Compare · Last checked October 20, 2026
Canva vs Pixlr: design suite or browser photo editor
Canva is a design suite with AI image tools built into layouts for social posts, slides and print. Pixlr is a browser photo editor with an AI suite, including a chat-style Instruct Editor that keeps up to 10 versions you can return to. As of October 2026, Pixlr Plus starts at $2.49 a month billed monthly, while Canva Pro is US$18 month-to-month. Choose Canva for designs, and Pixlr for photo edits and AI generation in the browser.
We make ImageQuarry, which is not one of these two products. We compared Canva and Pixlr using their own public pages, checked October 20, 2026.
Last updated October 20, 2026
At a glance
| Canva | Pixlr | |
|---|---|---|
| Main job | Design suite | Browser photo editor and AI suite |
| Editing with words | Magic Edit: brush an area and describe the change | Instruct Editor: "a conversational AI image editor" |
| Version history | Not stated | Up to 10 versions in the Instruct Editor history |
| Entry paid plan, as of October 2026 | Pro US$18 month-to-month | Plus $2.49 a month billed monthly |
| Platforms | Web, iOS, Android | Web, iOS, Android, Pixlr Desktop |
Canva and Pixlr: the differences that matter
Edit history
Pixlr's Instruct Editor saves up to 10 versions, and you can click any earlier version to continue editing from it or download it. The Canva pages we could read do not describe a version history for Magic Edit.
Designs around the image
Canva places AI images inside a full design editor with layouts for posts, presentations and print, and Canva AI 2.0 lets you type changes to a whole design. Pixlr is a photo editor first, with a collage maker among its 20+ tools.
Model menu
Pixlr's image generator offers Flux Schnell, Flux Dev, Flux Dev Ultra, Stable Diffusion XL and Nano Banana 2, with up to 8 images at once and five aspect ratios. Canva's indexed pages name Google's Nano Banana for Magic Edit only.
Free use
Canva's free plan includes up to 20 AI uses a month, per its indexed pricing page. Pixlr can be used without an account, and new users get 20 images from 20 credits plus a 250-credit trial.
Rights terms
Pixlr's FAQ says it does not retain copyright in text-to-image generations, while its terms grant Pixlr a license over AI content you upload or publish on the platform. Canva's rights terms were not in the indexed pages we read.
Canva vs Pixlr, side by side
Checked against each vendor's public pages on October 20, 2026. "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it is not a claim that the feature is missing.
| Topic | Canva | Pixlr |
|---|---|---|
| Text to image | Standalone generator | Generator with Flux, SDXL and Nano Banana 2 models |
| Editing with words | Magic Edit; Canva AI 2.0 chat | Instruct Editor; AI Assistant |
| Fill and expand | Generative Fill, AI Image Expander | Generative Fill, Generative Expand |
| Upscaling | Image Upscaler | Super Scale up to 25 megapixels |
| Versions | Not stated | Up to 10 versions in the Instruct Editor |
| Platforms | Web, iOS, Android | Web, iOS, Android, desktop |
| Prices, as of October 2026 | Free; Pro US$18 a month; Business US$25 a month | Plus $2.49, Premium $9.99, Ultra from $24.99 a month |
As of 2026-10-20
Sources: Canva canva design assistant; Canva using magic edit; Canva ai photo editing; Canva generate images ai; Canva pricing; Canva ai pass; Canva version history; Canva download file types cn; Pixlr homepage; Pixlr image generator; Pixlr image instruct editor; Pixlr pricing; Pixlr terms of use
Pricing
Prices as of October 2026, from each vendor's own pages. Credits are not comparable across products, because each vendor defines its own credit. Check the vendor for current pricing.
