---
title: "Canva vs Photoroom: Design Suite or Product Photos"
url: https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/canva-vs-photoroom/
last_updated: 2026-10-20
---

# Canva vs Photoroom: a design suite against a product photo tool

Canva is a design suite with AI tools inside it: Magic Edit, where you brush an area and describe the change, a chat-based Canva AI, and image generation. Photoroom is built for e-commerce product visuals, with background removal, AI backgrounds, relighting and an Edit with AI tool for written changes. Pick Canva when the image is one part of a larger design, such as a post, flyer or presentation. Pick Photoroom when the job is a catalog of product photos, with seats, batch editing and a Shopify app. Canva's details here come from search-indexed copies of its own pages, because canva.com blocked our direct reads.

_We make ImageQuarry, which is not one of these two products. We compared Canva and Photoroom using their own public pages, checked October 20, 2026._

## At a glance

| | Canva | Photoroom |
|---|---|---|
| Main job | Design suite with AI image tools | Product visuals for e-commerce |
| Editing with words | Magic Edit: brush an area, then describe what to add or replace | Edit with AI: "Describe a change and let AI edit your product photos" |
| Free option | Free plan with up to 20 Standard or Premium AI uses a month | Paid plans with a "Start free trial" button |
| Entry paid plan, as of October 2026 | Pro US$18 month-to-month, or US$144 a year | Pro US$12.99 billed monthly, or US$89.99 billed yearly |
| Platforms | Web, iOS and Android | Web, iOS, Android, Shopify app, REST API |

## Canva and Photoroom: the differences that matter

- **Design layout or product photo**: Canva puts its AI image tools inside a full design editor, so a generated or edited image can go straight into a layout. Photoroom focuses on the product photo itself: cutouts, shadows, AI backgrounds and relighting in AI Backgrounds Studio.
- **How you point at a change**: Canva's help centre, as indexed by search, says Magic Edit works by brushing over the part of the photo to edit and describing what to add or replace. Photoroom's Edit with AI takes a written instruction for the product photo, such as "change the t-shirt color to white".
- **A free starting point**: Canva has a free plan with up to 20 uses of Standard or Premium AI tools a month, per its search-indexed pricing page. Photoroom sells paid plans and offers a free trial.
- **Store and catalog work**: Photoroom lists batch editing, up to 50 seats, a Shopify app and a REST API, with API credits included in paid plans. The Canva pages we could read focus on design tools and AI use limits rather than catalog processing.
- **Price pages that disagree with themselves**: Two indexed copies of canva.com/pricing differ: one shows Pro at US$144 a year, an older one US$120. Photoroom's own pricing page shows Max at US$250.00 a year in its structured data but US$20.99 a month on the card.

## Canva vs Photoroom, side by side

| Topic | Canva | Photoroom |
|---|---|---|
| Text to image | Yes, a standalone generator page; models not named in indexed text | Yes, "Create any image"; models not named |
| Region editing | Magic Edit by brush and description | Edit with AI by instruction; AI Fill and AI Expand |
| Other AI tools | Magic Eraser, AI Image Expander, Image Upscaler, Generative Fill, Magic Grab | Background Remover, Retouch, AI Shadows, Image Enhancer, AI Fashion Models |
| Chat assistant | Canva AI 2.0, a chat workspace in the editor | Not stated |
| Seats and teams | Business plan priced per person | Up to 50 seats, Team Workspaces |
| API | Not stated | REST API and MCP server |
| Prices, as of October 2026 | Free; Pro US$18 a month or US$144 a year; Business US$25 a month or US$250 a year | Pro US$12.99, Max US$34.99, Ultra US$99.00 billed monthly |

As of 2026-10-20.

## Pricing

Prices as of October 2026, from each vendor's own pages. Credits are not comparable across products, because each vendor defines its own credit. Check the vendor for current pricing.

- Canva Free: US$0 (Up to 20 uses of Standard or Premium AI tools a month (search indexed text))
- Canva Pro: US$12 per person per month, billed yearly (US$144 a year) (US$18 month to month; up to 200 Premium AI uses a month (search indexed text))
- Canva Business: US$20.83 per person per month, billed yearly (US$250 a year) (US$25 month to month; up to 400 Premium AI uses a month (search indexed text))
- Canva AI Pass add-on: US$100 per person per month (Add-on AI usage (search indexed text))
- Photoroom Pro: $12.99 per month, billed monthly (8,000 AI credits and 1,000 exports a month)
- Photoroom Pro: $89.99 per year, billed yearly (8,000 AI credits and 1,000 exports a month)
- Photoroom Max: $34.99 per month, billed monthly (25,000 AI credits, 3,000 exports, Video Generator, Shopify integration)
- Photoroom Max: $250.00 per year, billed yearly (25,000 AI credits, 3,000 exports, Video Generator, Shopify integration)
- Photoroom Ultra: $99.00 per month, billed monthly (75,000 AI credits, 10,000 exports, 4K video and image resolution)
- Photoroom Ultra: $990.00 per year, billed yearly (75,000 AI credits, 10,000 exports, 4K video and image resolution)
- Photoroom Enterprise: Custom pricing (Quote on request)

Prices as of 2026-10.

