Compare · Last checked October 20, 2026
ImageQuarry vs Microsoft Designer: an image workspace or a design app
Microsoft Designer is a graphic design tool: describe what you want and it makes greeting cards, invitations, images, stickers and collages, with photo edits such as erasing distractions, blurring or removing backgrounds and upscaling to 4K. It is free to use and licensed for personal, non-commercial use. ImageQuarry is a workspace for creating and refining images through conversation: ask for a change in words, keep each version and branch from any of them. Pick Designer for quick personal designs at no cost. Pick ImageQuarry when the picture itself needs many rounds of written changes.
We make ImageQuarry. We compared it with Microsoft Designer using Microsoft Designer's own public pages, checked October 20, 2026, and say where Microsoft Designer does more.
Last updated October 20, 2026
At a glance
| ImageQuarry | Microsoft Designer | |
|---|---|---|
| Main job | Creating and refining images through conversation | Designing cards, invitations, images, stickers and collages |
| Editing | Ask for a change in words: lighting, background, objects, composition, color | Erase distractions, blur or remove backgrounds, frame and upscale |
| Uploads | Start from an uploaded image and describe the change | Up to 10 uploaded images in a collage; uploads in frames and social posts |
| Use of what you make | Not published | Licensed for personal, non-commercial use |
| Price, as of October 2026 | Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month | Free to use; a subscription may be needed to create more often |
ImageQuarry and Microsoft Designer: the differences that matter
Designs or images
Microsoft Designer turns a description into finished designs such as greeting cards, invitations, stickers and collages, and keeps a brand kit for your look. ImageQuarry is aimed at the image itself, from product and campaign visuals to interiors, portraits and concept art.
Editing by describing the change
Designer's FAQ lists edits such as erasing distractions, blurring or removing backgrounds and upscaling, chosen as tools, and does not describe changing an image by describing the change. In ImageQuarry, you select a version and ask in words for new lighting, a different background or an added object, and each change becomes a new version.
4K upscaling
Microsoft's FAQ says a starting image can be upscaled up to 4K resolution in Designer, and C2PA content credentials are attached to images edited or generated with AI. That is a published output size, which matters for print.
Licensing for business work
Microsoft says Designer is licensed for personal, non-commercial use with your Microsoft account. ImageQuarry has not published rights terms yet.
Cost and reach
Designer is free to use, with a subscription mentioned for people who create more often, and it runs on the web, on iOS, iPad and Android, and inside Word and PowerPoint through Copilot. ImageQuarry plans are paid: Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month, or Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month.
History of the work
Designer saves your designs to the cloud automatically. ImageQuarry keeps every version with the prompt and references that made it, and lets you branch from an earlier version or make variations.
ImageQuarry vs Microsoft Designer, side by side
Checked against Microsoft Designer's public pages on October 20, 2026. "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it is not a claim that the feature is missing. "Not published" means ImageQuarry has not published that detail.
| Topic | ImageQuarry | Microsoft Designer |
|---|---|---|
| Starting point | Describe the image in plain language, or upload an image and describe how you want it changed | Describe what you want; upload images for collages, frames and social posts |
| Editing with words | Select a version and ask for a change in words: lighting, background, an added object, composition or color | Erase, blur or remove backgrounds, frame and upscale |
| Reference images | Add one or more source and reference images to guide material, color, light or shape | Up to 10 uploaded images in a collage; one brand kit |
| Versions, variations and branching | Each change makes a new version and earlier versions are kept; make variations and branch from any version | Not stated; designs are saved to the cloud |
| Projects and library | Projects and a persistent library that keep prompts, references and versions together | Designs saved automatically to the cloud |
| Image models | Nano Banana 2.1 (default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst | Copilot in Word uses Designer's Image Creator, which Microsoft says is powered by DALL-E 3 (search indexed text) |
| Output resolution and formats | Not published | Upscale up to 4K; C2PA content credentials |
| Commercial use terms | Not published | Licensed for personal, non-commercial use |
| Price | Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month; Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month; optional metered overage, off unless you turn it on; every plan is paid | Free to use; a subscription may be required to create more frequently |
As of 2026-10-20
Sources: Microsoft Designer frequently asked questions about microso; Microsoft Designer generate images for your documents with
Pricing
ImageQuarry plans come from its pricing. Microsoft Designer prices are as of October 2026, from designer.microsoft.com. Credits are not comparable across products, because each vendor defines its own credit. Check the vendor for current pricing.
