Skip to content

Compare · Last checked October 20, 2026

Canva vs Microsoft Designer: design suites with AI images built in

Canva and Microsoft Designer are both design tools first, with AI image generation and editing inside a template editor. Canva sells Pro at US$12 a month billed yearly or US$18 month to month, and adds Canva AI 2.0, a chat panel where you describe a change to a design, plus Magic Edit for one brushed area. Microsoft Designer says it is free to use with a Microsoft account, with a subscription for heavier use, and it is licensed for personal, non commercial use. Pick Canva for paid team and brand work; pick Designer for personal cards, invitations and social posts.

We make ImageQuarry, which is not one of these two products. We compared Canva and Microsoft Designer using their own public pages, checked October 20, 2026.

Last updated October 20, 2026

At a glance

CanvaMicrosoft Designer
Starting priceFree plan with up to 20 AI uses a month; Pro US$12 a month billed yearly or US$18 month to monthFree to use; a subscription may be required to create more often
Editing by describing a changeCanva AI 2.0 chat on Pro, Business and Enterprise; Magic Edit for a brushed areaErase, blur or remove backgrounds and upscale; the FAQ does not describe editing by description
Commercial useNot stated in the indexed pages readLicensed for personal, non commercial use
UpscalingAn Image Upscaler is listed among the AI toolsA starting image can be upscaled up to 4K
Where it runsWeb, plus Android and iOS appsWeb, Designer mobile apps, and inside Word and PowerPoint via Copilot

Canva and Microsoft Designer: the differences that matter

Business use points to Canva

Microsoft Designer's FAQ says it is licensed for personal, non commercial use with your Microsoft account. Canva sells Pro and Business seats, with Business at US$20.83 a month per person billed yearly or US$25 month to month, which suits teams producing paid work.

Describing changes in a chat

Canva's help, read as search indexed text, describes refining a design by typing a prompt in the Canva AI tab on Pro, Business and Enterprise, and Magic Edit replaces what you brush over. Microsoft Designer documents click or mask based erase, background blur or removal, framing and upscaling, and its FAQ does not describe changing an image by describing the change.

Designer is the low cost route for personal projects

Microsoft Designer says it is free to use, turns descriptions into greeting cards, invitations, images, stickers and collages, and saves designs to the cloud automatically. Canva's free plan caps Standard and Premium AI tools at up to 20 uses a month, and more AI uses come with paid plans.

Office integration and content credentials

Microsoft Designer also works inside Word and PowerPoint through Copilot, where text to image needs a Copilot Pro subscription, and it attaches C2PA content credentials to images made or edited with AI. Canva's indexed pages describe its own editor and apps, and do not mention content credentials.

Two price lists for Canva

Canva's indexed pricing shows Pro at US$144 a year, while another indexed copy shows US$120 a year, probably an older version. Microsoft Designer publishes no plan prices on the pages read, only that a subscription may be required for frequent use.

Canva vs Microsoft Designer, side by side

Checked against each vendor's public pages on October 20, 2026. "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it is not a claim that the feature is missing.

TopicCanvaMicrosoft Designer
Main jobDesign suite with templates and AI toolsGraphic design tool for cards, invitations, images and social posts
Text to imageYes, in the editor and a standalone generatorYes, describe what you want to create
Edit one areaMagic Edit: brush, then describe what to add or replaceErase by clicking an object or drawing a mask
Other AI toolsMagic Eraser, Image Expander, Upscaler, Generative Fill, Magic GrabBackground blur or removal, framing, upscaling
UploadsUploads used in designs and editsCollages take up to 10 uploaded images
Commercial useNot stated in the indexed pages readPersonal, non commercial use
Add onsAI Pass at USD 100 per person a month; AI top ups for BusinessCopilot Pro for text to image in Word and PowerPoint

As of 2026-10-20

Sources: Canva canva design assistant; Canva using magic edit; Canva ai photo editing; Canva generate images ai; Canva pricing; Canva ai pass; Canva version history; Canva download file types cn; Microsoft Designer frequently asked questions about microso; Microsoft Designer generate images for your documents with

Pricing

Prices as of October 2026, from each vendor's own pages. Credits are not comparable across products, because each vendor defines its own credit. Check the vendor for current pricing.