## About each product

- **Canva**: Canva is a design suite. According to search-indexed copies of its help and feature pages (canva.com blocked direct reads on October 20, 2026), it offers Canva AI 2.0, a chat workspace inside the editor, Magic Edit for changing a brushed area by description, a standalone AI image generator, and tools such as Magic Eraser, Image Upscaler and Magic Grab. Its feature page says Magic Edit is powered by Google's Nano Banana model. Plans start with a free plan, then Pro at US$18 month-to-month or US$144 a year, and Business at US$25 month-to-month.
- **Photoroom**: Photoroom is a product photography tool for online sellers. Its Edit with AI tool takes written instructions such as "add a white studio background", and AI Backgrounds Studio places products in new scenes, with Image Guidance and Relight options. Core tools like Background Remover and AI Shadows do not use credits on paid plans. As of October 2026, plans run from Pro at US$12.99 a month to Ultra at US$99.00, with Enterprise on custom pricing, and it is available on the web, iOS, Android and Shopify.

## Which one fits your work

**Choose Canva when:**
- The image goes into a social post, flyer or presentation you are designing
- You want a free plan to try AI tools first
- You want to brush the exact area before describing the change
- Your brand designs already live in Canva

**Choose Photoroom when:**
- You photograph products for an online store
- You need cutouts, shadows and backgrounds across many photos
- You want a Shopify app or an API tied to your plan
- Several people on a shop team share the work

## Where ImageQuarry fits

For someone who wants to keep reworking one image through a conversation, ImageQuarry is built for that. You start from a description or an upload, ask for changes such as a new background or warmer light, and every change becomes a new version you can return to or branch from. Projects and a library keep the prompts and versions together.

## Questions about Canva vs Photoroom

### Is Canva or Photoroom better for product photos?

They are built for different jobs. Photoroom is built around product visuals for e-commerce, with background removal, AI backgrounds and batch editing. Canva is a general design suite whose AI tools also work on photos inside a layout.

### Can you edit a photo by typing in Canva?

Yes. Canva's help centre, as indexed by search, describes Magic Edit: brush over the area, describe what to add or replace, and click Generate. Canva AI 2.0 also lets you type a change to a design on paid plans.

### Does Photoroom have a free plan?

Photoroom's pricing page shows paid plans with a "Start free trial" button, as of October 20, 2026. Canva has a free plan with up to 20 AI uses a month, according to its indexed pricing page.

### Which costs less per month?

As of October 2026, Photoroom Pro is US$12.99 billed monthly and Canva Pro is US$18 month-to-month. Canva's figure comes from search-indexed text of canva.com, so check the live page.

## Sources

Checked 2026-10-20.

- [Canva canva design assistant](https://www.canva.com/en_in/help/canva-design-assistant/)
- [Canva using magic edit](https://www.canva.com/en_gb/help/using-magic-edit/)
- [Canva ai photo editing](https://www.canva.com/features/ai-photo-editing/)
- [Canva generate images ai](https://www.canva.com/help/generate-images-ai/)
- [Canva pricing](https://www.canva.com/pricing/)
- [Canva ai pass](https://www.canva.com/en_gb/help/ai-pass/)
- [Canva version history](https://www.canva.com/en_gb/help/version-history/)
- [Canva download file types cn](https://www.canva.cn/en/help/download-file-types-cn/)
- [Photoroom homepage](https://www.photoroom.com/)
- [Photoroom ai images](https://www.photoroom.com/tools/ai-images)
- [Photoroom edit with ai](https://www.photoroom.com/tools/edit-with-ai)
- [Photoroom pricing](https://www.photoroom.com/pricing)

## Related comparisons

- [ImageQuarry vs Canva](https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/imagequarry-vs-canva/)
- [ImageQuarry vs Photoroom](https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/imagequarry-vs-photoroom/)
- [Photoroom vs Pixelcut](https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/photoroom-vs-pixelcut/)
- [Canva vs Picsart](https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/canva-vs-picsart/)
- [All comparisons](https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/)

## Ask for the change, keep every version

ImageQuarry lets you describe a change to an image in words and keeps earlier versions, so you can branch and compare before you download.

