Skip to content

Compare · Last checked October 20, 2026

Leonardo AI vs Midjourney: many models in one app, or one model family

Leonardo.Ai is a web and mobile platform that puts its own models next to third party ones such as FLUX.2 Pro, GPT Image 2.5, Ideogram 4.5 and Nano Banana Pro, with a free plan, upscalers, background removal and a pay as you go API. Midjourney uses its own model family, with V8.2 as default, and adds an Edit model that takes written instructions. Leonardo starts free; Midjourney starts at $10 a month. Pick Leonardo for model choice, apps and an API; pick Midjourney for its documented edit model and sizes.

We make ImageQuarry, which is not one of these two products. We compared Leonardo AI and Midjourney using their own public pages, checked October 20, 2026.

Last updated October 20, 2026

At a glance

Leonardo AIMidjourney
ModelsIts own Phoenix and Lucid models plus third party modelsMidjourney V6 to V8.2 and Niji
Editing with wordsEdit while keeping characters and composition; no wording found on describing a changeEdit model: changes from written instructions
Free start, October 2026Free plan: 150 fast tokens a day, public creationsNo free trial on the website or Discord
Paid entryEssential $12 a monthBasic $10 a month
Apps and APIWeb, iOS, Android, REST API and MCPWebsite, Discord and the niji journey app; no public API found

Leonardo AI and Midjourney: the differences that matter

Which models you can pick

Leonardo's docs list models from several labs, including FLUX.2 Pro, GPT Image 2, Ideogram 3.0 and 4.5, Nano Banana Pro and Seedream, next to its own Phoenix and Lucid models. Midjourney offers its own versions, from V6 to V8.2, plus Niji.

Describing an edit in words

Midjourney's Edit model is documented to make changes to an existing image using written instructions and up to 4 reference images. Leonardo's homepage says you can edit while preserving characters, composition and style, but the pages read show no wording about describing a change in words.

Trying before paying

Leonardo has a Free plan with 150 fast tokens a day, on which creations are public. Midjourney says no free trial is currently available on its website or Discord.

Who owns the images

Leonardo says paid subscribers retain full ownership of what they generate, while on the free tier Leonardo holds rights to use the images and grants a royalty free licence. Midjourney lets subscribers use their images in just about any way, and requires Pro or Mega for companies above $1,000,000 in yearly revenue.

Documented sizes

Midjourney documents output sizes from 1024 x 1024 up to 2048 x 2048 with HD or its upscalers. Leonardo names Pro Upscaler Precise and Creative and background removal, without a maximum size on the pages read.

Leonardo AI vs Midjourney, side by side

Checked against each vendor's public pages on October 20, 2026. "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it is not a claim that the feature is missing.

TopicLeonardo AIMidjourney
Reference imagesUp to 6 image guidance references on paid plansUp to 4 references in the Edit model
Train your own modelTrain or fine tune from about 10 to 20 imagesNot stated
Workspace toolsRealtime Canvas, Flow State, Blueprints, collectionsEditor, Organize page, Draft mode
Private imagesPrivate creations on paid plansStealth Mode on Pro and Mega
Yearly billing$10 to $48 a month, up to 20% off$8 to $96 a month, 20% off
Team plansStarter $72 and Growth $144 a monthNot stated
VideoKling 3.0, Veo 3.1, Seedance 2.0 and Motion 2.0Video generation alongside images

As of 2026-10-20

Sources: Leonardo AI page (Wayback capture); Leonardo AI homepage; Leonardo AI page (Wayback capture); Leonardo AI pricing and plans faq.md; Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture); Midjourney page (Wayback capture)

Pricing

Prices as of October 2026, from each vendor's own pages. Credits are not comparable across products, because each vendor defines its own credit. Check the vendor for current pricing.

ProductPlanPriceIncludes
Leonardo AIFree$0 per month150 fast tokens a day, public creations
Leonardo AIEssential$12 per month, billed monthly8,500 fast tokens a month
Leonardo AIPremium$30 per month, billed monthly25,000 fast tokens a month
Leonardo AIUltimate$60 per month, billed monthly60,000 fast tokens a month
Leonardo AIEssential, Premium, Ultimate (yearly)$10, $24, $48 per month, billed yearlyUp to 20% off
MidjourneyBasic$10 per month, billed monthly3.3 hours of fast GPU time a month
MidjourneyStandard$30 per month, billed monthly15 hours fast GPU time, relax mode
MidjourneyPro$60 per month, billed monthly30 hours fast GPU time, Stealth Mode
MidjourneyMega$120 per month, billed monthly60 hours fast GPU time, Stealth Mode
MidjourneyBasic, Standard, Pro, Mega (annual)$96, $288, $576, $1,152 per year, paid upfront20% discount

Prices as of 2026-10

About each product

Leonardo AI

Leonardo.Ai describes itself as a creator-first generative AI platform for images and video. It offers its own models and many third party image models, image guidance references, model training from a small image set, Realtime Canvas and Flow State, upscalers and background removal. The Free plan gives 150 fast tokens a day with public creations; Essential, Premium and Ultimate cost $12, $30 and $60 a month. It runs on web, iOS and Android, with a pay as you go API.

Midjourney

Midjourney is a subscription image and video generator on midjourney.com and Discord. Its Edit model changes images from written instructions and references, its Editor works on your own uploads too, and Draft mode explores 24 images at once. Plans cost $10, $30, $60 and $120 a month, all with General Commercial Terms, and there is no free trial on the website.

Which one fits your work

Choose Leonardo AI when

  • You want many image models from different labs in one place
  • You want a free plan to start
  • You need iOS and Android apps or an API
  • You want to train a model on your own small image set

Choose Midjourney when

  • You want an edit model documented to take written instructions
  • You want known output sizes up to 2048 x 2048
  • You prefer one model family with versioned releases
  • You work in Discord

Where ImageQuarry fits

ImageQuarry is aimed at the step after the first generation: you ask for a specific change in words, such as different lighting or a new background, and get a new version while the earlier ones stay. Like Leonardo it offers more than one model, four in total with Nano Banana 2.1 as the default, and it organizes the work in projects. Plans are paid, Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month or Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month.

Questions about Leonardo AI vs Midjourney

Does Leonardo AI use Midjourney's model?

No. Leonardo lists its own Phoenix and Lucid models and third party models such as FLUX.2 Pro, GPT Image 2.5, Ideogram 4.5 and Nano Banana Pro. Midjourney's models are available only in Midjourney.

Which is cheaper to start with?

Leonardo has a Free plan with 150 fast tokens a day. Midjourney has no free trial on its website, and Basic costs $10 a month, as of October 2026.

Can I keep my images private?

Leonardo makes creations private on its paid plans; free tier creations are public. Midjourney keeps images private with Stealth Mode on Pro and Mega.

Who owns what I make?

Leonardo says paid subscribers retain full ownership; free tier users get a royalty free licence while Leonardo holds usage rights. Midjourney lets subscribers use their images in just about any way, with Pro or Mega required for companies above $1M in yearly revenue.

Create an image. Edit it with words. Keep refining.

Ask for the change, keep the original

With ImageQuarry you select a version, describe what should change and what to keep, and every earlier version stays available.

Start creatingAlready have an account? Sign in