---
title: "Kling AI vs Runway for Images: Edits, Plans and Apps"
url: https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/kling-ai-vs-runway/
last_updated: 2026-10-20
---

# Kling AI vs Runway: the image side of two video platforms

Kling AI and Runway are best known for video, and both now make and edit stills. Kling IMAGE 3.0 supports "local re-editing with natural-language instructions", up to 10 reference images and native 4K output on its Omni model. Runway prices Gen-4 Image and Nano Banana Pro per image and edits by describing what you want. Kling's paid plans start lower, at $6.99 for the first month and $8.80 after, but its free tier is not for commercial use; Runway starts at $15 a month, or $12 billed yearly. Choose on terms, apps and editing style.

_We make ImageQuarry, which is not one of these two products. We compared Kling AI and Runway using their own public pages, checked October 20, 2026._

## At a glance

| | Kling AI | Runway |
|---|---|---|
| Image model | Kling IMAGE 3.0 and IMAGE 3.0 Omni | Gen-4 Image, Gen-4 Image Turbo, Nano Banana Pro and others |
| Editing in words | Local re-editing with natural-language instructions | Describe the change (shown for video); Agent edits in plain language |
| References | Up to 10 reference images | Brand Kits with style references (Pro and up) |
| Entry paid plan | $6.99 first month, then $8.80 a month | $15 a month, or $12 billed yearly |
| Free tier | No monthly credits; output not for commercial use | 125 one-time credits |

## Kling AI and Runway: the differences that matter

- **Instruction editing is spelled out for Kling stills**: Kling's AI Photo Editor page says to "Enter a clear text prompt, explaining what should change and what should stay the same", and IMAGE 3.0 supports re-editing with natural-language instructions. Runway shows the same idea for video ("All just by telling the model what you're looking for") and offers image apps such as Reshoot Product.
- **Commercial use is stated per plan at Kling**: Kling's blog says content from its free Basic plan "is not for commercial use", while Standard and above are "for commercial use" with the brand watermark removed. The Runway pages read do not state commercial use terms.
- **Runway has clearer yearly billing**: Runway lists every plan monthly and yearly, with up to 20% off yearly. Kling shows first-month and renewal prices, and the official pages read state no annual prices.
- **Desktop apps versus editing plugins**: Kling lists web, iOS, Android, macOS and Windows, plus a separate API platform. Runway lists web, iPhone and Android apps, an API, an MCP server and plugins for Premiere Pro and After Effects.
- **Workflows and projects**: Runway chains models in node-based Workflows and caps projects by plan. Kling offers Canvas, a node-based space with an agent, named on its homepage.

## Kling AI vs Runway, side by side

| Topic | Kling AI | Runway |
|---|---|---|
| Text to image | Yes, IMAGE 3.0 and Omni | Yes, priced per image |
| Region or mask tool | None named; reframing is the closest | Not stated for images |
| Resolution | Native 2K and 4K on Omni | 4K upscaling from Standard |
| Image series | Single and multi-image series mode on Omni | Not stated |
| Credits | $1 = 66 credits; membership credits last 1 month | Standard and Pro monthly credits do not roll over |
| Platforms | Web, iOS, Android, macOS, Windows; API | Web, iPhone, Android, API, MCP, Premiere Pro and After Effects |

As of 2026-10-20.

## Pricing

Prices as of October 2026, from each vendor's own pages. Credits are not comparable across products, because each vendor defines its own credit. Check the vendor for current pricing.

- Kling AI Basic: $0 per month (No monthly credits; content not for commercial use)
- Kling AI Standard: $6.99 first month, then $8.8 per month (660 credits per month)
- Kling AI Pro: $25.99 first month, then $32.56 per month (3000 credits per month)
- Kling AI Premier: $64.99 first month, then $80.96 per month (8000 credits per month)
- Kling AI Ultra: $127.99 first month, then $159.99 per month (26000 credits per month)
- Runway Free: $0 (125 one-time credits)
- Runway Standard: $15 per month, billed monthly (625 credits a month)
- Runway Pro: $35 per month, billed monthly (2,250 credits a month)
- Runway Max: $95 per month, billed monthly (9,500 credits a month)
- Runway Standard, Pro, Max (yearly): $12, $28, $76 per month, billed yearly (Yearly 20% off)

Prices as of 2026-10.