ProductPlanPriceIncludes
CanvaFreeUS$0Up to 20 uses of Standard or Premium AI tools a month (search indexed text)
CanvaProUS$12 per person per month, billed yearly (US$144 a year)US$18 month to month; up to 200 Premium AI uses a month (search indexed text)
CanvaBusinessUS$20.83 per person per month, billed yearly (US$250 a year)US$25 month to month; up to 400 Premium AI uses a month (search indexed text)
CanvaAI Pass add-onUS$100 per person per monthAdd-on AI usage (search indexed text)
Microsoft DesignerDesigner$0Free to use; a subscription may be required to create more frequently; personal, non-commercial license

Prices as of 2026-10

About each product

Canva

Canva is a design platform with templates and a growing set of AI tools, all read here as search indexed text of canva.com because direct fetches were blocked. Canva AI 2.0 is a chat based workspace in the editor, Magic Edit changes a brushed area from a description, and a standalone generator makes images without opening the editor. Plans run from a free plan with up to 20 AI uses a month to Pro at US$12 a month billed yearly and Business at US$20.83 a month per person billed yearly, with an AI Pass add on. It runs on the web and in Android and iOS apps.

Microsoft Designer

Microsoft Designer is a graphic design tool at designer.microsoft.com that turns descriptions into cards, invitations, images, stickers and collages. Its editing covers erasing distractions, blurring or removing backgrounds, framing and upscaling a starting image up to 4K, and designs save to the cloud automatically. Microsoft says it is free to use, with a subscription for frequent creators, and licenses it for personal, non commercial use. It runs on the web, in Designer mobile apps, and inside Word and PowerPoint through Copilot.

Which one fits your work

Choose Canva when

  • You make designs for a business and need paid team seats
  • You want to describe changes to a design in a chat panel
  • You want many AI tools such as an expander, upscaler and Magic Grab in one editor
  • You work across a large template library

Choose Microsoft Designer when

  • You make personal cards, invitations and social posts
  • You want to start without a subscription
  • You already work in Word and PowerPoint with Copilot
  • You want content credentials attached to AI images

Where ImageQuarry fits

ImageQuarry is an image workspace rather than a design suite. You describe an image or upload a photo, ask for specific changes in words such as new lighting or a different background, and each change becomes a new version, with earlier ones kept so you can branch from any of them. References guide the result, and finished work stays in projects and a library. Plans are paid monthly: Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month, or Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month.

Questions about Canva vs Microsoft Designer

Can I use Microsoft Designer images commercially?

Microsoft Designer's FAQ says it is licensed for personal, non commercial use with your Microsoft account, so check Microsoft's terms before using designs for a business.

Does Canva let me edit an image by describing the change?

Yes, according to its indexed help pages: Canva AI 2.0 refines a design from a typed prompt on Pro, Business and Enterprise, and Magic Edit replaces a brushed area from a description.

Which one costs less to start?

Microsoft Designer says it is free to use, with a subscription for frequent creation. Canva has a free plan capped at up to 20 AI uses a month, and Pro costs US$12 a month billed yearly or US$18 month to month.

Can either upscale images?

Microsoft Designer says a starting image can be upscaled up to 4K, and Canva lists an Image Upscaler among its AI tools.

Do they work inside Office?

Microsoft Designer does, inside Word and PowerPoint through Copilot, where text to image needs Copilot Pro. Canva's indexed pages describe its own editor and mobile apps.

Create an image. Edit it with words. Keep refining.

Need one image refined, not a whole layout?

ImageQuarry keeps a conversation around each image: describe it or upload one, ask for changes in words and keep every version. Choose a plan and start creating.

Start creatingAlready have an account? Sign in