---
title: "ImageQuarry vs Pika: Image Studio or Image Workspace"
url: https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/imagequarry-vs-pika/
last_updated: 2026-10-20
---

# ImageQuarry vs Pika: comparing the image side of a video platform

Pika is a creative platform built mostly around AI video, with an Image Studio that generates with models such as GPT Image 2.5 and Nano Banana 2.1, an Edit Image tool to "swap, remove, or restyle anything", and up to 16 references per image. ImageQuarry is only about images: you describe or upload, ask for changes in words, and every version is kept so you can branch and compare. Pika suits people who move between video, images and audio. ImageQuarry suits people whose work is a sequence of image edits on the same picture.

_We make ImageQuarry. We compared it with Pika using Pika's own public pages, checked October 20, 2026, and say where Pika does more._

## At a glance

| | ImageQuarry | Pika |
|---|---|---|
| Main job | Image creation and conversational editing | AI video first, with AI image and audio tools |
| References | One or more reference images to guide material, color, light or shape | Up to 16 references, @mentioned in the prompt |
| Image models | Four models; Nano Banana 2.1 is the default | GPT Image 2.5, Nano Banana 2.1, Seedream 5, Grok Imagine, Seedream 4 |
| Entry price | Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month | Free $0 with no monthly credits; Starter $10 a month, as of October 2026 |
| Mobile | Not listed | iPhone app focused on video |

## ImageQuarry and Pika: the differences that matter

- **Video tools around the image tools**: Pika lists Video Studio, Product Ad, Swap Anything, Motion Transfer and Extend Video ahead of its image tools, and its iPhone app covers video only. ImageQuarry does not make video.
- **Many references in one prompt**: Pika's Image Studio lets you "Attach up to 16 references" and @mention each one to say how it should be used. ImageQuarry also accepts one or more references; they guide the result, and you compare each version to see how closely it follows them.
- **A conversation on one picture**: Pika's homepage does not say whether Edit Image works by text instruction. In ImageQuarry, each request builds on the version you selected, for example "Move the color into ultramarine and coral.", and earlier versions stay available.
- **Commercial license by plan**: Pika's Free and Starter plans do not include a commercial license; Creator at $35 a month and above do, as of October 2026. ImageQuarry has not published rights terms yet.
- **Pricing shape**: Pika sells monthly plans with 20% off on annual billing, plus one-time credit top-ups from $25 for 1,500 credits. ImageQuarry has two monthly plans and optional metered overage that is off unless you turn it on.

## ImageQuarry vs Pika, side by side

| Topic | ImageQuarry | Pika |
|---|---|---|
| Starting point | Describe the image in plain language, or upload an image and describe how you want it changed | Image Studio: text to image with a model of your choice |
| Editing with words | Select a version and ask for a change in words: lighting, background, an added object, composition or color | Edit Image: "Swap, remove, or restyle anything in an image"; text instruction not stated |
| Reference images | Add one or more source and reference images to guide material, color, light or shape | Up to 16 references, @mentioned in the prompt |
| Versions, variations and branching | Each change makes a new version and earlier versions are kept; make variations and branch from any version | Not stated |
| Projects and library | Projects and a persistent library that keep prompts, references and versions together | Character Studio for a reusable character |
| Image models | Nano Banana 2.1 (default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst | GPT Image 2.5, Nano Banana 2.1, Seedream 5, Grok Imagine, Seedream 4 |
| Output resolution and formats | Not published | Not stated |
| Commercial use terms | Not published | Commercial license from Creator up; not on Free or Starter |
| Price | Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month; Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month; optional metered overage, off unless you turn it on; every plan is paid | Free $0; Starter $10; Creator $35; Fancy from $95 a month (October 2026) |

As of 2026-10-20.

## Pricing

ImageQuarry plans come from its pricing. Pika prices are as of October 2026, from pika.art. Credits are not comparable across products, because each vendor defines its own credit. Check the vendor for current pricing.

- Starter: Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month
- Pro: Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month

- Pika Free: $0 per month (0 monthly credits; top-up packs only; no commercial license)
- Pika Starter: $10 per month (900 credits; no commercial license)
- Pika Creator: $35 per month (3,150 credits; commercial license)
- Pika Fancy: from $95 per month (8,550 credits and up; commercial license; priority queue)
- Pika Starter, Creator, Fancy (annual billing): $8, $28, from $76 per month, billed annually ("Save 20%")

Prices as of 2026-10.

## About each product

- **ImageQuarry**: ImageQuarry is a conversational AI image workspace. You describe an image or upload one, then ask for specific changes in words, such as new lighting, a different background or an added object. Each change makes a new version and earlier versions are kept, so you can make variations, branch from any version, add reference images and organize the work in projects and a library. You can choose between four image models: Nano Banana 2.1 (the default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst. Plans: Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month, and Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month, with optional metered overage that is off unless you turn it on. Every plan is paid. ImageQuarry has not published output specifications or rights terms yet, and it is not a headshot or background removal tool.
- **Pika**: Pika (pika.art) calls itself "the AI creative platform you've been waiting for" and groups its tools into AI Video, AI Image and AI Audio, with video listed first. On the image side, Image Studio generates with models such as GPT Image 2.5 and Nano Banana 2.1, Edit Image swaps, removes or restyles parts of an image, and Character Studio keeps a character consistent. Plans, as of October 2026: Free with no monthly credits, Starter $10, Creator $35 and Fancy from $95 a month, 20% less on annual billing, with credit top-ups and a commercial license from Creator up. It also has an iPhone video app, an MCP server and an API membership.

## Which one fits your work

**Choose ImageQuarry when:**
- You refine a single image through many written changes
- You want each version kept and the ability to branch
- You organize images in projects and a library

**Choose Pika when:**
- You make short videos and want images from the same credits
- You want to attach many references and @mention them
- You want a $0 tier with top-up packs
- You want an iPhone app, MCP or API access

## How to try both on the same image

1. Choose one product image you need.
2. Generate it in Pika's Image Studio and in ImageQuarry with Nano Banana 2.1, the default in ImageQuarry.
3. Ask ImageQuarry for two rounds of changes and keep both versions.
4. Use Pika if you then want the image turned into a product video.

## Questions about ImageQuarry vs Pika

### Is Pika for images or video?

Both, but video comes first: Pika's pricing page lists AI Video tools ahead of AI Image and AI Audio, and its iPhone app covers video features.

### How many references does Pika accept?

Image Studio accepts up to 16 references, which you @mention in the prompt.

### Does Pika include a commercial license?

As of October 2026, Creator ($35 a month) and Fancy include a commercial license; Free and Starter do not.

### What does an ImageQuarry plan cost?

Every ImageQuarry plan is paid: Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month or Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month.

### Can I keep editing the same image in ImageQuarry?

Yes. Each request builds on the version you selected instead of starting over, and earlier versions are kept.

## Sources

Checked 2026-10-20.

- [Pika homepage](https://pika.art/)
- [Pika pricing](https://pika.art/pricing)
- [Pika create image](https://create.pika.art/apps/create-image)
- [Pika id6680155400](https://apps.apple.com/us/app/pika-ai-video/id6680155400)

## Related comparisons

- [ImageQuarry vs Runway](https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/imagequarry-vs-runway/)
- [ImageQuarry vs Kling AI](https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/imagequarry-vs-kling-ai/)
- [ImageQuarry vs Luma](https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/imagequarry-vs-luma/)
- [All comparisons](https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/)

## One image, many rounds of changes

Ask for each change in words and keep every version along the way.

