Compare · Last checked October 20, 2026
ImageQuarry vs Clipdrop: utilities or a creative thread
Clipdrop is a set of single purpose AI tools: background removal, cleanup, uncrop, relight, an upscaler up to 16x on Pro and Stable Diffusion text to image. It was sold to Jasper in February 2024, and its header now points to Jasper for newer models. ImageQuarry is one workspace where you describe or upload, ask for changes in words and keep every version. Choose Clipdrop for quick fixes with a daily allowance at no cost. Choose ImageQuarry when one image needs many connected changes.
We make ImageQuarry. We compared it with Clipdrop using Clipdrop's own public pages, checked October 20, 2026, and say where Clipdrop does more.
Last updated October 20, 2026
At a glance
| ImageQuarry | Clipdrop | |
|---|---|---|
| Kind of tool | One workspace for creating and editing through conversation | A menu of single purpose tools |
| Editing by instruction | Select a version and describe the change | Not described; Replace background is prompt driven |
| Fixes in one click | Ask for a change such as a new background or lighting | Remove background, cleanup, relight, upscale, text remover |
| Daily allowance | Every plan is paid | Clipdrop: 20 uses per 24 hours for several tools at no cost |
| Owner | ImageQuarry | Jasper, since February 2024 |
ImageQuarry and Clipdrop: the differences that matter
Fast fixes for single problems
Clipdrop lists a Universal Resizer, Replace and Remove background, Cleanup, Uncrop, an upscaler, Relight and a Text remover, each a focused tool. When the job is one fix, such as removing text or relighting a photo, that focus is quick and simple.
Connected changes
ImageQuarry treats editing as a conversation: each request builds on the version you selected, and earlier versions stay so you can go back. Clipdrop's text to image flow is to "retry until you find the perfect picture", and its pages describe no instruction editing of a generated image.
A daily allowance at no cost
Clipdrop's pricing lists background removal, the 2x upscaler, cleanup and relight at 20 uses per 24 hours, and the text remover at 50, with no payment. ImageQuarry plans are paid: Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month.
Where development is heading
Clipdrop's FAQ says InitML was bought by Stability in February 2023 and sold to Jasper in February 2024, and its header links to Jasper for "newer models". If you want a product focused on its own roadmap for image work, weigh that history.
Commercial use stated
Clipdrop says its terms "do not limit your ability to use images generated on ClipDrop for commercial use". ImageQuarry has not published rights terms yet.
ImageQuarry vs Clipdrop, side by side
Checked against Clipdrop's public pages on October 20, 2026. "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it is not a claim that the feature is missing. "Not published" means ImageQuarry has not published that detail.
| Topic | ImageQuarry | Clipdrop |
|---|---|---|
| Starting point | Describe the image in plain language, or upload an image and describe how you want it changed | Text to image (four pictures per prompt) or an uploaded photo for each tool |
| Editing with words | Select a version and ask for a change in words: lighting, background, an added object, composition or color | Not stated for instructions; Replace background takes a description of the new scene |
| Reference images | Add one or more source and reference images to guide material, color, light or shape | Not stated |
| Versions, variations and branching | Each change makes a new version and earlier versions are kept; make variations and branch from any version | Four alternatives per text to image or background request |
| Projects and library | Projects and a persistent library that keep prompts, references and versions together | Not stated |
| Image models | Nano Banana 2.1 (default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst | Stable Diffusion for text to image; header links to newer models at Jasper |
| Output resolution and formats | Not published | Aspect ratios 21:9, 16:9, 1:1, 4:5, 9:16; upscaler up to x16 on Pro |
| Commercial use terms | Not published | Terms do not limit commercial use of generated images |
| Price | Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month; Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month; optional metered overage, off unless you turn it on; every plan is paid | Daily allowance at no cost; Pro price shown as a placeholder (October 2026) |
As of 2026-10-20
Sources: Clipdrop homepage; Clipdrop text to image; Clipdrop replace background; Clipdrop pricing; Clipdrop apis; Clipdrop cleanup; Clipdrop image upscaler; Clipdrop remove background; Clipdrop uncrop
Pricing
ImageQuarry plans come from its pricing. Clipdrop prices are as of October 2026, from clipdrop.co. Credits are not comparable across products, because each vendor defines its own credit. Check the vendor for current pricing.
