 3 Image, FLUX 3 Image Klein, FLUX.2 [pro], [max], [flex], [klein]Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large, Medium and Turbo, SDXL, Stable Image Ultra
Editing in words"Write the change as an instruction"Search and Replace names the object and its replacement in text
PricingPer image or megapixel; 1 credit = $0.01Per credit; 1 credit = $0.01; 25 free credits to start
Self hostingLicenses by purchase or contact salesFree Community License under $1M revenue; Enterprise custom
Consumer appBrowser PlaygroundStable Assistant now redirects away

FLUX and Stable Diffusion: the differences that matter

Instruction editing and references favor FLUX

FLUX 3 Image takes edits written as instructions and bounding boxes to "recolor, move, replace, or remove one element", and combines up to ten references. Stability's API edits through separate endpoints such as Search and Replace, Inpaint, Erase and Replace Background and Relight.

A free self hosting license at Stability

Stability's Community License is free for researchers, developers, small businesses and creators under $1M in annual revenue. Black Forest Labs lists its self hosted licenses, such as Builder at 10K images a month, with "Purchase" or "Contact Sales" and no price.

Starting credits

Stability says new API users get 25 free credits. Black Forest Labs' pricing page says "Only pay for what you generate", and no free credits were found there.

A playground in the browser

Black Forest Labs offers a browser Playground at the same prices as its API. Stability's consumer chat app, Stable Assistant, now redirects to other pages, and no current image app was found on its site.

Provenance and license conditions

Black Forest Labs says it may embed Content Credentials in outputs and prohibits removing them. Stability's Community License says you own outputs and can use them commercially, and the license can be revoked on violation.

FLUX vs Stable Diffusion, side by side

Checked against each vendor's public pages on October 20, 2026. "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it is not a claim that the feature is missing.

TopicFLUXStable Diffusion
Text to imageYesYes
Inpaint and outpaintFLUX.1 Fill, FLUX Outpainting, FLUX EraseInpaint, Outpaint, Erase Object
UpscalingUpscalers listed among hosted toolsCreative, Conservative and Fast Upscalers
Example priceFLUX 3 Image $0.048 at 1K, $0.607 at 4KSD 3.5 Large 6.5 credits per image
Output ownershipYou own outputs; personal or commercial useYou own outputs; commercial use subject to policy
Other mediaFLUX 3 Video with native audioAudio, video and 3D models listed
Agent accessFLUX MCP serverNot stated

As of 2026-10-20

Sources: FLUX homepage; FLUX llms.txt; FLUX flux3_image_overview.md; FLUX kontext_overview.md; FLUX pricing.md; FLUX pricing; FLUX developer terms of service; Stable Diffusion homepage; Stable Diffusion stable assistant; Stable Diffusion page (Wayback capture); Stable Diffusion stable image; Stable Diffusion pricing; Stable Diffusion api reference; Stable Diffusion license; Stable Diffusion faq; Stable Diffusion api reference; Stable Diffusion conservative

Pricing

Prices as of October 2026, from each vendor's own pages. Credits are not comparable across products, because each vendor defines its own credit. Check the vendor for current pricing.

ProductPlanPriceIncludes
FLUXAPI and Playground1 credit = $0.01 per pay per imageSame price for API and Playground; no subscriptions
FLUXFLUX 3 Image$0.048 at 1K, $0.10 at 2K, $0.607 at 4K per imageFLUX 3 Image Klein from $0.008
FLUXFLUX.2 [pro]$0.03 first megapixel, $0.015 each additional per imageFLUX.1 Kontext [pro] $0.04 per image
FLUXSelf hosted licensesPurchase or Contact SalesBuilder: 10K images a month
Stable DiffusionPlatform API1 credit = $0.01 per pay per creditStable Image Ultra 8 credits per image, SD 3.5 Large 6.5, SDXL 1.0 from 0.9
Stable DiffusionCommunity License (self hosted)FreeUnder $1M annual revenue
Stable DiffusionEnterprise LicenseCustom PricingOver $1M annual revenue

Prices as of 2026-10

About each product

FLUX

Black Forest Labs makes the FLUX models. Its homepage leads with FLUX 3, "One multimodal model for Image, Video, Audio and Action-Prediction", and its docs list FLUX 3 Image, FLUX 3 Image Klein and the FLUX.2 family. FLUX 3 Image edits from written instructions and up to ten references. Pricing is pay per image at 1 credit = $0.01 through the API or Playground, with open weights licensed for self hosting.

Stable Diffusion

Stability AI publishes the Stable Diffusion models, including Stable Diffusion 3.5 Large, Medium and Turbo and SDXL, available through its Platform API, self hosted weights and cloud partners. Its API prices generation and editing per credit, with tools such as Search and Replace, Inpaint, Outpaint and Relight. Stable Assistant, its consumer app, now redirects away, so Stable Diffusion today means the API and the weights.

Which one fits your work

Choose FLUX when

  • You want to edit by writing an instruction
  • You want to combine up to ten references
  • You want a browser playground at API prices
  • You want an MCP server for agents

Choose Stable Diffusion when

  • You want a free self hosting license under $1M revenue
  • You want 25 free credits to try the API
  • You want separate endpoints for each edit type
  • You want SDXL or Stable Diffusion 3.5 weights

Where ImageQuarry fits

FLUX and Stable Diffusion are model families for builders. ImageQuarry is a ready workspace for people who want to make and refine images: describe or upload, ask for changes in words, keep every version and organize work in projects. Its models are Nano Banana 2.1, Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst.

Questions about FLUX vs Stable Diffusion

Is FLUX better than Stable Diffusion?

Neither vendor's pages settle that. FLUX 3 Image documents instruction editing and ten references; Stable Diffusion offers a free Community License for self hosting and a menu of edit endpoints.

Can I use FLUX or Stable Diffusion images commercially?

Black Forest Labs' Developer Terms say you own API outputs and may use them commercially. Stability says you own outputs and may use them commercially, subject to law and its Acceptable Use Policy.

How much does each cost per image?

FLUX 3 Image is $0.048 at 1K and $0.607 at 4K. On Stability's API, SD 3.5 Large is 6.5 credits per image at $0.01 per credit.

Is there an app for Stable Diffusion?

Stability's Stable Assistant app now redirects to other pages, and no current Stability image app was found. Stable Diffusion is used through the API, self hosted weights or other products.

Can I run either model myself?

Yes. Stability offers self hosted weights under its Community and Enterprise licenses, and Black Forest Labs sells self hosted licenses such as Builder and Platform.

Create an image. Edit it with words. Keep refining.

Rather work in a ready workspace?

ImageQuarry gives you image creation and editing in words, with every version kept. Choose a plan and start creating.

Start creatingAlready have an account? Sign in