---
title: "ImageQuarry vs Adobe Firefly: Prompt to Edit Compared"
url: https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/imagequarry-vs-adobe-firefly/
last_updated: 2026-10-20
---

# ImageQuarry vs Adobe Firefly: two ways to edit an image in words

Adobe Firefly is Adobe's creative space for images, video, audio and vectors, with its own Firefly Image 5 model, partner models, Prompt to Edit, Generative Fill and Expand, Firefly Boards, mobile apps and plans that bundle Photoshop and Express. Adobe says Firefly model outputs are safe for commercial use. ImageQuarry is a focused image workspace: describe or upload, ask for changes in words, and every version is kept so you can branch. Choose Firefly inside the Adobe ecosystem; choose ImageQuarry for an image conversation that keeps its history.

_We make ImageQuarry. We compared it with Adobe Firefly using Adobe Firefly's own public pages, checked October 20, 2026, and say where Adobe Firefly does more._

## At a glance

| | ImageQuarry | Adobe Firefly |
|---|---|---|
| Editing in words | Select a version and ask for a change; earlier versions stay | Prompt to Edit: add, remove or replace objects and backgrounds by typing |
| Models | Nano Banana 2.1 (default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare, GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst | Firefly Image 5 plus partner models such as GPT Image 1.5, Gemini with Nano Banana 2 and FLUX.2 |
| Workspace | Projects and a library with every version | Firefly Boards for mood boards and storyboards |
| Commercial use | Not published | Adobe says Firefly model outputs are safe for commercial use; partner model outputs are your responsibility |
| Entry price | Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month | Free daily generations; Firefly Standard US$9.99 a month |

## ImageQuarry and Adobe Firefly: the differences that matter

- **Commercial use stated by Adobe**: Adobe states that outputs from Adobe Firefly models are safe for commercial use, offers IP indemnification to eligible enterprise customers, and attaches Content Credentials. ImageQuarry has not published rights terms yet.
- **The Adobe toolset**: Firefly adds Generative Fill, Recolor, Expand and Upscale, background removal and Firefly Boards, and some plans bundle Photoshop and Adobe Express. ImageQuarry is a single workspace for creating and editing images in conversation.
- **A prompt field or a version chain**: Firefly's Prompt to Edit asks you to type a clear description of the change in the prompt field. ImageQuarry builds each request on the version you selected and keeps the earlier ones, so you can branch from any point in the chain.
- **Mobile and web**: Firefly runs on the web on desktop and mobile, with iOS and Android apps. ImageQuarry is used in the ImageQuarry app, where you create an account and choose a plan.
- **Price structure**: Firefly individual plans run from Standard at US$9.99 a month to Premium at US$199.99 a month, with a free tier of daily generations, as of October 2026. ImageQuarry has Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month, and Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month.

## ImageQuarry vs Adobe Firefly, side by side

| Topic | ImageQuarry | Adobe Firefly |
|---|---|---|
| Starting point | Describe the image in plain language, or upload an image and describe how you want it changed | Text prompts, or upload your own JPEG, PNG or WebP up to 100MB in the Edit tab |
| Editing with words | Select a version and ask for a change in words: lighting, background, an added object, composition or color | Prompt to Edit, Generative Fill, Generative Recolor, Generative Expand |
| Reference images | Add one or more source and reference images to guide material, color, light or shape | Not stated on the pages read |
| Versions, variations and branching | Each change makes a new version and earlier versions are kept; make variations and branch from any version | Not stated on the pages read |
| Projects and library | Projects and a persistent library that keep prompts, references and versions together | Firefly Boards for mood boards and storyboards |
| Image models | Nano Banana 2.1 (default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst | Firefly Image 5 plus partner models from Google, OpenAI, Black Forest Labs and others |
| Output resolution and formats | Not published | Generative Upscale; 1K, 2K and 4K labels in plan offers shown until October 21, 2026 |
| Commercial use terms | Not published | Firefly model outputs "safe for commercial use"; partner model outputs your responsibility |
| Price | Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month; Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month; optional metered overage, off unless you turn it on; every plan is paid | Free daily generations; Standard US$9.99, Pro US$19.99, Pro Plus US$49.99 a month |

As of 2026-10-20.

## Pricing

ImageQuarry plans come from its pricing. Adobe Firefly prices are as of October 2026, from firefly.adobe.com. Credits are not comparable across products, because each vendor defines its own credit. Check the vendor for current pricing.