| Product | Plan | Price | Includes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canva | Free | US$0 | Up to 20 uses of Standard or Premium AI tools a month (search indexed text) |
| Canva | Pro | US$12 per person per month, billed yearly (US$144 a year) | US$18 month to month; up to 200 Premium AI uses a month (search indexed text) |
| Canva | Business | US$20.83 per person per month, billed yearly (US$250 a year) | US$25 month to month; up to 400 Premium AI uses a month (search indexed text) |
| Canva | AI Pass add-on | US$100 per person per month | Add-on AI usage (search indexed text) |
| Pixlr | Plus | USD 2.49 per month, billed monthly | 80 monthly AI credits, ad free |
| Pixlr | Plus | USD 1.99 per month, billed yearly | 960 credits for the year |
| Pixlr | Premium | USD 9.99 per month, billed monthly | 1,000 monthly AI credits, all image, video and audio models, private mode |
| Pixlr | Premium | USD 7.99 per month, billed yearly | 12,000 credits for the year |
| Pixlr | Ultra | from USD 24.99 per month, billed monthly | Up to 10,000 monthly credits, priority queue, extended high-res exports |
| Pixlr | Ultra | from USD 19.99 per month, billed yearly | Same as Ultra monthly |
Prices as of 2026-10
About each product
Canva
Canva builds design software for individuals and teams, and its AI features live inside the editor. Indexed copies of its help pages describe Magic Edit, where you brush over part of a photo and describe what to add or replace, and Canva AI 2.0, where you type a change to refine a design. Other tools include Generative Fill, Magic Grab and an AI Image Expander. As of October 2026, Pro is US$18 month-to-month or US$12 a month billed yearly, and Business is US$25 month-to-month.
Pixlr
Pixlr is a browser photo editor from Pixlr Pte Ltd that bundles an AI image generator, video and audio tools and more than 20 editing tools. Its Instruct Editor takes a plain-language request and keeps up to 10 versions in a history stack, and its AI Assistant applies described changes. Generative Fill, Expand and Super Scale cover other edits. As of October 2026, Plus is $2.49 a month, Premium $9.99 and Ultra from $24.99, with lower prices billed yearly. It runs on the web, iOS, Android and desktop.
Which one fits your work
Choose Canva when
- You make posts, slides and print designs, not only photos
- You want to type changes to a whole design in a chat
- Your brand kit already lives in Canva
Choose Pixlr when
- You want a conversational photo editor with a version history
- You want a low monthly price for AI credits
- You want to choose between Flux, SDXL and Nano Banana 2 models
- You also want a desktop app
Where ImageQuarry fits
Like Pixlr's Instruct Editor, ImageQuarry lets you edit by describing changes. In ImageQuarry each change becomes a new version, you can branch from any earlier version, add references to guide material, color or light, and keep the work in projects and a library. Nano Banana 2.1 is the default of four models. Plans are paid: Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month, or Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month.
Questions about Canva vs Pixlr
Does Pixlr keep a history of AI edits?
Yes. Pixlr says its Instruct Editor saves up to 10 versions, and you can continue editing from any of them or download earlier ones, as of October 20, 2026.
Is Pixlr cheaper than Canva?
As of October 2026, Pixlr Plus is $2.49 a month billed monthly and Premium is $9.99, from pixlr.com. Canva Pro is US$18 month-to-month, from search-indexed copies of canva.com/pricing. The AI allowances differ, so compare what you need.
Can I use Canva or Pixlr without paying?
Canva has a free plan with up to 20 AI uses a month. Pixlr can be used without an account, and new users get 20 credits plus a 250-credit trial.
Which image models does Pixlr use?
Pixlr's image generator lists Flux Schnell, Flux Dev, Flux Dev Ultra, Stable Diffusion XL and Nano Banana 2, and its Instruct Editor page is titled after Nano Banana.
Sources
Every competitor fact on this page comes from the vendor's own pages, checked on the date shown. Recheck them before you buy.
Checked October 20, 2026
Create an image. Edit it with words. Keep refining.
Edit with words, branch from any version
ImageQuarry keeps each change as a new version and lets you branch from any earlier one, so a new direction never replaces the old.
Start creatingAlready have an account? Sign in