---
title: "Canva vs Microsoft Designer for AI Images and Designs"
url: https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/canva-vs-microsoft-designer/
last_updated: 2026-10-20
---

# Canva vs Microsoft Designer: design suites with AI images built in

Canva and Microsoft Designer are both design tools first, with AI image generation and editing inside a template editor. Canva sells Pro at US$12 a month billed yearly or US$18 month to month, and adds Canva AI 2.0, a chat panel where you describe a change to a design, plus Magic Edit for one brushed area. Microsoft Designer says it is free to use with a Microsoft account, with a subscription for heavier use, and it is licensed for personal, non commercial use. Pick Canva for paid team and brand work; pick Designer for personal cards, invitations and social posts.

_We make ImageQuarry, which is not one of these two products. We compared Canva and Microsoft Designer using their own public pages, checked October 20, 2026._

## At a glance

| | Canva | Microsoft Designer |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free plan with up to 20 AI uses a month; Pro US$12 a month billed yearly or US$18 month to month | Free to use; a subscription may be required to create more often |
| Editing by describing a change | Canva AI 2.0 chat on Pro, Business and Enterprise; Magic Edit for a brushed area | Erase, blur or remove backgrounds and upscale; the FAQ does not describe editing by description |
| Commercial use | Not stated in the indexed pages read | Licensed for personal, non commercial use |
| Upscaling | An Image Upscaler is listed among the AI tools | A starting image can be upscaled up to 4K |
| Where it runs | Web, plus Android and iOS apps | Web, Designer mobile apps, and inside Word and PowerPoint via Copilot |

## Canva and Microsoft Designer: the differences that matter

- **Business use points to Canva**: Microsoft Designer's FAQ says it is licensed for personal, non commercial use with your Microsoft account. Canva sells Pro and Business seats, with Business at US$20.83 a month per person billed yearly or US$25 month to month, which suits teams producing paid work.
- **Describing changes in a chat**: Canva's help, read as search indexed text, describes refining a design by typing a prompt in the Canva AI tab on Pro, Business and Enterprise, and Magic Edit replaces what you brush over. Microsoft Designer documents click or mask based erase, background blur or removal, framing and upscaling, and its FAQ does not describe changing an image by describing the change.
- **Designer is the low cost route for personal projects**: Microsoft Designer says it is free to use, turns descriptions into greeting cards, invitations, images, stickers and collages, and saves designs to the cloud automatically. Canva's free plan caps Standard and Premium AI tools at up to 20 uses a month, and more AI uses come with paid plans.
- **Office integration and content credentials**: Microsoft Designer also works inside Word and PowerPoint through Copilot, where text to image needs a Copilot Pro subscription, and it attaches C2PA content credentials to images made or edited with AI. Canva's indexed pages describe its own editor and apps, and do not mention content credentials.
- **Two price lists for Canva**: Canva's indexed pricing shows Pro at US$144 a year, while another indexed copy shows US$120 a year, probably an older version. Microsoft Designer publishes no plan prices on the pages read, only that a subscription may be required for frequent use.

## Canva vs Microsoft Designer, side by side

| Topic | Canva | Microsoft Designer |
|---|---|---|
| Main job | Design suite with templates and AI tools | Graphic design tool for cards, invitations, images and social posts |
| Text to image | Yes, in the editor and a standalone generator | Yes, describe what you want to create |
| Edit one area | Magic Edit: brush, then describe what to add or replace | Erase by clicking an object or drawing a mask |
| Other AI tools | Magic Eraser, Image Expander, Upscaler, Generative Fill, Magic Grab | Background blur or removal, framing, upscaling |
| Uploads | Uploads used in designs and edits | Collages take up to 10 uploaded images |
| Commercial use | Not stated in the indexed pages read | Personal, non commercial use |
| Add ons | AI Pass at USD 100 per person a month; AI top ups for Business | Copilot Pro for text to image in Word and PowerPoint |

As of 2026-10-20.

## Pricing

Prices as of October 2026, from each vendor's own pages. Credits are not comparable across products, because each vendor defines its own credit. Check the vendor for current pricing.

- Canva Free: US$0 (Up to 20 uses of Standard or Premium AI tools a month (search indexed text))
- Canva Pro: US$12 per person per month, billed yearly (US$144 a year) (US$18 month to month; up to 200 Premium AI uses a month (search indexed text))
- Canva Business: US$20.83 per person per month, billed yearly (US$250 a year) (US$25 month to month; up to 400 Premium AI uses a month (search indexed text))
- Canva AI Pass add-on: US$100 per person per month (Add-on AI usage (search indexed text))
- Microsoft Designer Designer: $0 (Free to use; a subscription may be required to create more frequently; personal, non-commercial license)

Prices as of 2026-10.