| ImageQuarry plan | Price | Includes |
|---|---|---|
| Starter | $9 per month | 100 image credits a month; optional metered overage at $0.12 per extra credit, off unless you turn it on |
| Pro | $29 per month | 300 image credits a month; optional metered overage at $0.09 per extra credit, off unless you turn it on |
| Product | Plan | Price | Includes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Microsoft Designer | Designer | $0 | Free to use; a subscription may be required to create more frequently; personal, non-commercial license |
Prices as of 2026-10
About each product
ImageQuarry
ImageQuarry is a conversational AI image workspace. You describe an image or upload one, then ask for specific changes in words, such as new lighting, a different background or an added object. Each change makes a new version and earlier versions are kept, so you can make variations, branch from any version, add reference images and organize the work in projects and a library. You can choose between four image models: Nano Banana 2.1 (the default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst. Plans: Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month, and Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month, with optional metered overage that is off unless you turn it on. Every plan is paid. ImageQuarry has not published output specifications or rights terms yet, and it is not a headshot or background removal tool.
Microsoft Designer
Microsoft Designer is a graphic design tool at designer.microsoft.com that helps you create, design and edit. You describe what you want and it produces custom greeting cards, invitations, images, stickers and collages, and its photo tools erase distractions, blur or remove backgrounds, add frames and upscale a starting image up to 4K. Designs save to the cloud, collages take up to 10 uploads, and one brand kit can be saved at a time. Microsoft says Designer is free to use, that a subscription may be required to create more frequently, and that it is licensed for personal, non-commercial use. It runs on the web, on iOS, iPad and Android, and in Word and PowerPoint.
Which one fits your work
Choose ImageQuarry when
- You want to change an image by describing the change in words
- You keep revising one picture and want each version and branch kept
- Your images are for products, campaigns, interiors or concepts rather than cards
Choose Microsoft Designer when
- You make cards, invitations, stickers or collages for personal use
- You want a no-cost tool, with a subscription only if you create often
- You need upscaling to a published 4K size
- You want images inside Word or PowerPoint
How to try both on the same image
- Start both from the same description of a poster background.
- In Designer, remove or blur the background with its tools; in ImageQuarry, ask in words for a new background on the selected version.
- Ask ImageQuarry for one more change and keep both versions side by side.
- Decide whether you need a design layout or a refined image.
Questions about ImageQuarry vs Microsoft Designer
Can I use Microsoft Designer for commercial work?
Microsoft says Designer is licensed for personal, non-commercial use with your Microsoft account.
Does Microsoft Designer edit images from a written request?
Its FAQ lists tool-based edits such as erasing, background blur or removal, framing and upscaling, and does not describe edits by written request. ImageQuarry is built around asking for changes in words.
What does Microsoft Designer cost?
Microsoft says Designer is free to use and that a subscription may be required for those who want to create more frequently. ImageQuarry starts at $9 a month.
Where can I use Designer?
On the web, in the Designer apps for iOS, iPad and Android, and inside Word and PowerPoint through Copilot.
Sources
Every competitor fact on this page comes from the vendor's own pages, checked on the date shown. Recheck them before you buy.
Checked October 20, 2026
Create an image. Edit it with words. Keep refining.
Change the image, not just the layout
Ask for new lighting, a different background or an added object in words, and keep every version you make along the way.
Start creatingAlready have an account? Sign in