Compare · Last checked October 20, 2026
ImageQuarry vs starryai: style library or conversation
starryai is an AI image generator on the web, iOS and Android with "1000's of styles", upscaling, background removal and a daily allowance of images without a watermark. Edits and transformations cost Lumens, its in app currency. ImageQuarry is built around the conversation after the first image: select a version, describe the change and keep every earlier version. Pick starryai for a big style library, phone apps and a daily allowance at no cost. Pick ImageQuarry when the work is a series of specific changes to one picture.
We make ImageQuarry. We compared it with starryai using starryai's own public pages, checked October 20, 2026, and say where starryai does more.
Last updated October 20, 2026
At a glance
| ImageQuarry | starryai | |
|---|---|---|
| Where it runs | The ImageQuarry app in your browser | Web app, App Store and Google Play |
| Getting a look | Describe it, add references, then ask for changes | Choose from a library of styles and models; prompts can be text, image or sketch |
| Changing an image | Ask for a change in words; a new version is made and the old one is kept | Image edits and transformations are paid with Lumens |
| Daily allowance | Every plan is paid | starryai says up to 25 artworks each day without a watermark |
| Rights on output | Not published | starryai: "You own the copyright to your creations", for commercial and non-commercial use |
ImageQuarry and starryai: the differences that matter
Styles first or instructions first
starryai leads with its style library: "Choose from 1000's of styles" with "a vast library of styles and models", and prompts can be text, an image or a sketch. ImageQuarry leads with direction: you describe what you want and then name the change, such as "Add a sharp beam of sunlight from above."
Phones and a daily allowance
starryai offers installs from the App Store and Google Play, and its generator page says you can make up to 25 artworks each day without a watermark. Its homepage also gives new accounts 5 lumens. ImageQuarry plans are paid, starting with Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month.
Clear rights on output
starryai's license page says "You own the copyright to your creations" and allows commercial and non-commercial purposes, with limits from its content policy and the CreativeML Open RAIL-M use restrictions. ImageQuarry has not published rights terms yet.
What happens to earlier attempts
In ImageQuarry each change makes a new version, earlier versions stay in the workspace with their prompts and references, and you can branch from any of them. starryai says it stores your art indefinitely; its pages do not describe a version history for edits.
Upscaling and extras
starryai lists Enhance Images, Upscale, Remove Background and Reimagine, and its help center describes 4x upscaling for Unlimited Pro, with 8x and 16x upscales and video costing Lumens.
ImageQuarry vs starryai, side by side
Checked against starryai's public pages on October 20, 2026. "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it is not a claim that the feature is missing. "Not published" means ImageQuarry has not published that detail.
| Topic | ImageQuarry | starryai |
|---|---|---|
| Starting point | Describe the image in plain language, or upload an image and describe how you want it changed | Text, image or sketch prompts |
| Editing with words | Select a version and ask for a change in words: lighting, background, an added object, composition or color | Image edits or transformations, paid with Lumens; wording of the editor not captured |
| Reference images | Add one or more source and reference images to guide material, color, light or shape | An image can be the prompt |
| Versions, variations and branching | Each change makes a new version and earlier versions are kept; make variations and branch from any version | Not stated |
| Projects and library | Projects and a persistent library that keep prompts, references and versions together | Art stored indefinitely; folder or project features not stated |
| Image models | Nano Banana 2.1 (default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst | A library of styles and models; model names not given |
| Output resolution and formats | Not published | Canvas size chosen before generation; downloads described as high resolution, no maximum stated |
| Commercial use terms | Not published | You own the copyright; commercial use allowed within its content policy |
| Price | Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month; Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month; optional metered overage, off unless you turn it on; every plan is paid | Daily images at no cost; Pro and Lumen pack prices load in the app (October 2026) |
As of 2026-10-20
Sources: starryai homepage; starryai ai image generator; starryai 13758350 why am i seeing a out of lumens; starryai license; starryai 3457076 starryai pro lumens; starryai 13743070 quick start editing an image; starryai 6200334 how long does starryai keep my c; starryai 3457073 ai art generation
Pricing
ImageQuarry plans come from its pricing. starryai prices are as of October 2026, from starryai.com. Credits are not comparable across products, because each vendor defines its own credit. Check the vendor for current pricing.