## About each product

- **Canva**: Canva is a design platform with templates and a growing set of AI tools, all read here as search indexed text of canva.com because direct fetches were blocked. Canva AI 2.0 is a chat based workspace in the editor, Magic Edit changes a brushed area from a description, and a standalone generator makes images without opening the editor. Plans run from a free plan with up to 20 AI uses a month to Pro at US$12 a month billed yearly and Business at US$20.83 a month per person billed yearly, with an AI Pass add on. It runs on the web and in Android and iOS apps.
- **Microsoft Designer**: Microsoft Designer is a graphic design tool at designer.microsoft.com that turns descriptions into cards, invitations, images, stickers and collages. Its editing covers erasing distractions, blurring or removing backgrounds, framing and upscaling a starting image up to 4K, and designs save to the cloud automatically. Microsoft says it is free to use, with a subscription for frequent creators, and licenses it for personal, non commercial use. It runs on the web, in Designer mobile apps, and inside Word and PowerPoint through Copilot.

## Which one fits your work

**Choose Canva when:**
- You make designs for a business and need paid team seats
- You want to describe changes to a design in a chat panel
- You want many AI tools such as an expander, upscaler and Magic Grab in one editor
- You work across a large template library

**Choose Microsoft Designer when:**
- You make personal cards, invitations and social posts
- You want to start without a subscription
- You already work in Word and PowerPoint with Copilot
- You want content credentials attached to AI images

## Where ImageQuarry fits

ImageQuarry is an image workspace rather than a design suite. You describe an image or upload a photo, ask for specific changes in words such as new lighting or a different background, and each change becomes a new version, with earlier ones kept so you can branch from any of them. References guide the result, and finished work stays in projects and a library. Plans are paid monthly: Starter at $9 per month with 100 image credits a month, or Pro at $29 per month with 300 image credits a month.

## Questions about Canva vs Microsoft Designer

### Can I use Microsoft Designer images commercially?

Microsoft Designer's FAQ says it is licensed for personal, non commercial use with your Microsoft account, so check Microsoft's terms before using designs for a business.

### Does Canva let me edit an image by describing the change?

Yes, according to its indexed help pages: Canva AI 2.0 refines a design from a typed prompt on Pro, Business and Enterprise, and Magic Edit replaces a brushed area from a description.

### Which one costs less to start?

Microsoft Designer says it is free to use, with a subscription for frequent creation. Canva has a free plan capped at up to 20 AI uses a month, and Pro costs US$12 a month billed yearly or US$18 month to month.

### Can either upscale images?

Microsoft Designer says a starting image can be upscaled up to 4K, and Canva lists an Image Upscaler among its AI tools.

### Do they work inside Office?

Microsoft Designer does, inside Word and PowerPoint through Copilot, where text to image needs Copilot Pro. Canva's indexed pages describe its own editor and mobile apps.

## Sources

Checked 2026-10-20.

- [Canva canva design assistant](https://www.canva.com/en_in/help/canva-design-assistant/)
- [Canva using magic edit](https://www.canva.com/en_gb/help/using-magic-edit/)
- [Canva ai photo editing](https://www.canva.com/features/ai-photo-editing/)
- [Canva generate images ai](https://www.canva.com/help/generate-images-ai/)
- [Canva pricing](https://www.canva.com/pricing/)
- [Canva ai pass](https://www.canva.com/en_gb/help/ai-pass/)
- [Canva version history](https://www.canva.com/en_gb/help/version-history/)
- [Canva download file types cn](https://www.canva.cn/en/help/download-file-types-cn/)
- [Microsoft Designer frequently asked questions about microso](https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/designer/frequently-asked-questions-about-microsoft-designer)
- [Microsoft Designer generate images for your documents with ](https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/word/copilot/generate-images-for-your-documents-with-copilot-in-word)

## Related comparisons

- [ImageQuarry vs Canva](https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/imagequarry-vs-canva/)
- [ImageQuarry vs Microsoft Designer](https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/imagequarry-vs-microsoft-designer/)
- [Canva vs Picsart](https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/canva-vs-picsart/)
- [Adobe Firefly vs Canva](https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/adobe-firefly-vs-canva/)
- [All comparisons](https://www.imagequarry.com/compare/)

## Need one image refined, not a whole layout?

ImageQuarry keeps a conversation around each image: describe it or upload one, ask for changes in words and keep every version. Choose a plan and start creating.