| ImageQuarry plan | Price | Includes |
|---|---|---|
| Starter | $9 per month | 100 image credits a month; optional metered overage at $0.12 per extra credit, off unless you turn it on |
| Pro | $29 per month | 300 image credits a month; optional metered overage at $0.09 per extra credit, off unless you turn it on |
| Product | Plan | Price | Includes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Clipdrop | Free | USD 0 | Background removal, 2x upscaler, cleanup and relight at 20 uses each per 24 hours |
| Clipdrop | Pro | Not shown per month | Each tool 1,000 uses per 24 hours, skip queue, x16 upscaler; the price displays as a dash placeholder on the pricing page |
Prices as of 2026-10
About each product
ImageQuarry
ImageQuarry is a conversational AI image workspace. You describe an image or upload one, then ask for specific changes in words, such as new lighting, a different background or an added object. Each change makes a new version and earlier versions are kept, so you can make variations, branch from any version, add reference images and organize the work in projects and a library. You can choose between four image models: Nano Banana 2.1 (the default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst. Plans: Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month, and Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month, with optional metered overage that is off unless you turn it on. Every plan is paid. ImageQuarry has not published output specifications or rights terms yet, and it is not a headshot or background removal tool.
Clipdrop
Clipdrop is run under InitML, which Stability bought in February 2023 and sold to Jasper in February 2024. Its site lists a Universal Resizer, text to image, background replacement and removal, Cleanup, Uncrop, an image upscaler, Relight and a Text remover. Text to image uses Stable Diffusion, offers 15 styles and returns four pictures, and Replace background returns four alternatives from a described scene. Pro raises each tool to 1,000 uses per 24 hours and the upscaler to x16, though the Pro price shows only as a placeholder on the pricing page. An API is now offered through Jasper, and a Photoshop plugin is available.
Which one fits your work
Choose ImageQuarry when
- One image needs several connected changes, not one fix
- You want each change kept as a version you can go back to
- You want to start from a description as well as from a photo
- You want to choose between four named image models
Choose Clipdrop when
- You need a single quick fix such as cleanup, relight or text removal
- You want a daily allowance of uses at no cost
- You want an upscaler up to x16
- You want a Photoshop plugin or an API through Jasper
How to try both on the same image
- Take one photo with a distracting background and flat light.
- In Clipdrop, run Cleanup, then Relight, and download each result.
- In ImageQuarry, upload the same photo and ask for a cleaner background, then warmer light, as two requests.
- Compare the files you end up with and how easily you can go back to an earlier step.
Questions about ImageQuarry vs Clipdrop
Who owns Clipdrop now?
Clipdrop's FAQ says InitML was acquired by Stability in February 2023 and sold to Jasper in February 2024.
Can Clipdrop edit an image from an instruction?
Clipdrop's Replace background takes a description of the new scene. Its pages describe no general instruction editing of a generated image.
How many uses does Clipdrop allow at no cost?
Its pricing page lists 20 uses per 24 hours for background removal, the 2x upscaler, cleanup and relight, and 50 for the text remover.
Does ImageQuarry have one click fixes?
You ask for the fix in words, for example a new background or different lighting, and ImageQuarry makes a new version while keeping the earlier one.
What does Clipdrop Pro cost?
The price shows only as a placeholder on Clipdrop's pricing page as of October 20, 2026. ImageQuarry is Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month or Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month.
Sources
Every competitor fact on this page comes from the vendor's own pages, checked on the date shown. Recheck them before you buy.
Checked October 20, 2026
Create an image. Edit it with words. Keep refining.
One image, many changes
Upload a photo or describe one, then make each change in plain words with every version kept.
Start creatingAlready have an account? Sign in