## About each product

- **Kling AI**: Kling AI, now at kling.ai, sells video and image generation under the line "You call the shots". Kling IMAGE 3.0 handles text to image, reference images and style transfer, and supports re-editing parts of an image with natural-language instructions. Its AI Photo Editor replaces backgrounds, removes objects and swaps people from a typed request. Plans run from a free Basic tier to Ultra, with first-month discounts, and paid plans allow commercial use.
- **Runway**: Runway is a video-first creative platform whose Creative workspace also generates and edits images and audio. Image models such as Gen-4 Image and Nano Banana Pro are priced per image, and image apps restyle a picture or reshoot a product from an upload. It publishes monthly and yearly prices for Standard, Pro and Max, a free plan with 125 one-time credits, and apps for phones and editing software.

## Which one fits your work

**Choose Kling AI when:**
- You want to edit a still by typing what changes and what stays
- You want commercial terms spelled out for each plan
- You want desktop apps for macOS or Windows
- You want a lower first-month price

**Choose Runway when:**
- You want yearly billing with published prices
- You work in Premiere Pro or After Effects
- You want a free plan with credits that do not expire
- You want node-based workflows across models

## Where ImageQuarry fits

For still images, ImageQuarry is built around one loop: describe or upload, ask for a change, get a new version, keep the earlier ones. A request can name what to keep as well as what to change, and you review each new version. You can choose between four image models, with Nano Banana 2.1 as the default.

## Questions about Kling AI vs Runway

### Can Kling AI edit photos with text?

Yes. Kling's AI Photo Editor asks for a clear text prompt explaining what should change and what should stay, and IMAGE 3.0 supports local re-editing with natural-language instructions.

### Does Runway make still images?

Yes. Runway's pricing page lists Gen-4 Image, Gen-4 Image Turbo and Nano Banana Pro priced per image, and its image apps restyle a picture or reshoot a product.

### Can I use free-tier images commercially?

Kling says content from its free Basic plan is not for commercial use. The Runway pages read do not state commercial terms, so check its terms before using free output.

### Which is cheaper per month?

Kling Standard is $6.99 for the first month and $8.80 after. Runway Standard is $15 a month, or $12 billed yearly. Their credits are different units.

### Which has desktop apps?

Kling lists macOS and Windows alongside web, iOS and Android. Runway lists web, iPhone and Android, plus Premiere Pro and After Effects plugins.

## Sources

Checked 2026-10-20.

- [Kling AI homepage](https://kling.ai/)
- [Kling AI kling image 3 vs omni](https://kling.ai/blog/kling-image-3-vs-omni)
- [Kling AI ai photo editor](https://kling.ai/feature/ai-photo-editor)
- [Kling AI kling video 3 0 credit cost guide](https://kling.ai/blog/kling-video-3-0-credit-cost-guide)
- [Kling AI point policy](https://kling.ai/docs/point-policy)
- [Kling AI payment policy](https://kling.ai/docs/payment-policy)
- [Runway homepage](https://runway.com/)
- [Runway product](https://runway.com/product)
- [Runway pricing](https://runway.com/pricing)
- [Runway agent](https://runway.com/product/agent)

## Related comparisons

- [ImageQuarry vs Kling AI](https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/imagequarry-vs-kling-ai/)
- [ImageQuarry vs Runway](https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/imagequarry-vs-runway/)
- [Higgsfield vs Kling AI](https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/higgsfield-vs-kling-ai/)
- [Higgsfield vs Runway](https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/higgsfield-vs-runway/)
- [All comparisons](https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/)

## Focused on stills, not clips?

In ImageQuarry you create or upload an image, describe each change and keep every version you made. Choose a plan and start creating.

