Compare · Last checked October 20, 2026
ImageQuarry vs Photoleap: two AI editors, two ways of working
Photoleap, by Lightricks, is an iOS photo editing app with AI text to image, a Generative Fill style tool where you brush an area and describe what it becomes, plus layers, masking and RAW support. ImageQuarry is a conversational image workspace: describe an image or upload one, ask for a change in words, and keep every version in projects. Choose Photoleap for hands-on editing on iPhone and iPad. Choose ImageQuarry for building an image through a run of requests you can branch and compare.
We make ImageQuarry. We compared it with Photoleap using Photoleap's own public pages, checked October 20, 2026, and say where Photoleap does more.
Last updated October 20, 2026
At a glance
| ImageQuarry | Photoleap | |
|---|---|---|
| Where you work | In the ImageQuarry app | iPhone, iPad and Apple Vision; "Available for iOS only" |
| Text to image | Describe an image and get it | "Describe it in text" with over 70 styles; aspect ratio selectable |
| Editing with words | Select a version and ask for a change in words | Brush over an area and describe what it should become (Custom, Generative Fill) |
| Keeping work | Every version kept, with branching from any of them | "Photo sessions are auto-saved, simply continue later" |
ImageQuarry and Photoleap: the differences that matter
Hands-on control
Photoleap pairs AI tools with layers, blending modes, masking "built-in to nearly every tool", RAW support and 16 bit depth, so you can finish an image by hand.
Putting people into scenes
Photoleap lets you "select a photo of yourself or a friend before generation" to blend that person into a scene, and it lists an AI Headshot Generator. ImageQuarry is not a headshot service.
A record of every change
In ImageQuarry each request becomes a new version, earlier versions stay with their prompts and references, and you can branch from any of them. Photoleap auto-saves sessions; version branching is not stated.
Pricing you can see
Photoleap offers a "7 day free trial" on its site and lists in-app purchases from $6.99 to $59.99 on the US App Store without labeled billing periods. ImageQuarry lists its plans as Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month and Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month.
ImageQuarry vs Photoleap, side by side
Checked against Photoleap's public pages on October 20, 2026. "Not stated" means the pages we read do not say; it is not a claim that the feature is missing. "Not published" means ImageQuarry has not published that detail.
| Topic | ImageQuarry | Photoleap |
|---|---|---|
| Starting point | Describe the image in plain language, or upload an image and describe how you want it changed | Describe a scene in text, or open a photo to edit |
| Editing with words | Select a version and ask for a change in words: lighting, background, an added object, composition or color | Brush an area and describe what it becomes (Custom, Generative Fill) |
| Reference images | Add one or more source and reference images to guide material, color, light or shape | Pick a photo of a person to blend into a generated scene |
| Versions, variations and branching | Each change makes a new version and earlier versions are kept; make variations and branch from any version | Sessions auto-saved; branching not stated |
| Projects and library | Projects and a persistent library that keep prompts, references and versions together | Not stated |
| Image models | Nano Banana 2.1 (default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst | Not stated |
| Output resolution and formats | Not published | "High end 4K photo" from text to image; AI upscaler for "4K visuals" |
| Commercial use terms | Not published | A separate "Text to Image Terms" document |
| Price | Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month; Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month; optional metered overage, off unless you turn it on; every plan is paid | In-app purchases from $6.99 to $59.99 (billing periods not labeled); 7 day free trial (as of October 2026) |
As of 2026-10-20
Sources: Photoleap homepage; Photoleap ai text to image generator; Photoleap ai replace; Photoleap id1191337894; Photoleap animate photos; Photoleap ai headshots
Pricing
ImageQuarry plans come from its pricing. Photoleap prices are as of October 2026, from photoleapapp.com. Credits are not comparable across products, because each vendor defines its own credit. Check the vendor for current pricing.
| ImageQuarry plan | Price | Includes |
|---|---|---|
| Starter | $9 per month | 100 image credits a month; optional metered overage at $0.12 per extra credit, off unless you turn it on |
| Pro | $29 per month | 300 image credits a month; optional metered overage at $0.09 per extra credit, off unless you turn it on |
| Product | Plan | Price | Includes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Photoleap | In-app purchases | $6.99 to $59.99 per billing periods not labeled on the App Store | Unlimited access and subscription options |
Prices as of 2026-10
About each product
ImageQuarry
ImageQuarry is a conversational AI image workspace. You describe an image or upload one, then ask for specific changes in words, such as new lighting, a different background or an added object. Each change makes a new version and earlier versions are kept, so you can make variations, branch from any version, add reference images and organize the work in projects and a library. You can choose between four image models: Nano Banana 2.1 (the default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst. Plans: Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month, and Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month, with optional metered overage that is off unless you turn it on. Every plan is paid. ImageQuarry has not published output specifications or rights terms yet, and it is not a headshot or background removal tool.
Photoleap
Photoleap is Lightricks' photo editing app for iPhone, iPad and Apple Vision. It combines AI text to image with over 70 styles, character blending from your own photo, prompt-based region replacement, an image extender, background and object removal, an upscaler, style transfer, interior design and headshot tools, with layers, blending modes, masking and RAW support. Pricing is shown only as App Store in-app purchases. Lightricks also makes Facetune, Videoleap and LTX Studio, and Photoleap's homepage cites a 4.7 App Store rating.
Which one fits your work
Choose ImageQuarry when
- You want to build an image through a run of requests in words
- You want every version kept, with the option to branch
- You want projects and a library for your image work
Choose Photoleap when
- You edit on iPhone or iPad
- You want layers, masks and RAW editing by hand
- You want to blend a person from your photos into scenes
- You want a 7 day trial before paying
How to try both on the same image
- Write one scene description, for example a ceramic vase on a windowsill at dusk.
- Generate it in Photoleap and change one area with Generative Fill.
- Generate the same description in ImageQuarry and ask for the same change in words.
- Compare the two and note which history you can return to later.
Questions about ImageQuarry vs Photoleap
Is Photoleap on Android or the web?
Its website says "Available for iOS only", and the App Store lists iPhone, iPad and Apple Vision (photoleapapp.com, October 2026).
How much does Photoleap cost?
The US App Store lists in-app purchases from $6.99 to $59.99 without labeled billing periods, and the site offers a 7 day free trial.
Can Photoleap edit part of an image from a prompt?
Yes. Pick Custom, brush over an area and describe what it should become; an August update added Generative Fill to AI Transform.
What does ImageQuarry add for longer projects?
Every change becomes a new version, earlier versions stay with their prompts and references, you can branch from any version, and finished work settles into named collections in projects and a library.
Sources
Every competitor fact on this page comes from the vendor's own pages, checked on the date shown. Recheck them before you buy.
Checked October 20, 2026
Create an image. Edit it with words. Keep refining.
Make the next change by asking for it
Describe an image or upload one, and refine it with every version kept.
Start creatingAlready have an account? Sign in