Skip to content

Compare · Last checked October 20, 2026

ChatGPT Images vs Leonardo AI: a chat or a creative platform

ChatGPT makes and edits images inside a conversation: you ask, attach a reference, select an area and describe the change, and image creation comes with the wider ChatGPT plan. Leonardo AI is a dedicated studio with many models, including GPT Image 2.5, plus upscalers, background removal, custom model training, mobile apps and an API. Choose ChatGPT when images are one task among many. Choose Leonardo when images are the job and you want more controls.

We make ImageQuarry, which is not one of these two products. We compared ChatGPT and Leonardo AI using their own public pages, checked October 20, 2026.

Last updated October 20, 2026

At a glance

ChatGPTLeonardo AI
Where you createInside a ChatGPT conversationA dedicated web app plus iOS and Android apps
Editing with wordsAsk ChatGPT to edit; select an area and describe the changeEditing that preserves characters and composition; typed instructions not described
Model choiceBuilt in GPT Image modelMany models, including GPT Image 2.5, FLUX.2 Pro and Nano Banana
Paid entryGo $8 a month, Plus $20Essential $12 a month
Free useLimited image creation on Free150 fast tokens a day, public creations

ChatGPT and Leonardo AI: the differences that matter

A conversation or a studio

In ChatGPT you ask for an image or an edit in the same chat, attach a reference, and switch to a Canvas view to comment on specific images. Leonardo is a studio with a choice of models, a Realtime Canvas, upscalers, background removal and custom model training.

Choosing a model

OpenAI's image guide says built in generation in ChatGPT uses its own GPT Image model. Leonardo lets you pick among many models, including GPT Image 2.5, so OpenAI's model is one option there next to Ideogram, FLUX and Nano Banana.

Region edits by description

ChatGPT lets you select an area of an image and describe the change for that area, and its September 2026 release notes, as indexed by search, describe more precise editing. Leonardo describes preserving characters, composition and style while you edit.

What the subscription covers

A ChatGPT plan pays for the whole assistant, with image creation as one feature; Plus adds image generation with Thinking. A Leonardo plan pays for creative tools: fast tokens, a token bank, private creations and personal models.

Upscaling and API

Leonardo includes Pro upscalers and sells a pay as you go API. OpenAI sells its image API separately from ChatGPT plans.

ChatGPT vs Leonardo AI, side by side

Checked against each vendor's public pages on October 20, 2026. "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it is not a claim that the feature is missing.

TopicChatGPTLeonardo AI
Reference imagesAttach one or a small setUp to 6 image guidance references on paid plans
UpscalerNot statedPro Upscaler Precise and Creative
VideoNot statedYes: Kling 3.0, Veo 3.1, Motion 2.0
Top individual planPro from $100 a monthUltimate $60 a month
Team planBusiness $25 per user monthly or $20 billed annuallyTeam Starter $72 a month
PlatformsWeb, iOS, Android, desktopWeb, iOS, Android, API, MCP

As of 2026-10-20

Sources: ChatGPT page (Wayback capture); ChatGPT image generation.md; ChatGPT 6825453 chatgpt release notes; ChatGPT page (Wayback capture); ChatGPT pricing; ChatGPT space.md; Leonardo AI page (Wayback capture); Leonardo AI homepage; Leonardo AI page (Wayback capture); Leonardo AI pricing and plans faq.md

Pricing

Prices as of October 2026, from each vendor's own pages. Credits are not comparable across products, because each vendor defines its own credit. Check the vendor for current pricing.

ProductPlanPriceIncludes
ChatGPTFree$0 per monthLimited image creation
ChatGPTGo$8 per monthMore image creation
ChatGPTPlus$20 per monthMore complex and accurate image creation; image generation with Thinking
ChatGPTProFrom $100 per monthPlans at $100, $200 or $500 a month; image generation with Thinking
ChatGPTBusiness$20 per user per month, billed annually$25 per user per month when billed monthly; 2+ users
Leonardo AIFree$0 per month150 fast tokens a day, public creations
Leonardo AIEssential$12 per month, billed monthly8,500 fast tokens a month
Leonardo AIPremium$30 per month, billed monthly25,000 fast tokens a month
Leonardo AIUltimate$60 per month, billed monthly60,000 fast tokens a month
Leonardo AIEssential, Premium, Ultimate (yearly)$10, $24, $48 per month, billed yearlyUp to 20% off

Prices as of 2026-10

About each product

ChatGPT

ChatGPT Images is image generation and editing inside ChatGPT. OpenAI's guide says you can ask for an image or an edit, attach references, select an area and describe the change, and comment on images in a Canvas view. Plans as of October 2026: Free with limited image creation, Go at $8, Plus at $20 and Pro from $100 a month, on web, iOS, Android and desktop.

Leonardo AI

Leonardo.Ai is a creator platform for images and video with many image models, from GPT Image 2.5 and FLUX.2 Pro to its own Lucid line. It adds upscalers, background removal, image guidance references, custom model training and a pay as you go API. Its pricing page captured on October 3, 2026 listed Essential at $12, Premium at $30 and Ultimate at $60 a month, plus a Free plan.

Which one fits your work

Choose ChatGPT when

  • You already pay for ChatGPT and want images in the same chat
  • You edit by selecting an area and describing it
  • You want images, writing and analysis under one subscription

Choose Leonardo AI when

  • You want to pick a different model for each job
  • You need upscaling, background removal and video in one studio
  • You train custom models on your own images
  • You want a token bank for heavier months

Where ImageQuarry fits

ImageQuarry shares the habit of asking for changes in words but keeps it in an image workspace: versions are saved, you can branch from an earlier one, and projects hold the prompts and references. It also lets you choose among four models, with Nano Banana 2.1 as the default.

Questions about ChatGPT vs Leonardo AI

Can Leonardo AI use the ChatGPT image model?

Leonardo's docs list GPT Image 2 and GPT Image 2.5 among its image models, as of October 2026.

Which one edits an image from a description?

ChatGPT lets you describe the change, including for a selected area. Leonardo's homepage describes editing that preserves composition and style; the pages read did not describe typed edit instructions.

Is there a no cost option for each?

ChatGPT Free includes limited image creation. Leonardo's Free plan gives 150 fast tokens a day with public creations.

Do I need a separate plan for API use?

Yes for both. OpenAI sells its image API separately from ChatGPT plans, and Leonardo's docs say API access is separate from web app subscriptions.

Create an image. Edit it with words. Keep refining.

Choose the place you want to work

If images are one task among many, the chat may be enough; if images are the job, a studio gives you more controls. Try a real edit in each.

Start creatingAlready have an account? Sign in