---
title: "ImageQuarry vs Runway for Still Images and Edits"
url: https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/imagequarry-vs-runway/
last_updated: 2026-10-20
---

# ImageQuarry vs Runway: still images first, or video first

Runway is video first: its creative platform generates and edits video, images and audio, with image models such as Gen-4 Image and Nano Banana Pro, an Agent you direct in plain language, Workflows, Brand Kits, apps for every platform and an API. ImageQuarry is for still images: describe or upload, ask for changes in words, and keep every version with its references so you can branch. Choose Runway if video is the main deliverable and images are part of it. Choose ImageQuarry if the deliverable is the image itself.

_We make ImageQuarry. We compared it with Runway using Runway's own public pages, checked October 20, 2026, and say where Runway does more._

## At a glance

| | ImageQuarry | Runway |
|---|---|---|
| Main job | Still images created and edited in conversation | Video generation and editing, with images and audio in the same workspace |
| Editing in words | Ask for a change on a selected image version; earlier versions stay | Change lighting, restyle or remove elements "just by telling the model", shown for video |
| Image models | Nano Banana 2.1 (default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare, GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst | Gen-4 Image, Gen-4 Image Turbo, Nano Banana Pro and others, priced in credits per image |
| Projects | Projects and a persistent library | Up to 3, 5 or 10 projects by plan; node-based Workflows |
| Entry price | Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month | Free with 125 one-time credits; Standard $15 a month billed monthly |

## ImageQuarry and Runway: the differences that matter

- **Video is the core**: Runway's product page is about video generation, and it adds HDR, ProRes and image sequences on Max. ImageQuarry does not make video.
- **An Agent that makes assets**: Runway's Agent takes plain language direction and makes social posts and image ads, and you can ask it for changes. ImageQuarry keeps you in the loop on each image: you ask for a change, see the new version, and decide the next request.
- **Image editing apps**: Runway lists image apps such as Change Image Style and Reshoot Product, where you upload and describe the change. ImageQuarry handles those requests in one conversation and keeps every version, so you can branch from any earlier one.
- **Project limits**: Runway caps projects at 3 on Standard, 5 on Pro and 10 on Max. ImageQuarry organizes work in projects and a persistent library.
- **Free credits, apps and an API**: Runway gives 125 one-time free credits, and offers iPhone and Android apps, an API, an MCP and plugins for Premiere Pro and After Effects. ImageQuarry plans are paid only.

## ImageQuarry vs Runway, side by side

| Topic | ImageQuarry | Runway |
|---|---|---|
| Starting point | Describe the image in plain language, or upload an image and describe how you want it changed | Prompts, uploads, or the Runway Agent directed in plain language |
| Editing with words | Select a version and ask for a change in words: lighting, background, an added object, composition or color | Change lighting, restyle, add or remove elements by telling the model (shown for video); image apps such as Reshoot Product |
| Reference images | Add one or more source and reference images to guide material, color, light or shape | Brand Kits with logos, colors and style references |
| Versions, variations and branching | Each change makes a new version and earlier versions are kept; make variations and branch from any version | Not stated on the pages read |
| Projects and library | Projects and a persistent library that keep prompts, references and versions together | Projects (3, 5 or 10 by plan) and node-based Workflows |
| Image models | Nano Banana 2.1 (default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst | Gen-4 Image, Gen-4 Image Turbo, Nano Banana Pro, Nano Banana 2.1, Seedream 5.0, FLUX.3 |
| Output resolution and formats | Not published | Gen-4 Image 1080p, Nano Banana Pro 2K; 4K upscaling on paid plans |
| Commercial use terms | Not published | Not stated on the pages read |
| Price | Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month; Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month; optional metered overage, off unless you turn it on; every plan is paid | Free 125 one-time credits; Standard $15, Pro $35, Max $95 a month billed monthly |

As of 2026-10-20.

## Pricing

ImageQuarry plans come from its pricing. Runway prices are as of October 2026, from runwayml.com (now runway.com). Credits are not comparable across products, because each vendor defines its own credit. Check the vendor for current pricing.

- Starter: Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month
- Pro: Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month

- Runway Free: $0 (125 one-time credits)
- Runway Standard: $15 per month, billed monthly (625 credits a month)
- Runway Pro: $35 per month, billed monthly (2,250 credits a month)
- Runway Max: $95 per month, billed monthly (9,500 credits a month)
- Runway Standard, Pro, Max (yearly): $12, $28, $76 per month, billed yearly (Yearly 20% off)

Prices as of 2026-10.

## About each product

- **ImageQuarry**: ImageQuarry is a conversational AI image workspace. You describe an image or upload one, then ask for specific changes in words, such as new lighting, a different background or an added object. Each change makes a new version and earlier versions are kept, so you can make variations, branch from any version, add reference images and organize the work in projects and a library. You can choose between four image models: Nano Banana 2.1 (the default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst. Plans: Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month, and Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month, with optional metered overage that is off unless you turn it on. Every plan is paid. ImageQuarry has not published output specifications or rights terms yet, and it is not a headshot or background removal tool.
- **Runway**: Runway, now at runway.com, offers Runway Creative, a cloud platform for generating and editing video, images and audio in one workspace, and frames itself around video generation. It prices image models per image in credits, including Gen-4 Image and Nano Banana Pro, and adds an Agent, image apps such as Reshoot Product, Brand Kits and node-based Workflows. A free plan gives 125 one-time credits; Standard is $15 a month and Pro $35 a month on monthly billing, with 4K upscaling and no watermarks on paid plans. Runway has web, iPhone and Android apps, an API and editing plugins.

## Which one fits your work

**Choose ImageQuarry when:**
- Your deliverable is a still image, refined over several requests
- You want every version kept and branches to compare
- You want projects without a per-plan cap stated

**Choose Runway when:**
- Video is your main output
- You want an Agent to produce sets of assets from a brief
- You need apps, an API or Premiere Pro and After Effects plugins
- You want free credits to start

## How to try both on the same image

1. Choose an image you also might animate later, such as a product scene
2. In Runway, generate the image with Gen-4 Image or Nano Banana Pro and try Reshoot Product
3. In ImageQuarry, describe the scene, ask for lighting and background changes in words and keep the versions
4. Use the image you prefer, and take it to Runway if you need motion

## Questions about ImageQuarry vs Runway

### Is Runway good for still images?

Runway prices image models such as Gen-4 Image and Nano Banana Pro and offers image apps, but its product framing is video first.

### Can ImageQuarry make video?

No. ImageQuarry creates and edits still images.

### Does Runway have a free plan?

Yes. Runway lists a free plan with 125 one-time credits as of October 2026.

### Can I edit in plain language in Runway?

Runway says you can change lighting, restyle or remove elements by telling the model, shown for video, and its Agent takes plain language direction.

### What does ImageQuarry cost?

ImageQuarry has Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month, and Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month, with optional metered overage that is off unless you turn it on.

## Sources

Checked 2026-10-20.

- [Runway homepage](https://runway.com/)
- [Runway product](https://runway.com/product)
- [Runway pricing](https://runway.com/pricing)
- [Runway agent](https://runway.com/product/agent)

## Related comparisons

- [OpenArt vs Runway](https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/openart-vs-runway/)
- [Kling AI vs Runway](https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/kling-ai-vs-runway/)
- [Luma vs Runway](https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/luma-vs-runway/)
- [Higgsfield vs Runway](https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/higgsfield-vs-runway/)
- [All comparisons](https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/)

## Get the still image right first

Describe it or upload it, refine it in plain words, and keep every version until one is ready to download.

