Skip to content

Compare · Last checked October 20, 2026

ImageQuarry vs Pixlr: two conversational editors compared

Pixlr is a browser photo editor and AI suite with a text to image generator, generative fill and expand, and an Instruct Editor that it calls "a conversational AI image editor". That editor keeps up to 10 versions you can continue from. Plans start at USD 2.49 a month as of October 2026. ImageQuarry is a workspace only for this kind of work: every version kept, branches from any of them, references, and projects. Choose Pixlr for a cheap all round editor with many models. Choose ImageQuarry for longer creative threads.

We make ImageQuarry. We compared it with Pixlr using Pixlr's own public pages, checked October 20, 2026, and say where Pixlr does more.

Last updated October 20, 2026

At a glance

ImageQuarryPixlr
Editing by instructionSelect a version and describe the changePixlr Instruct Editor: type a prompt describing how to transform the image
Version historyEvery version kept, branch from anyPixlr: up to 10 versions in the history stack
Other toolsVariations, references, projects and a libraryPixlr: generative fill and expand, background removal, upscaling up to 25 megapixels, video and audio
Entry priceStarter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a monthPixlr Plus: USD 2.49 a month, or USD 1.99 billed yearly
PlatformsThe ImageQuarry appPixlr: web, iOS, Android and desktop

ImageQuarry and Pixlr: the differences that matter

Close in spirit

Pixlr's Instruct Editor asks you to "Type a natural language prompt describing how you want to transform your image", and you can click a previous version to continue from it. ImageQuarry works the same way at its core, which makes the difference about depth rather than kind.

How much history is kept

Pixlr saves up to 10 versions in its Instruct Editor history stack. ImageQuarry keeps every version with the prompt, sources, references and conversation that produced it, and lets you branch from any earlier one while keeping the other path.

A low entry price and a broad toolset

Pixlr Plus costs USD 2.49 a month, or USD 1.99 a month billed yearly, and Premium USD 9.99 a month, as of October 2026, and the suite covers generative fill, expand, background removal, upscaling, video and audio. For a cheap all purpose editor that is hard to match.

Many models

Pixlr lists Flux variants, Stable Diffusion XL and Nano Banana 2 in its generator, and models such as Recraft V4, Qwen, Seedream and Grok Imagine on its homepage. ImageQuarry offers four named models: Nano Banana 2.1, Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst.

Starting with no account

Pixlr says its free version works without an account and gives new users 20 images using 20 credits. ImageQuarry starts with an account and a paid plan.

ImageQuarry vs Pixlr, side by side

Checked against Pixlr's public pages on October 20, 2026. "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it is not a claim that the feature is missing. "Not published" means ImageQuarry has not published that detail.

TopicImageQuarryPixlr
Starting pointDescribe the image in plain language, or upload an image and describe how you want it changedText to image with styles and up to 8 images at once, or upload a photo
Editing with wordsSelect a version and ask for a change in words: lighting, background, an added object, composition or colorInstruct Editor from a natural language prompt; Generative Fill on a selection; AI Assistant
Reference imagesAdd one or more source and reference images to guide material, color, light or shapeReference image upload in the generator
Versions, variations and branchingEach change makes a new version and earlier versions are kept; make variations and branch from any versionUp to 10 versions in the Instruct Editor history
Projects and libraryProjects and a persistent library that keep prompts, references and versions togetherNot stated
Image modelsNano Banana 2.1 (default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 SunburstFlux variants, Stable Diffusion XL, Nano Banana 2, Recraft V4, Qwen, Seedream, Grok Imagine and more
Output resolution and formatsNot publishedFive aspect ratios; Super Scale up to 25 megapixels
Commercial use termsNot publishedCommercial use allowed for text to image generations; terms grant Pixlr a license to content you publish on the platform
PriceStarter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month; Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month; optional metered overage, off unless you turn it on; every plan is paidPlus USD 2.49 a month; Premium USD 9.99; Ultra from USD 24.99 (October 2026)

As of 2026-10-20

Sources: Pixlr homepage; Pixlr image generator; Pixlr image instruct editor; Pixlr pricing; Pixlr terms of use

Pricing

ImageQuarry plans come from its pricing. Pixlr prices are as of October 2026, from pixlr.com. Credits are not comparable across products, because each vendor defines its own credit. Check the vendor for current pricing.