- Starter: Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month
- Pro: Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month

- Adobe Firefly Free: $0 (Free daily generations with selected models)
- Adobe Firefly Firefly Standard: US$9.99 per month (2,000 generative credits a month)
- Adobe Firefly Firefly Pro: US$19.99 per month (4,000 generative credits a month)
- Adobe Firefly Firefly Pro Plus: US$49.99 per month (regular price) (10,000 generative credits a month)
- Adobe Firefly Firefly Premium: US$199.99 per month (regular price) (50,000 generative credits a month)

Prices as of 2026-10.

## About each product

- **ImageQuarry**: ImageQuarry is a conversational AI image workspace. You describe an image or upload one, then ask for specific changes in words, such as new lighting, a different background or an added object. Each change makes a new version and earlier versions are kept, so you can make variations, branch from any version, add reference images and organize the work in projects and a library. You can choose between four image models: Nano Banana 2.1 (the default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare and GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst. Plans: Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month, and Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month, with optional metered overage that is off unless you turn it on. Every plan is paid. ImageQuarry has not published output specifications or rights terms yet, and it is not a headshot or background removal tool.
- **Adobe Firefly**: Adobe describes Firefly as an AI-powered creative space for creating and editing images, videos, audio and vector graphics, with more than 30 models in one place. It includes Adobe's Firefly Image 5 and partner models, Prompt to Edit, Generative Fill, Recolor, Expand and Upscale, background removal and Firefly Boards. Adobe says Firefly model outputs are safe for commercial use. A free tier offers daily generations, and individual plans run from Firefly Standard at US$9.99 a month, with team plans billed annually. Firefly runs on the web and in iOS and Android apps.

## Which one fits your work

**Choose ImageQuarry when:**
- You want each requested change kept as a version you can branch from
- You want one workspace for still images without an Adobe subscription
- You want to pick among four named models per request

**Choose Adobe Firefly when:**
- You already work in Photoshop or Adobe Express
- You need Adobe's commercial use statement or enterprise indemnification
- You want Generative Fill and Expand, Firefly Boards or mobile apps
- You want a free daily allowance before paying

## How to try both on the same image

1. Pick a photo that needs a new background and warmer light
2. In Firefly, upload it and use Prompt to Edit to replace the background
3. In ImageQuarry, upload the same photo, ask for the background, then ask for warmer light as a second step and compare versions
4. Decide which fits your review process and tools

## Questions about ImageQuarry vs Adobe Firefly

### Does Adobe Firefly edit images with text?

Yes. Adobe's Prompt to Edit lets you add, remove or replace objects and backgrounds by typing what you want to change.

### Is Adobe Firefly safe for commercial use?

Adobe says outputs from Adobe Firefly models are safe for commercial use, and that you are responsible for checking content made with partner models.

### Does ImageQuarry work with Photoshop?

You can compare versions in ImageQuarry, download the one you choose and continue in any editor you like.

### Which is cheaper, Firefly or ImageQuarry?

Firefly Standard is US$9.99 a month as of October 2026. ImageQuarry Starter is $9 a month. Credits are defined differently, so compare by your monthly volume.

### Can I choose the model in ImageQuarry?

Yes. You can choose Nano Banana 2.1 (the default), Nano Banana Pro, GPT Image 2.5 Flare or GPT Image 2.5 Sunburst.

## Sources

Checked 2026-10-20.

- [Adobe Firefly firefly](https://www.adobe.com/products/firefly.html)
- [Adobe Firefly ai photo editor](https://www.adobe.com/products/firefly/features/ai-photo-editor.html)
- [Adobe Firefly plans](https://www.adobe.com/products/firefly/plans.html)

## Related comparisons

- [Adobe Firefly vs Midjourney](https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/adobe-firefly-vs-midjourney/)
- [Adobe Firefly vs ChatGPT](https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/adobe-firefly-vs-chatgpt/)
- [Adobe Firefly vs Canva](https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/adobe-firefly-vs-canva/)
- [Adobe Firefly vs Adobe Photoshop](https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/adobe-firefly-vs-adobe-photoshop/)
- [All comparisons](https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/)

## Edit in words, keep the history

Ask for each change in plain language and keep every version, ready to compare and download.

