Compare · Last checked October 20, 2026
ImageQuarry vs Playground: merch and template design, or conversational image editing
Playground has changed direction. Playground.com now redirects to playgroundai.com, which sells "The AI design studio for everyone" for stickers, merch, posters and logos, with thousands of templates, tap-to-fix tools and a free tier. ImageQuarry is a general purpose image workspace: you describe an image or upload one, ask for changes in words, and keep every version with its prompt and references. Choose Playground for print-ready designs, mockups and print-on-demand connections. Choose ImageQuarry when the job is a picture you keep refining through conversation.
We make ImageQuarry. We compared it with Playground using Playground's own public pages, checked October 20, 2026, and say where Playground does more.
Last updated October 20, 2026
At a glance
| ImageQuarry | Playground | |
|---|---|---|
| What it is built for | Creating and refining images of any subject through a conversation | Designs for stickers, merch, posters and logos, with templates across 24 categories |
| How you change an image | Ask for a specific change in words; each request makes a new version | Tap a tool and name what you want: swap style, remove object, add to mockup, smart layers |
| Models | Nano Banana 2.1 (default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst | Playground lists GPT Image 2, Nano Banana Pro and Seedream, plus Muse Image and Playground v3 in its footer |
| Entry price | Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month | Free tier with up to 10 images every 3 hours; Pro $15 a month or $12 a month billed annually (October 2026) |
| Rights terms | Not published | A "World-wide, royalty free license" on all plans, including Free |
ImageQuarry and Playground: the differences that matter
A picture workspace or a product design studio
Playground now positions itself around finished designs: stickers, t-shirts, posters and anything headed to print, with mockups and Etsy, Printify and Printful connections. ImageQuarry is general purpose: product shots, campaign visuals, editorial portraits, interiors and concept art, each refined as an image rather than laid out as merchandise.
Named tools or a conversation with versions
Playground edits through named tools such as Swap style, Remove object, Background Removal, Upscale and AI Resize, and says every fix is non-destructive. In ImageQuarry you select a version and describe the change, for example "Add a sharp beam of sunlight from above", and the result becomes a new version beside the earlier ones.
Templates and merch output
Playground offers thousands of templates across 24 categories and mockups for products. If you start from a layout and need a sticker or shirt design ready to sell, that head start is the reason to pick Playground.
Free tier and published rights
Playground has a free tier (up to 10 images every 3 hours and 2 downloads a day) and states a worldwide royalty free license on every plan, with "You own the images you create on Playground" in its FAQ. ImageQuarry plans are paid only, and its rights terms are not published yet.
Keeping the trail of how an image was made
ImageQuarry keeps the prompt, the uploaded source, the references, each change and every version together, and lets you branch from any earlier version. Playground describes non-destructive fixes but its pages do not describe a version history you can branch from.
ImageQuarry vs Playground, side by side
Checked against Playground's public pages on October 20, 2026. "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it is not a claim that the feature is missing. "Not published" means ImageQuarry has not published that detail.
| Topic | ImageQuarry | Playground |
|---|---|---|
| Starting point | Describe the image in plain language, or upload an image and describe how you want it changed | A prompt or one of thousands of templates; "Turn any idea into stickers, merch, posters" |
| Editing with words | Select a version and ask for a change in words: lighting, background, an added object, composition or color | Tap a tool and name what you want: Swap style, Remove object, Add to mockup, Smart layers, Background Removal, Upscale, AI Resize |
| Reference images | Add one or more source and reference images to guide material, color, light or shape | Not stated |
| Versions, variations and branching | Each change makes a new version and earlier versions are kept; make variations and branch from any version | Fixes are described as non-destructive "so you can keep tweaking"; version branching not stated |
| Projects and library | Projects and a persistent library that keep prompts, references and versions together | Not stated |
| Image models | Nano Banana 2.1 (default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst | GPT Image 2, Nano Banana Pro and Seedream; footer also lists Muse Image, GPT Image 2.5, Nano Banana and Playground v3 |
| Output resolution and formats | Not published | Pro edits up to 2048x2048 with GPT Image 2 and 2.5; Pro Plus up to 3840x2160 |
| Commercial use terms | Not published | Commercial use on all plans: "World-wide, royalty free license" |
| Price | Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month; Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month; optional metered overage, off unless you turn it on; every plan is paid | Free; Pro $15 a month ($12 billed annually); Pro Plus $45 a month ($36 billed annually), as of October 2026 |
As of 2026-10-20
Sources: Playground homepage; Playground homepage; Playground pricing
Pricing
ImageQuarry plans come from its pricing. Playground prices are as of October 2026, from playground.com, redirects to playgroundai.com. Credits are not comparable across products, because each vendor defines its own credit. Check the vendor for current pricing.