ImageQuarry planPriceIncludes
Starter$9 per month100 image credits a month; optional metered overage at $0.12 per extra credit, off unless you turn it on
Pro$29 per month300 image credits a month; optional metered overage at $0.09 per extra credit, off unless you turn it on
ProductPlanPriceIncludes
PixlrPlusUSD 2.49 per month, billed monthly80 monthly AI credits, ad free
PixlrPlusUSD 1.99 per month, billed yearly960 credits for the year
PixlrPremiumUSD 9.99 per month, billed monthly1,000 monthly AI credits, all image, video and audio models, private mode
PixlrPremiumUSD 7.99 per month, billed yearly12,000 credits for the year
PixlrUltrafrom USD 24.99 per month, billed monthlyUp to 10,000 monthly credits, priority queue, extended high-res exports
PixlrUltrafrom USD 19.99 per month, billed yearlySame as Ultra monthly

Prices as of 2026-10

About each product

ImageQuarry

ImageQuarry is a conversational AI image workspace. You describe an image or upload one, then ask for specific changes in words, such as new lighting, a different background or an added object. Each change makes a new version and earlier versions are kept, so you can make variations, branch from any version, add reference images and organize the work in projects and a library. You can choose between four image models: Nano Banana 2.1 (the default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst. Plans: Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month, and Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month, with optional metered overage that is off unless you turn it on. Every plan is paid. ImageQuarry has not published output specifications or rights terms yet, and it is not a headshot or background removal tool.

Pixlr

Pixlr, from Pixlr Pte Ltd, calls itself "a powerful AI photo editor, AI image generator, AI video maker, face swap, collage maker, and 20+ editing tools" in the browser. Its Instruct Editor charges 1, 3 or 5 credits per edit depending on quality, and its FAQ promises unlimited editing on Plus while the pricing page lists 80 monthly credits for Plus, a contradiction worth checking. Plans run from Plus to Ultra MAX, with yearly billing below the monthly rate, and Premium adds private mode for AI generations. It runs on the web, iOS, Android and desktop, and offers Pixlr Agent for multi step workflows.

Which one fits your work

Choose ImageQuarry when

  • You want every version kept, not the last 10
  • You want to branch from an earlier version and keep both paths
  • You want projects and a library for finished work
  • You want to add reference images to steer each change

Choose Pixlr when

  • You want the lowest monthly price for an AI photo editor
  • You want classic editing tools, video and audio in the same suite
  • You want apps on iOS, Android and desktop
  • You want to start without creating an account

How to try both on the same image

  1. Upload one portrait or product photo to both tools.
  2. In Pixlr's Instruct Editor, ask for a change, then click an earlier version in the history to try another direction.
  3. In ImageQuarry, ask for the same change and branch from the first version to try the alternative.
  4. After five or six edits, see which history still gives you every step you might return to.

Questions about ImageQuarry vs Pixlr

Is Pixlr a conversational editor?

Pixlr calls its Instruct Editor "a conversational AI image editor": you type a natural language prompt describing the change.

How many versions does Pixlr keep?

Pixlr says its Instruct Editor saves up to 10 versions that you can continue from or download.

How many versions does ImageQuarry keep?

Every change makes a new version and earlier versions are kept, so you can branch from any of them.

What does Pixlr cost?

Plus is USD 2.49 a month or USD 1.99 billed yearly, Premium USD 9.99 a month and Ultra from USD 24.99, as of October 2026.

Which models does each one use?

Pixlr lists many, including Flux variants, Stable Diffusion XL and Nano Banana 2. ImageQuarry offers Nano Banana 2.1, Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst.

Sources

Every competitor fact on this page comes from the vendor's own pages, checked on the date shown. Recheck them before you buy.

Checked October 20, 2026

Create an image. Edit it with words. Keep refining.

Never lose a version again

Ask for each change in words, keep every version and branch whenever you want to try another direction.

Start creatingAlready have an account? Sign in