| ImageQuarry plan | Price | Includes |
|---|---|---|
| Starter | $9 per month | 100 image credits a month; optional metered overage at $0.12 per extra credit, off unless you turn it on |
| Pro | $29 per month | 300 image credits a month; optional metered overage at $0.09 per extra credit, off unless you turn it on |
| Product | Plan | Price | Includes |
|---|---|---|---|
| starryai | Free | USD 0 | Up to 25 artworks each day without a watermark, per the generator page; the homepage says new accounts get 5 lumens (25 AI images) |
| starryai | Pro and Lumen packs | Not published per monthly or annual | Prices load inside the starryai app; no static page states them |
Prices as of 2026-10
About each product
ImageQuarry
ImageQuarry is a conversational AI image workspace. You describe an image or upload one, then ask for specific changes in words, such as new lighting, a different background or an added object. Each change makes a new version and earlier versions are kept, so you can make variations, branch from any version, add reference images and organize the work in projects and a library. You can choose between four image models: Nano Banana 2.1 (the default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst. Plans: Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month, and Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month, with optional metered overage that is off unless you turn it on. Every plan is paid. ImageQuarry has not published output specifications or rights terms yet, and it is not a headshot or background removal tool.
starryai
starryai calls itself "The easiest way to generate AI Images" and runs on the web, iOS and Android. Its generator page offers styles and models, text, image or sketch prompts, a chosen canvas size and downloads described as high resolution, and it says your art is stored indefinitely. The homepage adds Enhance, Upscale, Remove Background and Reimagine. Edits, video and the larger upscales spend Lumens, and Unlimited Pro members can buy extra Lumens at half price. Pro can be bought on Apple, Google Play or the web, and web purchases are refundable within 7 days if less than 5% of Lumens were used. starryai says it has "1M+" active creators and "150M+" images generated; these are its own figures.
Which one fits your work
Choose ImageQuarry when
- You want to name the change you need, one sentence at a time
- You want earlier versions kept so you can return to them
- You want to add your own reference images to steer material, color or light
- You want to choose between four named image models
Choose starryai when
- You want a large style library to browse before you write anything
- You want to create on iOS or Android as well as the web
- You want a daily allowance of images at no cost
- You want a stated copyright position on what you make
How to try both on the same image
- Choose a scene you need, such as a cozy reading corner or a poster background.
- In starryai, pick a style that fits and generate a set, then try an upscale on the one you like.
- In ImageQuarry, describe the same scene and ask for two follow up changes, for example "Move the color into ultramarine and coral."
- Compare what each gives you: a styled set to choose from, or one image refined through a chain of versions.
Questions about ImageQuarry vs starryai
Does starryai have phone apps?
Yes. starryai offers its app on the App Store and Google Play as well as the web.
How many images can I make on starryai without paying?
starryai's generator page says up to 25 artworks each day without a watermark, and its homepage gives new accounts 5 lumens. ImageQuarry plans are paid.
Who owns starryai images?
starryai's license page says you own the copyright to your creations and can use them commercially, within its content policy.
How do I change part of an image in ImageQuarry?
Select the version you want to change and describe the change, for example a new background or warmer light. ImageQuarry makes a new version and keeps the earlier one.
What do Lumens pay for on starryai?
starryai's help center lists image edits or transformations, video generation and higher upscales of 8x and 16x.
Sources
Every competitor fact on this page comes from the vendor's own pages, checked on the date shown. Recheck them before you buy.
Checked October 20, 2026
Create an image. Edit it with words. Keep refining.
Turn one picture into the right one
Describe what you need, ask for the next change in plain words and keep every version along the way.
Start creatingAlready have an account? Sign in