| ImageQuarry plan | Price | Includes |
|---|---|---|
| Starter | $9 per month | 100 image credits a month; optional metered overage at $0.12 per extra credit, off unless you turn it on |
| Pro | $29 per month | 300 image credits a month; optional metered overage at $0.09 per extra credit, off unless you turn it on |
| Product | Plan | Price | Includes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Playground | Free | $0 per month | Up to 10 images every 3 hours, 3 monthly generations on premium models, 2 downloads per day |
| Playground | Pro | $15 per month, billed monthly | 150 monthly credits, 75 images every 3 hours, editing up to 2048x2048 |
| Playground | Pro | $12 per month, billed annually ($144 a year) | Same as Pro monthly |
| Playground | Pro Plus | $45 per month, billed monthly | 1,000 monthly credits, output up to 3840x2160, priority support and API access |
| Playground | Pro Plus | $36 per month, billed annually ($432 a year) | Same as Pro Plus monthly |
Prices as of 2026-10
About each product
ImageQuarry
ImageQuarry is a conversational AI image workspace. You describe an image or upload one, then ask for specific changes in words, such as new lighting, a different background or an added object. Each change makes a new version and earlier versions are kept, so you can make variations, branch from any version, add reference images and organize the work in projects and a library. You can choose between four image models: Nano Banana 2.1 (the default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst. Plans: Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month, and Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month, with optional metered overage that is off unless you turn it on. Every plan is paid. ImageQuarry has not published output specifications or rights terms yet, and it is not a headshot or background removal tool.
Playground
Playground began as an AI image generator and now sells a design studio. Its site, reached through playground.com, describes "The AI design studio for everyone" and invites you to turn ideas into stickers, merch and posters. Editing works through tools you tap and name, and the pricing page lists a Free plan, Pro at $15 a month (or $144 a year) with 150 monthly credits, and Pro Plus at $45 a month with 1,000 credits, output up to 3840x2160, priority support and API access. It runs on the web and on iOS, with print-on-demand connections for Etsy, Printify and Printful. Playground says it has 13m+ creators in 120 countries; that is the vendor's own figure.
Which one fits your work
Choose ImageQuarry when
- You want to describe an image, then keep changing it in words without starting over
- You need many kinds of pictures (products, campaigns, interiors, concepts), not only merchandise designs
- You want every version kept with its prompt and references, and to branch from an earlier one
Choose Playground when
- You are designing stickers, shirts, posters or logos and want templates and mockups
- You sell through Etsy, Printify or Printful and want Playground's connections to them
- You want to start on a free tier, or need a published royalty free license today
- You need API access, which Playground lists on Pro Plus
How to try both on the same image
- Pick one job you actually have, such as a poster for a launch or a hero image for a product page.
- In Playground, start from a template close to the layout and use its tools to swap the style or remove what you do not want.
- In ImageQuarry, describe the image, then ask for one change at a time ("Warmer light", "Move the color into ultramarine and coral") and compare the versions.
- Keep the result that matches the job: a print-ready design from Playground, or a refined picture from ImageQuarry.
Questions about ImageQuarry vs Playground
Is Playground still an AI image generator?
Playground still creates images, but its site now presents it as an AI design studio for logos, t-shirts, stickers, posters and print-on-demand, and playground.com redirects to playgroundai.com.
Which models does Playground use?
Playground's site says it uses GPT Image 2, Nano Banana Pro and Seedream, and its footer also lists Muse Image, GPT Image 2.5, Nano Banana and Playground v3.
Which models can I choose in ImageQuarry?
Four: Nano Banana 2.1, which is the default, Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst. You can switch model when you want a different result for the same request.
Does Playground have a free plan?
Yes. As of October 2026 its Free plan allows up to 10 images every 3 hours and 2 downloads per day; its comparison table lists a different Playground v3 limit, so check the page.
How is ImageQuarry priced?
Every plan is paid: Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month, or Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month. Optional metered overage is off unless you turn it on.
Sources
Every competitor fact on this page comes from the vendor's own pages, checked on the date shown. Recheck them before you buy.
Checked October 20, 2026
Create an image. Edit it with words. Keep refining.
Keep refining one image instead of starting a new design
Describe the picture, ask for the change in words, and keep every version you make along the way.
Start creatingAlready have an account? Sign in